Bannasidhe wrote: » Read back over the tread. There have been quite a few people who suggested Alfie as a likely suspect.
Bannasidhe wrote: » Honestly. For the last time. As someone who knew and worked with Alfie Lyons to accuse him is really stretching the bounds of credibility. He was no longer a 'stoner'. He had been in the past - smoking only grass he grew himself, a thing which is now perfectly legal in many parts of the world, but by 1995 had completely quit as his lungs were fecked from it. But here in this thread we have people who never met the man (if they had you would know how ridiculous it is to name him as a likely suspect) who claim a man in his mid/late 60s, with lungs so damaged he had to stop helping out as a casual baker as he could no longer knead loaves of bread without becoming breathless, was capable of lifting a concrete block multiple time and bringing it down with great force. Additionally, he - according to the likely suspect scenario - was perfectly willing to leave a dead body where his adored partner would find it. Away with this nonsense. Alfie and Shirley were victims too. Their dream of a quiet retirement was destroyed, they were in no financial position to move having invested everything in that house. Both were literally OAPs. Forever trapped as the neighbours of the murder house where sightseers' believed they had the right to trespass and peer through their windows, ask intrusive questions, and suggest nonsense theories. Alfie is hardly in the grave and here he is being called a likely suspect of committing murder. Perhaps if people are going to throw theories out there they might do some fact checking first.
MoonUnit75 wrote: » I could imagine Sophie seeing or hearing someone on the lane, puts on her boots to confront them. They tell Sophie they should get together, have a drink and discuss some projects. Sophie tells them 'would you ever f*** off with yourself you incoherent drunk idiot' and turns to go back inside, gets a rock on the back of the head and staggers forwards, instinctively running down the hill and fending off blows from her attacker, stumbles and falls.
Marcusm wrote: » Their house is up for sale now. The ad I saw (commendably) made no mention of the murder.
yourdeadwright wrote: » I don't think anyone's said it was Alfie on here ? Most have just said his comment that he is 90% sure he introduced IB and Sophie is a bit sketchy but understandable so,
TalleyRand83 wrote: » . I'm more amazed at the people who are entirely convinced he isn't as if he had an iron clad alibi, genuinely think this cohort are just against "the man" and see a little redemptive figure in IB. Garda were terrible, a tinge corrupt even but to paint this like some giant stitch up is silly
TalleyRand83 wrote: » Yeah, beating your partner to a pulp isn't that bad at all! And no way in the world could you compare to beating another woman near you to an even worse pulp, apples and elephants. However, any other man "mysterious high ranking Garda", Stoner Alfie Lyons, French Beret assassin made up man well they'd be much likelier suspects.
Ultimate Gowlbag wrote: » But people spinning stories to have him guilty are good though? It's genuinely funny reading the people who want him guilty so badly although it's hard to tell whether its for justice or just so they can be right!
TalleyRand83 wrote: » However, any other man "mysterious high ranking Garda", Stoner Alfie Lyons, French Beret assassin made up man well they'd be much likelier suspects.
TalleyRand83 wrote: » Absolutely, however the popular rule now is to fob all that off along with staggering amount of "co-incidences", varied statements as all drivel and insert loony theories about everyone but Bailey
odyssey06 wrote: » Why would someone staggering up to Alfies launch a surprise attack with a rock???
Henry... wrote: » Most likely scenario I'd say
yourdeadwright wrote: » Jules always adamant the Garda made up the story of them stopping and looking down at Sophie's house and IB making comments, The place they said they stopped wouldn't give you a clear view of the house, Again the Garda making up stories about IB Also beating you spouse is the lowest of the low but there is a huge difference between doing that and killing a women not know to you , You'll find many men who beat there partners would never hurt a fly outside of there own home ,
brendanwalsh wrote: » All the confessions are very odd, none of them came across like black humour. The most damning is the one where he refers to himself in the second person - you saw her tight arse in spar, went up to her house at 2am to chance your arm, scared her and then bashed her head in. That’s likely exactly what happened. Jesus that scene where he pulled his tooth out with a pliers, gruesome
SoulWriter wrote: » The could see them from where they parked, i thinks its across a valley i.e they were on a height and the houses are on a height with low land betweenhttps://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/at-a-glance-bailey-case-1.2019407
EdHoven wrote: » I said it before. He was an experienced crime reporter. He could have gone No Comment and Jules too. Did either have a solicitor present?
Henry... wrote: » The biggest red flag is surely bailey and Jules changing their stories on his movement It's massive imo
EdHoven wrote: » "Clearly, she was very happy with this visit and had been very 'taken' by Mr Ungerer, to such an extent that they formed a work project together. I am saying that in a telephone call that I received on the morning, my wife [Sophie] had told me she had finally intended to return to France on 24 December and that she had been able to get a seat on a flight arriving in Toulouse at 8 p.m., though she had initially anticipated returning on 25 December. There was no particular reason for this change of plan and it was agreed that I would meet her at Toulouse-Blagnac, on the arrival of the Aer Lingus flight. During the last telephone conversation, Sophie did not make any reference to any particular plan."
chooseusername wrote: » She told the Guards that they stopped on the road home and could see Sophie's house and Alfies house with the lights on. (she later said the Guard made this up) But if they saw the houses they would have to have been on the lane leading to the houses.