Furze99 wrote: » The only person who gives a toss about Bailey is himself. If he wants to clear his name, let him present himself to the French justice system. No sympathy at all for him, none.
monkeybutter wrote: » his name has been cleared in ireland why do it again given the low bar the french have set previously on the matter
CoBo55 wrote: » Well, not really, the guards made a complete hash of the investigation from the very start, it was so bad he couldn't even be changed never mind getting to court to clear his name(or not).
monkeybutter wrote: » dpp chose not to proceed due to lack of any evidence thats a better result than going to court and winning i mean even the manufactured evidence didnt stick that is name cleared
CoBo55 wrote: » Did you listen to the West Cork podcast? You might view Bailey differently after that.
nc6000 wrote: » It's very cheeky of the French really to expect him to travel there for a trial in a French court. I can't think of an example of that happening before. Extradition back to a country where a crime was committed yes but never for a crime committed in a different country. It's a slippery slope.
CoBo55 wrote: » There's no comparison between the two legal systems. They convicted a man using files that had been dismissed by our DPP, no actual evidence to speak of, he did right to stay here. Whether we like it or not everyone is entitled to due process. The French had him hung drawn and quartered before the case ever started.
Wompa1 wrote: » I have 2 episodes left to go. I hope they cover why Marie lied about seeing someone at the bridge when she called in the first time. I understand the narrative that she claims she was coerced by the Gardai to say it was him but if she didn't see anyone at the bridge why would she have called it in?....they didn't put her up to calling in did they?..I assume not, otherwise why the whole thing about not wanting to identify herself due to probably cheating on her husband. Anyway, like I said I haven't watched the last 2 episodes. Hope it gets cleared up.
MoonUnit75 wrote: » Since 2019, Ireland granted itself the power to prosecute Irish people for several types of crimes committed abroad, The Criminal Law Extraterritorial Jurisdiction Act. It’s quite not as wide ranging as the French laws but it’s the same principle.
MoonUnit75 wrote: » Ask the Gardai if he is no longer a person of interest in an unsolved murder, then we will know if his name is cleared. The DPP doesn’t decide innocence or guilt.
yourdeadwright wrote: » People are taking the mick here There's not a single person here who would jet off to a country they have never set foot in before, who have already had a court date without you and found you guilty of murdering one of there citizens who husband is also very well connected to people in power in said country just to clear your name with them You'd have to be off your absolute rocker to do that
jimwallace197 wrote: » Listening to the podcast thoroughly, you would have a high level of respect for James Hamilton who was the dpp at the time. He stood up to the gards and the French farce that was ongoing aswell. He comes across very well. Articulate & reasonable in his points. I seriously doubt our current DPP, Claire Loftus would be so brave.
Gussie Scrotch wrote: » And neither do the Gardai.
diceyreilly wrote: » Do Gardai give out this information to randomers
Weddings ahoy wrote: » After watching the sky series, reading Nick foster's book and re listening to the podcast, I'm still none the wiser, IB is guilty of inserting himself front and center in this case from the beginning and almost at times detracting from the fact a young mother was brutally murdered, which leads me to wholly dislike his character never mind the beatings he gave JT , an absolute animal how he treated her at times...he comes across to me as egocentric and someone who clearly has no issue beating women, but guilty of murder ??? The fact there was no physical evidence at the scene, the missing gate, the witness tampering with MF all leaves a bad taste, however the scratches on IB the lack of Alibi, the numerous references (jokes )that he went there and bashed her head in, the fact he is adamant he never met her when AL said he was 90% sure he had introduced them, the fact Sophie was exactly the type of person IB would gravitate to being a documentary film maker and poet, Will we ever know why she put her boots on that night and left her house ?? I really hope all the recent coverage on this case jogs someone's memory they can place someone a stranger, a local, a car , a conversation anything, because watching her poor family especially her dad was heartbreaking ...
Gussie Scrotch wrote: » I'd agree with most of this. the part I find most difficult to accept though, is the loss and destruction of crucial evidence and the Guards seeming reluctance to demand the identity of MF's companion. This companion was critical to the case insofar as he could corroborate or refute MF's claims. Why just accept her refusal to name him? The only reason I can think of was that they were protecting one of their own. I don't think IB did it. I think he's an obnoxious, self important wife beating loser and probably brought a lot of this on himself. But I can't see a reason for him to have killed Sophie. And the actions of the Gardai reek of an attempted stitch-up / cover up.
MoonUnit75 wrote: » From what I can make out from the articles and books, she said she would withdraw her statements if they pursued the question of who she was with. I wonder what colour and make of car she drove at the time?