Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

DUBLIN IS TOTALLY UNLIVABLE **Mod Warning In Post #671**

• Registered Users Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

The areas around O'Connell and Henry Streets and The Quays definitely need investment, tighter controls on shops fronts and outdoor amenities, but it's hardly the wild west.

It all just looks very run down and neglected for a city centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

The areas around O'Connell and Henry Streets and The Quays definitely need investment, tighter controls on shops fronts and outdoor amenities, but it's hardly the wild west.

It all just looks very run down and neglected for a city centre.

Yeah it doesn't really bother me but for all the people who love to hate on Dublin and call it a kip etc, if you just avoid the north inner city and stay south of Dame St, it's a pretty nice place.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,079 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

I've lived in Dublin pretty much all my life and I work in the city centre I'm still alive as far as I know ha.

There are a lot of junkies around yeah no doubt about that but the majority of the time there at each other your just unlucky if you end up dealing with them. It happens but its not something that happens to everyone and anyone in the area like some seem to think.

O Connell street is a dark dirty kip of a place but again I've managed to avoid any real issues on there over the years.

The worst street I come across on a regular basis is Moore street. The place needs to be floored and start over. Its a ghetto covered in scummy townies and Gypsies any bit of Dublin culture it once had is long gone.

To be honest what can the Guards really do about it ? They can arrest or move people on but the ****ers are right back out doing it again the next day. Scum have more rights than normal decent people until that changes and the government stops ignoring the anti social problems on the streets in Ireland than we will just have to put up with it or leave and go somewhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Allinall wrote: »
    I was in Dublin city centre last night for about 5 hours.
    Henry St, up through Temple Bar, Grafton St and up Camden Street.

What I saw was shocking. People sitting outside pubs and restaurants enjoying themselves.
    Not a sign of a street fight.
    Didn't see anyone taking crack or heroin.
    Searched yards and yards of pavements, but not one bit of excrement could I find.

I'll try again at the weekend, and hopefully will have something more positive to report.

i think he meant "craic"

• Registered Users Posts: 16,336 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

I don't think so. A place with 1.5 million people out of 5 million is unlikely to have the majority of anything. And certainly not non nationals, according to the Census.

https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-cp7md/p7md/p7anii/

So you are arguing that Ireland isn't skewed in a Dublin centric manner?

All the people living in the surrounding counties who clog the roads in and out of Dublin every day are just there for fun?

Glazers Out!

And it is also said that Erik turned back to Damo the Viking and said: "I was expecting more after that winter, alright. And you know what? That black pool is starting to give me the heebie jeebies. It's unnaturally black. I don't think we should be camping here here at all, at all. Give me clear water any day of the week, Damo. Not that black stuff. No good will come of it, mark my words." --The Annals of Damo, 500 A.D.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭JimmyCorkhill

Walking down from the Spire through North Earl st onto Talbot St heading towards Connolly Station is some sight.

Have had to do it a few Saturdays during lockdown, town was fairly quiet apart from the "characters" you would see on the route outlined above.

I am a Dub and fcuk me, town was an absolute sh1thole during my visits while in lockdown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Hello Moto GP

Lived in Dublin for three years, an absolute kip of a place. Never, ever again even if my salary was doubled.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 GymComerford

As a dub its sad to see what the city has become.

The capital city is a toilet , covered in skidmarks

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭Liam32123

Members of my family were subjected to 3 aggressions in the last 2 months. I guess it is enough form me to write this post or should I wait some other episodes?

BTW, I would really want to see some wise people here having the courage to simply send their children to school alone in this area or to play with friends! (Easy to talk if you come only once in town for a pint with friends)

I refer to Four Courts, Croppies Memorial Park, Church Street, Capel Street, Arran street, Ormond Quay, O'Connor, Jervis, Christ Church ..(this is the surrounding where I live)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,079 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Liam32123 wrote: »
    Members of my family were subjected to 3 aggressions in the last 2 months. I guess it is enough form me to write this post or should I wait some other episodes?

BTW, I would really want to see some wise people here having the courage to simply send their children to school alone in this area or to play with friends! (Easy to talk if you come only once in town for a pint with friends)

I refer to Four Courts, Croppies Memorial Park, Church Street, Capel Street, Arran street, Ormond Quay, O'Connor, Jervis, Christ Church ..(this is the surrounding where I live)

Call into the Bridewell and talk to someone about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,781 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

no he sounded like a horrible wanker

Gold plated legend.

But no. Sadly, the Garda Commissioner's priorities at the moment extend to beard growth, tunics, turbans and rainbow flagged patrol cars.

This City needs an executive mayor and quick. We need rid of unaccountable solo runners like Owen Keegan and one-year honorary Lord Mayors who host Christmas dinners for auld ones and jollies for reformed druggies in the Mansion House.

We need a strong, accountable, first citizen, with powers over security, planning, transport, economic development and the public realm. We need him or her to fight for what the people of the City really want and need to make a good life, not let is slide further into being a haven for petty criminals, drug dealers and a grimy transient economy for wasters.

Limerick is doing it already. Why aren't we?

Last time I got off the train at Heuston and exited to get a LUAS these scenes greeted me "Bud can you spare a Yauroh :

557770.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Lived in Dublin for three years, an absolute kip of a place. Never, ever again even if my salary was doubled.

Not even if yer salary was dublin?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

There's junkies and bad areas in any city. For some reason we seem to have ghettoized our capital city center.

Why do the non working class get housed in prime locations?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,720 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Your clearly in the minority and you dont know what a kip actually is. For me Dublin is one of the best places to live in the world, id never live anywhere else. People always exadurate the crime level, i have always found it a safe place to live.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,354 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Gold plated legend.

But no. Sadly, the Garda Commissioner's priorities at the moment extend to beard growth, tunics, turbans and rainbow flagged patrol cars.

This City needs an executive mayor and quick. We need rid of unaccountable solo runners like Owen Keegan and one-year honorary Lord Mayors who host Christmas dinners for auld ones and jollies for reformed druggies in the Mansion House.

We need a strong, accountable, first citizen, with powers over security, planning, transport, economic development and the public realm. We need him or her to fight for what the people of the City really want and need to make a good life, not let is slide further into being a haven for petty criminals, drug dealers and a grimy transient economy for wasters.

Limerick is doing it already. Why aren't we?

We need Batman.

We just didn't like you and wanted you out.

Mission accomplished.

Glazers Out!

Greyfox wrote: »
    Your clearly in the minority and you dont know what a kip actually is. For me Dublin is one of the best places to live in the world, id never live anywhere else. People always exadurate the crime level, i have always found it a safe place to live.

I just fcukin' love Dublin.

nullzero wrote: »
    We just didn't like you and wanted you out.

Mission accomplished.

I believe in that. You seem not to like many persons here in Dublin

Liam, Liam , its its okay, it just takes a while to get used to us.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

The only agression I see is people begging coming up to you asking have you got a euro, I'm glad there's no tourists here, city centre does not look great
    So many shops closed down
    Many Cafes closed
    Last week I was asked for 2 euro
    The hostels and services mostly in the city centre,
    So that's where the homeless and junkies go.
    Is there some large European city that has no crime or homeless people or junkies ?
    I go through the city centre every day
    I never feel in any danger

You could probably go back 10 years on this forumand see the same posts complaining about crime junkies etc

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I lived on the South Circular Road for five years, and I always loved my walk into town from that direction. It wasn't the nicest looking of areas, but it was mostly pleasant. However, we moved to Stoneybatter in February, and I really hate walking into the northside of the city to shop. I am from the Northside, Henry Street and environs were my stomping ground growing up, but it really did fall apart in the last year or so. The council were doing their best, but I saw some sights I never want to see again!

Man I wish I could afford to live in Stoneybatter! I actually did for a while in 2005ish, before it was cool of course.

Lux23 wrote: »
    However, we moved to Stoneybatter in February, and I really hate walking into the northside of the city to shop. I am from the Northside, Henry Street and environs were my stomping ground growing up, but it really did fall apart in the last year or so. The council were doing their best, but I saw some sights I never want to see again!

We are almost neighbours. Same sensations; maybe you were a little bit luckier than me. Do you have the courage to send your children alone for a walk or to play in the surrounding area? I don't

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I don't have kids, but I would walk both the South Circular Road and the streets of Stoneybatter at any time - it is fairly safe. I don't think the city centre is unsafe for a woman, it's just dirty and smelly.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,453 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

When was Dublin a nice place to live in? Not the 1930's going by this account.

https://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/the-animals-who-prowled-1930s-dublin-26878497.html

Would it have been the 1960's, or maybe the 1990's?

When was Dublin a nice place to live in? Not the 1930's going by this account.

https://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/the-animals-who-prowled-1930s-dublin-26878497.html

Would it have been the 1960's, or maybe the 1990's?

Well me and everyone else I know that lives here seem to have great lives!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Seanachai

I have noticed an increase in fights on O'Connell St, I'd be there on Saturday afternoons and Sunday evenings sometimes. The dogs**t situation in my area has been ridiculous for years now, there are DCC signs and even homemade ones up pleading for people to clean up but the owners just don't seem to give a f**k. My brother was home from Oz a few years ago and he couldn't believe the amount of crap on the footpaths.

What?

Glazers Out!