TalleyRand83 wrote: » As a few posters above suggest, it seems obvious she is a fantasist. There was no man, that’s why no one Conan find him! Who is so important in west cork that would have US president style pull that would have every relevant person in the area as well as risking international relations with a very important neighbour France? Some mid level copper? Lads, she’s a nut that weaved a tangled web of lies without an exit plan…she didn’t see anyone either at her shop or the bridge, lucky the one witness seeing the “killer” twice yet no one else managed to see him. I personally completely ignore her chatter, whether it helps or hinders Bailey.
dublin49 wrote: » I personally completely ignore her chatter, whether it helps or hinders Bailey.
FileNotFound wrote: » Good show. It shows Bailey is a fruit and could potentially have been involved. But there was no real evidence ( at least kone that doesn't have big questions over it) to convict. French Court case seemed rather a Farce to be fair. I'd say Netflix have it nicely twisted to say he is a million percent guilty, must ive that show a watch. Good show by sky to be fair.
dublin49 wrote: » Netflik far superior IMO.sheridans more of a mood ,atmospheric piece .Netflik covers all the witnesses and most of the questions I had and is much better for actual detail and I heard several things I didnt know and also some details I had read about that are much more compelling and stark from the witnesses mouths.
FileNotFound wrote: » But did they focus on tainting of the witness statements? Then no evidence of the man at the scene? Sure will give it a watch. Suppose it can't be as bad as some of the other sorry excuses for impartial views they give.
dublin49 wrote: » Do, ,it acts as a good counter weight to the pro Bailey Sheridan one.
I havent paid much attention to her but she did seem geniunely frightened by Bailey in the clip in the 3rd Sophie programme to the point she was pleading for the guards to do something about the constant intimidation by Bailey and could she have taken matters into her own hands to end Baileys harassment of her and her family by changing her story as she claimed Bailey was instructing her to do
threeball wrote: » Who leaves home at 3am, travel 4km to kill someone he had very little knowledge of and no issue with and then travel back to make tea for the missus. Thats serial killer stuff. Someone who gets off on killing. There would have been others.
chooseusername wrote: » Maybe there were others ;https://www.gloucestershirelive.co.uk/news/gloucester-news/unsolved-crime-murder-carmel-gamble-68566 A violent misogynistic attack at a holiday home 18 months or 2 years before Bailey left the area to go to remote West Cork. A further 5 years till Sophie was bludgeoned to death. I'd assume the Gardai would have liaised with the Uk police when checking up on his past life in Uk when he became their prime only suspect. Including passing his DNA to them .
MastiffMrs wrote: » Having listened to the podcast and watched the sky programme and the Netflix programme, it's still quite difficult to understand what actually happened. IB is not a likeable character but not convinced he's guilty of the murder either. His relationship with Jules seemed crazy to me, how she put up with the violence for so many years. The fact that she lied about him being violent to her (years ago when speaking on a radio programme) makes me question her honesty around his behaviour after the murder. His attitude about his abuse is so blasé too. "it takes 2 to tango" but it is to his "eternal shame". Pulling hair out, pulling her lip away from her mouth, big black eyes. Losing control was normal for him. Why would he use black humour with so many locals, it's a serious crime, why "pretend" that he did it for laughs? Not exactly socially aware. The lack of dna evidence at the scene is very unusual. I know a horse theory was mentioned. The blood on the nearby rocks appeared to be the murder weapons. Was it ever confirmed by blood spatter patterns that those rocks were actually used and the blood didn't just land on them? Strange that 2 were used (if a frenzy attack, why go reach for a second weapon?) I don't trust MF and her many different stories. If she was so afraid of naming the man she was driving with, why mention him at all? Strange that only she saw a man watching Sophie in a village which seemed to be busy before xmas. MF admitted the Gardaí helped her out with numerous things after she gave statements. That stinks. Now, because Jim Sheridan has pointed out another man, MF is now saying yes it's this guy. She has no credibility. I really feel sorry for Sophies family especially her son. They've watched the investigation from afar for so long and really it's nowhere closer to being properly resolved. I'd like to think that if it happened now, it would have a better chance forensically, but I'm not so sure. Rural Irish Gardaí are probably not much better trained than in 1996, not sure if I would trust them to process the scene properly. I don't think that enough time was given in any of the documentaries to the other men who were potential suspects, admitted to doing something terrible and committed suicide. The media say that IB likes the attention, yet they don't divert it elsewhere.
Henry... wrote: » Has it been proven he wasn't driving
sekiro wrote: » When you say he was "in the area" can you be a bit more specific? Also by "misogynistic attack" do you mean that a woman was the victim or that the attack was done by someone who hates women in general? Seems like a strange way to describe it if she was the only victim but not so much if there were a number of similar killings in the area.
MastiffMrs wrote: » I don't trust MF and her many different stories. If she was so afraid of naming the man she was driving with, why mention him at all? Strange that only she saw a man watching Sophie in a village which seemed to be busy before xmas. MF admitted the Gardaí helped her out with numerous things after she gave statements. That stinks. Now, because Jim Sheridan has pointed out another man, MF is now saying yes it's this guy. She has no credibility.
Gussie Scrotch wrote: » This is a distinct possibility. The only thing that makes me think otherwise is that she said she was with another man. If she was inventing all the stuff she was telling the Guards, why use that as an excuse for being out and about at that time of night ...why risk damaging her marriage and infuriating her husband? She could have come up with something else....?
Mackwiss wrote: » Very good link. That does sound like a "pattern" would it be possible to find other cases like this in the UK before 96? And even in Ireland?
Deeec wrote: » I find it hard to believe many men would want to have an affair with Marie ( but granted Im not a man and maybe men do find her attractive!). The man in the car, the Garda stripping for her wanting sex and the garda turned on in the restuarant toilets were all fantasy.
[Deleted User] wrote: » I still honestly do not know who could be proven killer - it could have been that hardly mentioned Karl - but it is an infuriating cases weirdly stocked with incredibly infuriating people. And I am a believer in councidences as I experience such an odd amount of them that life can seem laughably scripted by a mischievious director, but even so Bailey takes the biscuit. One can leave out completely any input from that village troll, Marie Farrell, and still there is a litany of coincidences. He may be innocent but coincidentally He lives nearby in a sparsely populated area He is a violent misogynistic drunk He has a massive ego and vast over estimation of his sexual charisma He battered his own partner to a pulp several times including a few months before the murder His hands and arms and forehead have lots of scratches - has he been so badly scratched any other Christmas season with the turkeys and the trees? He stopped that night to look out over the remote landscape which held few houses but notably Sophies and apparently remarked upon the house light He was missing from his bed and house between 3 am and 9 am He was among the first people on the scene who were not officials He published lurid stories about Sophie's supposed entangled love life He floated and published the idea of the husbands hit man
nc6000 wrote: » What's the restaurant toilets incident?