Absolutely right - take you business elsewhere!
They`d have been taxed on profits from takings anyway.
Any business that has wages covered and are essentially being paid to keep their door shut aren`t badly off. These price hikes are simply pubs/restaurants and hotels gouging their customers.
Its across the board though. My dentists popped an E18 "Covid safety tariff" on the cost of a filling. During lockdown you had to stand outside the door (regardless of the weather) and all that was provided was hand gel. I`m at a loss to see where an E18 charge comes out of that. The best I could do is not return there and I'd suggest others do the same with any other business trying to similarly gouge.
It’s very Irish, the hotels are at the same craic too. One hand held out looking for public support and the other rummaging around in your back pocket.
they get taxed on the crss , so ain't as good as it sounds
Geuze wrote: » I was in the Olde Glen bar in Glen last year, north of Letterkenny, on back road to Carrigart. Very small village, but I don't recall Guinness being 3.90. Okay, fair enough, it's more like a food-driven pub, than a typical rural bar.
antimatterx wrote: » It's very cheeky for 6 quid to be the standard price for a pint in Dublin, especially outside the CC. Our tax money funded these pubs for more than a year, and no they're getting stuck in.
L1011 wrote: » 3.90 Guinness 4.00 everything else on draught. Most craft cans 4.00. Extremely rural Donegal so not the most comparable pricing!
twowheelsonly wrote: » AFAIK (and I stand to be corrected on this...) rates were suspended for the duration. He was laughing about it himself, thought it was great !!! (
garrettod wrote: » Hi, I think quite a lot of pubs are benefiting from financial support / incentives from Diagio etc. Didn't Diagio announce something like $100m to be used to help support pubs, a little while back, to include €14m for Irish pubs - that's a lot of free kegs? I'm sure that other big brewers are also offering supports. Its also no coincidence that almost all of the outdoor seating areas have heavy sponsorhip from Guinness, Heiniken, Corona etc. There was some grant funding made available to help pay for outdoor facilities, when food is sold - with grants of up to €4,000 available. I think there may have been additional grant supports and Covid - 19 relief supports announced seperately, for wet pubs, that can't open yet. I'm not convinced that the majority of pubs have more staff on - after all, if we follow the logic above, there are far less covers, so why have more staff serving less customers? Most pubs already had table service staff, often pay time students etc, so okay, maybe a couple more in some places, but won't they be on low wages, and hoping for tips? I also think that many of the publicans are continuing to benefit from things like tax warehousing, so they are essentially interest free loans from the taxman. They previously would have availed of wage supports etc. So, having considered all of the above, plus the fact that most of the nation are going to be trying to make up for lost time, so likely to be in the pubs as much as possible, so do the pubs really need to be pushing their prices up? Oh, I forgot to mention, most of the city pubs make a Gross Margin of about 50%, increasing to between 60%-70% for those that also sell food. That's why you rarely hear of a publican going broke!
L1011 wrote: » There was a pub in Belfast putting up something on Facebook about their pints still being cheap at "only" £4.60 (5.37) for a Guinness, this being apparently very, very cheap for Belfast.
Sleeper12 wrote: » Paid 7 euro for pint of larger in the Morgan Hotel over the weekend. I don't believe I have ever paid that much anywhere in Ireland before
irish_goat wrote: » My cousin took his ma and da to the Grand Central Hotel for a drink while they were up visiting in Belfast last weekend. A pint of Whitewater IPA was £10 (€11.65). Surely the priciest pint on the island by quite a margin.
sligojoek wrote: » I drank both and failed to see why Carlsberg was worth a euro more.
Geuze wrote: » Maybe they were in this observatory?https://www.grandcentralhotelbelfast.com/observatory/wp-content/uploads/sites/4/2021/05/HH-OBSERVATORY-BAR-MENU-MAY-2021.pdf Beer 500ml there is GBP 8.00