Tony H wrote: » just pre covid I booked an overnight stay for my wifes 60th birthday in a famous Dingle hotel , 4 of us went and it cost the guts of 650 euro for bed and breakfast , crazy expensive but she didn't want fuss with a party and I thought it would be worth it , IT WAS'NT , .... Guess the Hotel ?
dobman88 wrote: » So if people keep returning and know the service is below what they expect they've only got themselves to blame really. Add in the fact that the OP didnt tell whatever place he visited that he wasnt happy with the service so they dont have that feedback to improve on.
dobman88 wrote: » It's not against forum rules. We've already mentioned that The Shire and Cronins would be known for being a bit shìte. It's a review. Not an attack. Fair play for saying it at the time. Many people dont and just complain (in vain) on sites like this. You've given the feedback so it's up to them to take it on board. As you say they didnt care, I'd just never go back there again. You've literally got 100s of places to choose from so wouldn't let 1 place ruin your experience of an entire county.
SouthWesterly wrote: » I never mentioned who it was because its against forum rules. I said it at the time and they didn't care. I left it with TripAdvisor and the fsai in the case of cone selling establishment. Dont hate kerry. I chose to live here having relocated.
dobman88 wrote: » So if people keep returning and know the service is below what they expect they've only got themselves to blame really. Add in the fact that the OP didnt tell whatever place he visited that he wasnt happy with the service so they dont have that feedback to improve on. If I went somewhere with poor service, id mention it to staff. I'd visit again and if it was still bad, I'd not return. Repeatedly going somewhere that is providing a poor service to you seems mental, despite what the landscape has to offer. There are comparable landscapes all along the west coast also tbf.
John_Rambo wrote: » Absolutely, most of the rest of the country does it better. But there's a unique attraction to the landscape and seascape of Kerry that keeps people coming.
Stihl waters wrote: » Yes, we all do that, all 5 million of us :rolleyes:
dobman88 wrote: » Yet they all go there for a break away and complain like there are no other choices in the country :rolleyes:
dobman88 wrote: » All fair points but in a thread where people are complaining that the hospitality service they received was below the expected standards, there are loads more options to choose from throughout the country where they may get the level of service expected.
John_Rambo wrote: » No. People love Kerry, it's truly stunning. This thread isn't about Kerry. It's about hospitality services in Kerry. There isn't a Carrauntoohill in every county, there isn't a Skellig Michael in every county. They're all unique offering different things. People choose to go to Kerry, not for the hospitality, but for the other unique experiences it has to offer.
sheesh wrote: » wow people really hate kerry.
BPKS wrote: » Then some of the same people giving out that Kerry was a rip off were bemoaning that there are no Michilin restaurants in Kerry
byhookorbycrook wrote: » €300? Where ? We eat out in Dingle quite a lot and don’t stint on the menu choices and drinks , but have never paid anything close to that . Can you name the restaurants you have paid this kind of price in ?
The DayDream wrote: » And people wonder why service industry workers would rather stay on the PUP than go back to work and deal with Karens like this getting their knickers in a twist over someone touching their fkin ice cream cone.
Tilikum17 wrote: » Just spent the last two days in Killarney. I’ve never seen anything like the bar staff/waitressing. Absolutely horrendous. I thought London was ****e. The bars are so bad that when they’d eventually come to take your order I’d get two pints at a time. It wasn’t for lack of staff either. Even trying to pay a bill. I had to ask in one place 3 times for the bill. We had breakfast yesterday morning in “the shire” lovely looking place tbf. 50 minutes after sitting down our breakfast arrived. The place was half empty at that stage. The lady says “so sorry the wait, you won’t be charged for your coffees, would you like another? Herself says “yes please” The coffee never arrived. Surely to God you make sure that customer is sorted after all that - no. I genuinely never complain anywhere. I just put up with it but I had to let people know just how bad the service is. Killarney is beautiful though. We had dinner in “Rob’s Ranch” the 2nd night. That was excellent but every other bar/restaurant was shocking.
fits wrote: » Idás it was called.
lawrencesummers wrote: » Global village? Or the shack down by the marina?
fits wrote: » I’m trying to remember the name of that brilliant restaurant in Dingle. Had one of the best meals of my life in it. It didn’t have a star. They opened two years too early I’d say. Would be flying now. And was definitely a candidate for a star I go to Dingle at least twice a year and have done so all my life. It is expensive now if you want to eat out every night but there are some very good restaurants. We don’t really eat out often so don’t pay too much attention to price when we do.
embraer170 wrote: » Was there not a Michelin star place in Dingle until a few years ago. I seem to recall it was a French chef who specialised in local produce with some foraging etc. Or maybe I am remembering wrongly and it was a Bib Gourmand? I saw that Giovannelli‘s in Killorglin’s seems to be gone (place cleared out). It had a decent reputation so I wonder what happened.
BPKS wrote: » Had to laugh at this. People here complaining about high prices in Kerry are now bemoaning the fact that there are no restaurants in Kerry where you won't get much change out of €300 for a meal for two.