The accused in this case aren't Irish and are from a European country, the same accused are as likely to have done or tried the same thing in their home country, given the information that is currently known about the case.
I did security for 10 years in Dublin and still have friends who work in the industry, as well as relations who are serving Garda. The day to day stuff in terms of crime hasn't changed in years from what they tell me. Dealing with addicts even at the level of shop security was relatevly safe and still is given the city centre is more like a small town and the addicts know that where they and their families actually live is common knowledge.
Compared to other European countries where I've lived or worked short term Dublin is as safe or safer than some cities I've been in, and safer than any U.S. city.
I haven't seen any signs at pub doors in Dublin or any other Irish city warning tourists not to take a taxi waiting outside the pub but to go to the ranks or have the bar call one for them like you will in one specific Irish pub in Prague, because the taxi drivers are known to massively overcharge at best or worse take unwitting foreign passengers to the outskirts of the city to actually physically rob them.
Or the equivalent of a warning given by the barman in a pub in Lille to a group of English lads about certain local French girls who always had the bad luck of picking up foreign lads and them both running into their skin head ex boyfriend and his mates after closing time and the lad having the **** kicked out of them and relieved of their valuables.
Amsterdam or at least the areas I visit to see my cousin and her Dutch partner aren't bad apart from having some of the locals trying to pick my pocket five times a night and being approached by street dealers every couple of meters travelling between my hotel and their apartment.
Frankfurt has a bigger drug problem than Dublin and the associated crime issues or at least it did in the early 2000s when I lived there. Could be different now but I doubt it.
How do you dare going personal and offensive just because you want to defend the undefendable? In my OP some weeks ago I raised an awareness warning that "Women certainly risk walking alone" in the city centre and I was even bullied by locals. I live in Jervis and I have a vulnerable wife and children, and it is extremely frustrating thinking that they can't even freely go for a walk on their own. Apparently I was wrong... also men risk as it appears.
You almost seem pleased you found something to show your disdain for Dublin , almost gloating at residents or people from Dublin .
That's a truly awful event and you use it as some form of measure to show how bad Dublin is.
80 mins is dreadful sorry. Airport is about 22-25 mins for me. 9 mins if I take port tunnel. Dublin has the greatest choice of whatever you may be into. For example I love music and running. Dublin has the best venues and the best gigs. That's just a plain fact. I walk home from the Point, Croke Park, Bord Gais etc and feel terrible for folk who have to get into their car and drive to Kerry at midnight. It also has the best, biggest choice of running races. And that's just me. Whatever you like doing. Dublin has it for you. Kilkenny is very small. Nightlife and restaurant options wouldn't be anywhere near the level of Dublin. Shopping the same. Yeah you get more space for your money house wise. But there's a reason that show is called 'location location location'. Most people hating on Dublin possibly either aren't from here or can't afford to live here. There are loads of areas to improve on. But give me any county in ireland and I'm sure we can do a top 10 crap things about it list. Once you're happy where you are that's what matters. I wouldn't live anywhere else.
Have you read the article? God bless that this time the Gardai was close to the scene. Undermining the gravity of such things is a shame
I think I saw 2 reports of violence in Limerick over the last few days, is it also unliveable there?
To all the deniers...once again...Dublin city center/GPO, yesterday night...the only blame of the victim of this atrocity was to "walking home from a night of socialising in the city"
Let me explain. The ONLY reason why there's people-me included- that has to live in Dublin (and eventually buy/rent a house here), it is because big AMERICAN CORPORATIONS settled their EUROPEAN HEADQUARTER as this is a tax heaven for them, and brought their 'European money' here.
Sure, we don't want to live here because it is 'likeable', believe me.
I guess in Ireland you should recognise the privilege for you to be inside the EU as your economy is totally depending on this, and adequate your towns to better standards (see Paris, Madrid, Lisbon, Rome, Warsaw, Milan, Florence, Prague, etc.)
(Although we are European citizens, we don’t have right to vote our representants here, like you. Do we at least have freedom of opinion in a web forum?)
But Sinn Fein is going to give everyone free houses! Magic!
It's so unlikeable that 1000s of people are trying to buy a house there, the homeless and junkies hang around the city centre, like in every city . There's quite boring suburbs in dublin but no one posts about that
Maybe the average person could afford a bed apartment at least for a few years that's the trend in every European city now prices are rising maybe cos people can now work from home
Let’s take it back.
It already is....
Eventually housing in Dublin will become unaffordable to anyone earning an average income
I,ve never seen anyone taking drugs in public , if i see anyone that looks dodgy i avoid em.i have,nt seen any big rise in crime in the last year .i cannot tell the junkies from the homeless ,they dress the same .my advice is you don,t like the city centre do not go there unless you have to go to work. dublin looks strange ,no tourists at all, people just drinking or eating at tables outside .some streets look bleak with so many shops and business,s closed .i wonder if they are all paying rent on all those empty buildings.
riclad wrote: » i,ll take dublin anyday over living in a small irish town with 3 pubs and 3 supermarkets .
Liam32123 wrote: » Dublin (at least the city center) has become literally unlivable, especially for foreign people who don't have their family here. There are street fights on all sides; people taking crack and heroin on every corner; you have to do the slalom between excrements to walk; police totally absent and if you try to report a fact to the people in charge they consider you as the problem. Women certainly risk walking alone. Most of all, there is a total absence of values It feels like living in a nightmare
Vita nova wrote: » You only have to google the term to see that many consider it a pejorative term for a rural dweller and a synonym for an unsophisticated countryperson and if one uses it as a collective term for people simply because of where they come from then that usage could certainly be considered a regional slur. Even when not used disparagingly, it can still be seen as a disparaging them-and-us type term.
MyLove4Satan wrote: » How is 'Culchie' a slur? You would be surprised how many Dubs use it without any negative attributes. I have never used it in that way. It's hardly the 'N' word.
Vita nova wrote: » Most of Dublin is fine but like every city or large town there are areas that could be described as very undesirable, however, if you as a Dubliner call people "culchies" then some of them are going to call Dublin a kip in return (and vice versa) even when they have no negative experiences... you're just the mirror image of those you criticise. As for the second part of your reply, it doesn't really address the OP's post, experience or concerns.
Vita nova wrote: » As for the second part of your reply, it doesn't really address the OP's post, experience or concerns.
nullzero wrote: » No deluge of culchies in this thread talking about how much of a kip they know Dublin is? Non nationals end up living in Dublin because the majority of jobs that attract people to come and live in another country are based in Dublin. Seems a simple enough thing to understand.
Hello Moto GP wrote: » Yep, still doesn't change the fact Dublin is a **** Hole.
Hello Moto GP wrote: » Kilkenny City is where I decided on settling, now thats a great city for night life and everything else. I'd rather chop of one my arms than use public transport around Dublin City.