Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
blanch152 wrote: » The next election is a long way away. (1) Leo will be Taoiseach, a far better communicator than Martin (2) Green policies will be having a real positive effect
TomTomTim wrote: » I hate SF, but I'd never be able to get to the place that some people have, which is delusional support for the other side.
ineedeuro wrote: » Really? apart from the usuals who seem to lose the plot at every announcement, most people at this stage would prefer to just get the pandemic over & done with. Not having a meal inside for a few weeks is not going to massively affect them
Shebean wrote: » I think Varadkar's biggest problem is shooting his mouth off and undermining colleagues. It's his leaking or commenting out of school causes much of the confusion. He seems to want to be seen as apart from the very government he's in. Be years before we see any slim benefits from the Green watered down plans.
Fann Linn wrote: » It's affecting ograFG. They're calling for a demo. More Shinners now on the anti govt bandwagon.
jammiedodgers wrote: » Poor Marc seems to have forgotten Fianna Fail are in Government? https://twitter.com/MarcMacsharryTD/status/1409850227717251073
ineedeuro wrote: » Poor lad is rightly getting hammered, complaining when you are a TD in government about what the government are doing is very very stupid.
Marine Layer wrote: » Martin was actually very good on Six One there Explaining,levelling and answering well The logic seems clear Several countries shown on the same programme to be implementing a digital covid cert style entry to indoor dining
ineedeuro wrote: » What has "Shinners" got to do with ograFG? Wasn't it FF making the announcement this afternoon in terms of the pandemic?
jammiedodgers wrote: » Those would be the countries that planned well in advance for it and didn't leave it until the week before indoor dining was due to open to decide they might try do something about it.
Fann Linn wrote: » FF in govt with FG last I heard.Are ye trying to make some distance? And as for the 'Shinners' remark, appears to be a consensus around these parts that anyone who objects to FFG is actually in SF.
FrancieBrady wrote: » This . Donnelly was all at sea today at one. Hadn't a breeze on how it would be done. Hapless.
Marine Layer wrote: » That might be because Nphet sprung it on him last night.... Have you decided whether you're in favour of being in full alignment with nphet advice yet? I've asked a few times
Fann Linn wrote: » Problem with Nphet advice appears to be that only the cabinet have access to it. There have been calls for the last 48 hours for Nphet to publish it's data for peer review. They won't. Nphet are against Antigen testing yet never read the Govt independent review of same. Wasn't too long ago Nphet was against masks, now they are almost mandatory. Then AZ was good for OAPs, then it wasn't, then it was no use for 50 year olds, but okay for those aged 40. A representative body suggested that the Data be released to the ECDC or WHO for their analysis. A fair comment I would have thought considering the way we are operating in contrast to our EU neighbours. Will it happen? No. We'll just be left with daft Nphet advice that says it's okay for an unvaccinated 20 something to serve me a meal, but not okay for that same person to eat their own lunch on the same premises. It's a good day for the conspiracy theorists when they are rightly justified in saying that the lunatics have taken over the asylum.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Ah...so it's NPHET's fault something that has been touted, kiteflown for a while now has not been looked at? Okey dokey. :eek: I give you my answer yesterday to the question. The government should follow the health advice they receive. There is no onus or responsibility on me, an ordinary citizen to be in full alignment with NPHET or the government. (nor you either, as it happens)
Marine Layer wrote: » I didn't ask if you should be in alignment with the governments health advisors I asked you if the government should be Again no reference to nphet in the answer in case it slows maximimum warp giving out for you Its a clever but unfortunately see through use of plausible obfuscation I will say one other thing about today's announcement, there was no time for discussion as clarity on decision-making was the priority Damned if they do Damned if they don't Who'd be a government eh? Nothing but hassle
FrancieBrady wrote: » Clarity on decision making? You didn't hear Donnelly's car crash at One obviously.
Marine Layer wrote: » I'm not a fan But regardless, no one could have answers for the more contentious elements of the nphet advice without consultation He really should have been saying that Yes there's clarity, the government have said here's the position, make of it what you can restaurateurs because it's what Nphet suggests