Liam32123 wrote: » Dublin (at least the city center) has become literally unlivable, especially for foreign people who don't have their family here. There are street fights on all sides; people taking crack and heroin on every corner; you have to do the slalom between excrements to walk; police totally absent and if you try to report a fact to the people in charge they consider you as the problem. Women certainly risk walking alone. Most of all, there is a total absence of values It feels like living in a nightmare
Allinall wrote: » I was in Dublin city centre last night for about 5 hours. Henry St, up through Temple Bar, Grafton St and up Camden Street. What I saw was shocking. People sitting outside pubs and restaurants enjoying themselves. Not a sign of a street fight. Didn't see anyone taking crack or heroin. Searched yards and yards of pavements, but not one bit of excrement could I find. I'll try again at the weekend, and hopefully will have something more positive to report.
El Tarangu wrote: » There are definitely more junkies in the centre of Dublin than in any other city I've been too; at the same time, there seems to be fairly little petty crime like pickpockets and muggings, and women are a lot less likely to be harassed than in other European cities. So, as with so many things, a bit of a mixed bag.
Smee_Again wrote: » Its grand, could be better but could be a lot worse. More Gardai and an effective system of dealing with scumbags wouldn't go amiss but that's a wider issue than just Dublin.
Mad_maxx wrote: » our police force much prefer plonking themselves on roads holding speed cameras or pulling people over for motor tax offenses
dotsman wrote: » I live in Dublin city center. I am not from here or have family. Throughout the entire pandemic, I have not seen a single fight. Nor a single person taking crack/heroin (obviously have seen a few enjoying the subsequent side effects). Not one bit of dog poo. Agree with the "no guards", but that has always been the case. I see and know, lots of single girls who walk alone without being afraid their own shadow. Dublin has always been a dirty kip. It is proud of being a dirty kip. But it is a totally liveable dirty kip.
fryup wrote: » bring back lugs brannigan
Thelonious Monk wrote: » no he sounded like a horrible wanker
nullzero wrote: » No deluge of culchies in this thread talking about how much of a kip they know Dublin is? Non nationals end up living in Dublin because the majority of jobs that attract people to come and live in another country are based in Dublin. Seems a simple enough thing to understand.