MoonUnit75 wrote: » I think the ‘she ran in a panic to a friend’s house’ from Three Castle Head is a bit of a myth? They said she seemed a bit morose when she arrived and had a bad feeling up at the lake, from what I recall. She had tea in the local pub and don’t think she mentioned it to the barman there.
odyssey06 wrote: » Which is why it was so important to preserve you know the gate for future analysis.. except the Guards conviently lost that too. Zero forensics found at the scene in any way connected to Bailey. Zero hair samples left on these briars. Zero anything. A supposedly frenzied drunken attack. Absolute nonsense from the Guards. Your experience just goes to show that such scratches in and of themselves are evidence of no crime committed.
Deleted User wrote: » Experience in violence. A very strange term, but I understand what you mean. A normal man does not chase a small woman around a field until her pants catch on barbed wire leaving her tangled and helpless and then crush her head with a concrete block. It takes a person with an experience of violence to carry out that act. To imagine that Bailey did it, then brought coffee to his partner, then got on the phone to the papers, then went down to the scene and started writing. Unless he is a clinical psychopath he couldn't do that, and whichever documentary you watch, he doesn't display the traits of a psychopath.
Bellbottoms wrote: » That's a bit of a leap. The government can't even get covid travel certs up and running. But now they are covertly funding Netflix series and the like to soften people up for IB extradition. Was Waterworld a failed attempt to soften people up for water charges? I think you are clutching at straws here.
Biker79 wrote: » Well...it was either a jilted lover, or an Anton Chigurh type character from Corks criminal underbelly. I'll go with the latter, as I think a person would need experience in violence to commit such a crime.
Mackwiss wrote: » the question is, could you see at night under moonlight? would the cottage shadow at night hide the car? My theory is they went up to the gate and crossed the field to enter the house from the left side. They get in and notice the bottle of wine. Sophie hears them and comes down they rush through the door in the kitchen bottle in hand. Sophie in pursuit locking herself out. At this part I think MF kept running, and the guy turned to face Sophie. The rest we all know. In this theory I'd say they park before by the police line where there's space on the side of the road to park and would walk to the cottage. MF goes to the car, guy/lover comes back bloodied and tells her not to mention one word. They go their separate ways and once she gives her statement, he forces her to give other statements to throw the Garda off and that's where the Fionna calls start...
john123470 wrote: » Lookit, at this point .. Everyone's a suspect. Even Sheridan. Meanwhile, everyones forgotten about 'the White Lady' up in 3 Castle Head that scared the bejasus out of her on that very day. She reportedly ran in a panic to the nearest neighbour Jim himself expressed shivers being up there .. alone What about her then .. Is she exempt from suspicion or what ? I mean even "the horses" were considered suspect on one video And why stop there .. what about the stoned goats .. how did their day go after eating all that grass .. ?
[Deleted User] wrote: » What this case really needed was a trial, where defence and prosecution barristers cross examine and shred such characters as Clueso Dwyer, Mad as a box of frogs Farrel, Crazy Bailey, Alfie in wonderland Lyons, Daniel de Wienstien Tuscon de plantier, The French affair connection, Cassidy the forgetful journalist, a couple of local stoners coerced by the gaurds, and other random characters. Oh, and they need to drag that ****ing white lady in for a chat as well. Unfortunately instead we are left with pure amateur sleuth speculation, as per this thread.
MoonUnit75 wrote: » You could see it from outside the Garda cordon up the road from the gate.
MoonUnit75 wrote: » I think Sheridan’s thinking was to show Bailey as the perfect oddball, weirdo, loud, obnoxious person that locals would be only too happy to throw to the wolves.
Gussie Scrotch wrote: » as another poster has mused, I wonder if it is part of a softening up process, preparing the public for his eventual surrender to the French?
MoonUnit75 wrote: » I think this is the ‘CSI Effect’ in a nutshell. There was no LCN dna analysis available at the time and you would have to be very, very lucky to get a profile from the bags with thousands of thorns sent by the detectives. I think people tend to forget he could have been wearing fabric or cotton gloves which would leave no fingerprints but would absolutely allow thorns to scratch you quite badly. You would need good thick leather or gardening gloves to avoid scratches while running through a bramble patch. Speaking here from bitter experience!
As far as anyone knows, he was the first journalist to turn up, where have you heard different?
mgn wrote: » I cant figure out what's Sheridan game is showing him in that light, I don't think I seen him sober in any part of the documentary. As for the Netflix one you would except that with all her family and friends involved in the making of it, in fact I think it was a family friend who made the documentary. Still Bailey came across a lot better and gave a good account of himself.
odyssey06 wrote: » Could you have seen that from the gate I wonder?
odyssey06 wrote: » He turned up at the location in the mid afternoon. He wasn't the first journalist to turn up. There's no indication he had access to the crime scene i.e. within the Garda cordon. So he had no more or less access than any other passer by. He took photographs from outside the cordon. If you have something solid to show he had access to the actual crime scene please share. And no forensics evidence has been found putting Bailey at the crime scene. Not, well we found something but it is probably from his afternoon visit. Just nothing at all. Which is really something considering the Guards put him as a suspect because of scratches on his hands. How do you get scratches on your hands at the crime scene and leave no forensics.
dark crystal wrote: » Sophie's rental car would have been parked outside the house, I presume, so anyone showing up at the house would know the house was occupied.
threeball wrote: » Could MF and her fella been using Sophies house as a love nest and were unaware that she had returned. Tried to enter the house and was confronted with an altercation taking place. MF then concocts a load of nonsense to divert attention away from her involvement by implicating IB.
odyssey06 wrote: » And the weird thing is Sheridan has said he has no angle re: Bailey being the killer. But the rest of the Netflix content seems to be pointing that way.
mgn wrote: » The one thing I did learn from the Murder at the cottage one, is that Jim Sheridan made a complete mug out of Bailey by shown him up as someone who is drunk day and night and filmed him ranting on about nothing to do with the case. Take the Netflix documentary, Bailey comes across as a totally different man, sober and articulate.
Henry... wrote: » Did he not.turn up at the crime scene that morning