Henry... wrote: » That was the standout moment for me early on The guy just literally changes his tune when his partner incriminates him Not buying his excuse for the scratches either Still only half way through
EdHoven wrote: » I think the story is she flew into Dublin and got a connecting flight to Cork. Daniel TduP said she was flying back into Toulouse from Ireland on Christmas Eve on Aer Lingus. Maybe some AV geek could find out if there were flights from Dublin to Toulouse in 1996. It seems to me all the research has gone into IB and obvious questions around the how and why of her visit are ignored.
SoulWriter wrote: » OK thanks
EdHoven wrote: » He was a crime reporter. Surely by watching cop shows we all know now "No Comment" is the best policy for anybody. He must have known that. Supposedly he and Jules had been comparing notes to get their story straight. Why not just agree to go "No Comment"?
isha wrote: » Well, yikes, unless I am hearing things!
bemak wrote: » If Bailey is guilty I don't buy that he went home first and then walked all the way across to Sophies. He might have walked home (or have been collected by Jules) but he would have gone back to Sophies with her IMO. For me, the fact that Jules has stood by Bailey's version of events would mean that A) she is involved herself somehow or Bailey is innocent. If Bailey is guilty would she have had her daughters stay with them knowing he was capable of that? Is Jules crosseyed because of the assaults by Bailey? She was fine in earlier videos/photos? Must be an awful thing, especially for an artist.
isha wrote: » The podcast says it is a 36 minute walk between the houses. That is not long. I do a walk out every day to end of my road and back that is about that length each way. I consider any people along that road to be my close neighbours.
MoonUnit75 wrote: » It sounds like the critical moment was when the gardai told Jules during her first arrest that she could be prosecuted for aiding and abetting an offender and perverting the course of justice. Only then did she tell them IB actually did get out of bed and came in the next morning with a fresh cut on his forehead. JT later denied she told the gardai that but when they put it to IB he suddenly remembered he did get up 'to write an article'. JT never mentioned an article in her statement but in the podcast says she clearly remembers him showing her an article he had written during the night and it was sitting on the kitchen table. Riiiiiiiiight.
monkeybutter wrote: » you thing the gardai dont know where she flew into? they know the how and the why to any reasonable level Theres no chance there was a cork toulouse flight around december in 1996
odyssey06 wrote: » Have you ever done the walk by moonlight when drunk? Not going to do it in 36 minutes. And I don't think most people would consider someone 30 minutes walking distance to be 'close' neighbours.
chooseusername wrote: » Attachment not found. It's 2.5 miles walking (50 mins no shortcuts) or driving (4-5 mins). Or if walking drunk the difference is staggering. 2 miles as the crow flies.Attachment not found.
isha wrote: » Motive would be sex. It is a huge motive in such crimes. Bailey, I am learning from the podcast, also was a fan of Aleister Crowley - why am I not surprised. As for getting involved so visibly from the beginning and being so vocal instead of keeping schtum, I keep remembering that boy in Cork who was killed, Robert Holohan, and how his killer joined the search parties. He even complained to Garda about daylight hours being lost in the search due to briefings. And that went on for 8 long days. And all the time O' Donoghue knew where the boy's body was and what had happened. Edited 12 to 8 days
EdHoven wrote: » The discussion was about Donal MacIntyre not AGS. He did the heavy lifting for Jim Sheridan's doc. I just looked online and someone has the Aer Lingus 1997 Summer Schedule and there are no flights Dublin or Cork to Toulouse. You can read Daniel's interview with French police in Ralph Riegel's book. Daniel says he arranged to pick up Sophie at Toulouse Airport on Christmas Eve. To me that sounds like someone knowing he isn't going to be questioned too closely about inconsistencies in his story. Which makes me doubt his explanation why she went alone - "for mechanical reasons, to fix the heating".http://airlinetimetables.blogspot.com/2018/03/aer-lingus-march-1997.html?m=1
orangerhyme wrote: » This is the part I find hard to accept, if Jules had any suspicion why would she keep him in the house with 3 daughters!? Unless they're both complicit like Fred and Rose West.
Xander10 wrote: » But he got up out of bed that night, to write a 500 word article for the press. Have you ever tried doing something like that when drunk? On one occasion, when he assaulted Jules very badly, he was drunk but driving at the same time. It's not inconceivable that he may have driven close to the house, surely?
bb12 wrote: » yeah but she could have been flying to back to paris and then connecting to toulouse. they were supposed to be spending new years in africa with friends. wonder were the tickets bought for that
isha wrote: » How drunk was he? He says he had a few pints and a whiskey or two. That was to explain how he could get up and be fresh enough to write the article. Either way he himself says he had not drank much that night. I have walked at similar pace in moonlight, yes. Drunk? It is extremely rare that I have ever been drunk in my life, but I have been able to walk fast in the past while tipsy. In the very remote country side (like the countryside in west Cork) a 30 minute road walk in any direction is where your closest neighbours live. That's your neighbourhood. That is how we describe ourselves here in a different remote area - these are our next door neighbours.
Henry... wrote: » There's a lot of lies at the heart of this story Even the neighbor Didn't hear a thing conveniently Bit hazy about his memory issues as well 90% sure on bailey meeting stdp
Gussie Scrotch wrote: » Yes, It would be interesting to see the notes on the interviews of Alfie and Shirley. It could well be that Sophie was viciously attacked, for a relatively prolonged period, within less than 100 yards of their house in an otherwise silent and still environment and they neither saw nor heard anything. Not a scream, not a shout, not even a car engine. But to me it seems curious and I would like to understand why.