JustAThought wrote: » This Happens. Ballymun. Still going on. Newly built council estate with ‘old’ residents. Disgusting. The councils array of cameras installed ‘don’t work’ and they are too busy worrying about the drug dealing and machine gun toting and hand grenade throwing other residents to do anything about it.
1874 wrote: » ?? beggars belief, yep, you are not meant to leave stuff out all night, so its only meant to be out from before when they are collecting it. I guess thats either to stop drunken eejits as you think stealing your rubbish or kicking it around, or as likely to stop the wind picking it up and taking it away. I had wheelie bins 20+ years ago, Im fairly sure we had even green bins, so either you put out excess stuff or just carted it out there and left it. I still see people leaving out rubbish beside the bins, extra recycling in bags on the recycle collection day and general rubbish on the black/grey bin day in bags beside the bin, not supposed to be done, invariably if there is a bit of wind it just gets blown all over the place. Your fine was justified, if the OPs was anything similar, same. Cant fathom how you still dont get it??
JustAThought wrote: » I’d just be wondering how a normal family (yours) can generate enough waste to warrant putting out a half full 240 liter bin EVERY week. I put my black bin out about twice or max 3 times a year. Full. The green bin goes out every month or so.
Dodge wrote: » It wasn’t one letter. It was quite a bit of rubbish left in bags which included one letter with my address on it. I have no idea why the family that lives there didn’t deliver the letter but the fact they let so much crap outside their front door tells me they weren’t the most considerate types. The council warden’s argument was that I was dumping all this rubbish in their front yard. They had checked the garden because their next door neighbour had complained about them. I don’t know if others were fined. I just know I was because one back of rubbish had a letter with my name and address on it. You can do what you like. I was just posting to show that sometimes fines aren’t warranted and thankfully the council agreed with me and rescinded my fine
AndrewJRenko wrote: » This didn't happen.
AndrewJRenko wrote: » Flytipping happens. Flytipping organised collectively and routinely by a group of residents doesn't happen. I can't stop it happening because I don't know where/when it is happening. If you or the other poster knows where/when it is happening, a couple of phone calls to the local litter warden will get it sorted. If you don't know where/when it is happening, then it's not happening.
Galwayguy35 wrote: » What are you saying didn't happen?
1874 wrote: » Fly tipping happens, but then it doesnt? Which is it? how is this sorted with a few phonecalls? If you are omnipresent to know,why dont you just stop it in the first place?
AndrewJRenko wrote: » Fly tipping happens. This doesn't happen, and if it was, it could easily be stopped with one or two phone calls.
1874 wrote: » I wouldnt put it past some people, I have seen clearly where rubbish could only have been fired out the door of a van on numerous occasions, I even saw someone fire stuff into a canal from a moving vehicle, most managed to go in the canal, some hit the wall and went back on the path, so it does happen, I've seen it myself.
residents I know collectively organise vans to take bags of rubbish routinely and
1874 wrote: » You say you got a fine for a letter in your name delivered to your neighbour, who must have known this (and didnt pass it on to you, ok possible) but then managed to leave it in their own yard (I wouldnt say necessarily a usual way to describe a part of a garden in an estate or group of houses), and then you got fined for littering in their garden/property/yard?? How/why would a littering fine be issued for 1 letter found on private property? I don't think the Councils have that much time on their hands or your neighbours to deal with one letter.
I'm calling bull$hit here
JustAThought wrote: » some council estates Whose residents I know collectively organise vans to take bags of rubbish routinely and feck them out the sidedoor going down country lanes . disgusting behaviour.
Dodge wrote: » Just on this. A letter I was sent was mistakenly delivered to a house 4 doors down. They had rubbish out their front but I was fined as my name and address were on a letter found in their yard I contacted the council and showed a record of my bin collections to show it was collected every week (including the weight so show it wasn’t full every week) and argued that I had no reason to litter I got a letter back to say they had rescinded the fine
brian_t wrote: » Your Mother is responsible for making sure that letters addressed to her don't end up as litter. The other two individuals are equally responsible for making sure that letters addressed to them don't end up as litter. It appears that there were three identifiable people responsible for the littering.
Pinoy adventure wrote: » So the fine would be paid 3 times ? The fine is €150,so once 1 person pays the fine would the other 2 still be chased too pay the fine too ?
General Toilet wrote: » Say I as a council litter warden find a box with 3 letters inside for different people, how do I know who is responsible? 3 letters would be sent as the perpetrator is not known. Standard practice.
General Toilet wrote: » Not the case.
General Toilet wrote: » They will all get a letter from the council.
longgonesilver wrote: » Remember to close your lids!https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-40328084.html
HalfAndHalf wrote: » Gotta wonder why you brought up bins then. Yer man mentioned a cardboard box and you went into one about bins and curbs and wind and not overnight etc etc. LOL.
1874 wrote: » I checked and my council bye law says 8pm, although I read somewhere in T&Cs by my service provider, no earlier than a certain time on the day. Someone seemed up in arms about it, the bye law also refers to kerbside collection. A lot of people do put their bins out the night before, which shouldnt be a problem unless there is weather thats likely to blow bins over. It would be useful if bins were all a standard design and had a basic latch mechanism that was operated when the bin was lifted, to open the lid, so if bins get blown over they dont spill their contents. Anyway, this thread was about paying fines, either for blatant or negligent littering, not bins.
Victor wrote: » The bye-laws in Dublin City say that residents can leave out their bin from 5pm the previous day. I imagine other bye-laws are similar.