Rob2D wrote: » I'm sorry but no. If that's truly the case then someone needs to sit her down after this and give her a serious dose of tough love. She couldn't deal with it today and now the other girl moves on for free. She either hardens up or the next girl who wants it will move past her too. Simple. End of. During the delay she should have been excited, not able to wait to get out there. If she really was sitting around just dreading it then she shouldn't be playing on the world stage. She'll be eaten alive by girls who want to be there. Granted she was thrown into the deep end but this is going to be her only chance to learn from the shock. I hope she takes it.
Alberta64 wrote: » Did Federer shag your wife? Where's all this hostility towards him coming from?
Rjd2 wrote: » Would have been interesting to know Toml's views if she lost as obviously not great for her either. Luckily for her she is third on court tomorrow and tonight's game did not go the distance. Anyhow on tomorrow, I'd be getting concerned for Barty if she doesn't handle Tomljanović easily enough. Not see much of Golubic so won't comment to much on that match but about time Pliskova put a run together at this slam. The other 2 matches though look great, Kerber whose defense is incredible against Muchova who has so much skill while Jabeur with all her variety against Saba with all the power.
Girly Gal wrote: » She definitely needs to learn from this, this could very well be the high point of her career or she could go on to become a top level player, only time will tell. Even for an 18 year old she's fairly inexperienced, she had no top level experience before Wimbledon and only got a wildcard because she's British and then having to wait all day for the biggest game of her short career with the British media ramping up the pressure on her. It obviously was all too much for her, but, a good opportunity to learn from.
klr87 wrote: » I don't think it really helps Tomljanovic that this evening's match finished quickly. The gulf in class between Barty and her is huge. In over a decade on the tour, she has yet to win a title: She's lost 4 finals, all at International (aka WTA 250) level, equivalent to ATP 250 for the men. She has only once previously been past the 2nd round of a slam (4th round of the French in 2014), and only just managed to crack the top 40 in the rankings at her peak. She's had injury troubles, but so have many players around that long. I agree that Kerber - Muchova and Jabeur - Sabalenka are the pick of the women's matches tomorrow, and also that it's about time Pliskova went deep here. I've watched some of Golubic, and her game seems suited to grass.
glasso wrote: » nothing of the sort. I'm relatively neutral on Federer himself. Although I do think that he's a bit of a saccharine fake as I've said in the past and incidents like the U.S Open where he called Djokovic "lucky" for hitting a clean winner on match point are instructive on where the "mask slipped". He was obviously once a very fine player. it's the fed-hards , not Fed himself.
Rob2D wrote: » Best thing she can do now is take her newfound ranking points and go hard travelling on the tour. Get as far away from England as possible and win a few matches abroad. Get her head together for the US Open. Having said that, she's been playing since she was 5 years old. Presumably she's played in front of many people before with an aim to get exactly here someday. Hopefully it was just the sudden shock. But if she really is that soft well, as you say this might be as far as she ever goes. What she also needs fast is a proper coach. A former player that can prepare her the reality of it. Her current coach seems a bit s**t. Also happens to be Andy Murray's father in law.
Augme wrote: » She won't be getting any where close to the US open. The best hope is that she plays and makes the Australian Open through qualifying.
klr87 wrote: » Raducanu retires, obviously not wanting to face the wrath of Tomljanovic. Joke obviously ...
fryup wrote: » and Tomljanovic said after...."I am really sorry for her, I wish we could have finished it. I am wishing her all the best," made a change from the last match when she said yer one was lying
yerwanthere123 wrote: » Saw tonight that she'll be ranked high enough to make US Open qualies? Although open to correction on that.
Girly Gal wrote: » Krejčíková hadn't done much before winning the FO, so I don't think it matters that much in the women's game, a lot of recent slams have seen outsiders either reach or even win slam finals.
klr87 wrote: » Her "live" ranking (including the Wimbledon points) is 175, and anyone up to 230 or 240 will usually get into qualification. So she will certainly make it, even if she doesn't play again in the few weeks between now and the cut-off date for qualification, 4 weeks before the main event starts. She has no points to defend in that time, so she can't go down more than a few places at the very worst. Another bonus is that she's now likely to get wildcard invites into all sorts of small tournaments, which would be ideal at this stage of her development.
someyoke wrote: » Fed-hards, fedtards, fedheads, fed fan boys. All glasso labels for Federer fans. The only one consistently driving narrative of djok annoying fed fans on this thread is you.are you out of your early teens yet? Childish beyond belief. You can be a fed supporter and admire djok too. But the majority of fed supporters like him cause he's the most gifted player to watch and greatest entertainer. Djok could have 50 grand slams and that wouldn't change.
Rob2D wrote: » Exactly. She can easily get a few more matches in now through invites and prepare for New York.
fryup wrote: » got a soft spot for Ons Jabeur she's as tough as nails (and looks it) and coming from a islamic country where women in sports is probably frowned upon..so well done her
Joe_ Public wrote: » She's from Tunisia which has a fairly admirable history of female representation at the olympics so I'm inclined to believe she's probably not frowned upon at all. More likely a national icon imho.
glasso wrote: » her appeal is recognised far beyond Tunisia into the countries which are far less progressive in terms of female sport participation that's what makes her significant
Joe_ Public wrote: » Yeah. Who's denying that? Maybe even some kids in Ireland might see a player from subech a poor country with almost no major tennis tradition behind it (not forgetting Malek Jaziri who came before her) and think why not me too?
glasso wrote: » Well there was focusing on Tunisia just above whereas obviously the bigger picture here is the long-time discouragement if not suppression of female participation of sport in many Islamic countries Malek Jaziri is a guy He is / was not really going to be an inspiration for girls in say Saudi Arabia to any remotely comparable extent as Jabeur
dinorebel wrote: » Not a chance that women's tennis will be shown in Saudi Arabia with all that decadent flesh on show.
Joe_ Public wrote: » Malek is a guy. With a name like that, I'd never have guessed. Malek breaking the top 100 in the atp might, just might have been a source of inspiration for ons jabeur. In fact, I'm sure she has said as much on several occasions. That's what creating a tradition is all about. I'm all for encouraging female participation in sport in every sport and every culture. Including our own which still has room for improvement too, but that's another story.
glasso wrote: » can't believe that you left out Selima Sfar the first Arab women, also from Tunisia to break the top 100! Jabeur had possibly heard of her.