Smee_Again wrote: » In public it’s grand. Mostly. From behind a bush and into their bedroom, not so legal.
bobbyss wrote: » If there are no signs saying eg authorised personnel only, can you go into the car park of a garda station and take photos of garda cars and photo what's inside? If you can't what is the law prohibiting that?
Snotty wrote: » To answer the OPs question, no it is not illegal. If your neighbour found out that the pictures where used for some reason like storing information on the family or they were published somewhere, then yes your neighbour could take some recourse, but ignoring all the rubbish posted previously, it is not illegal for someone to take your picture in a public area if its not covert and the pictures are not being used for anything.
cnocbui wrote: » So long as a photographer is standing on their own, or public property, they can take photos of anything they can see. It's not unknown for th Guards and police in many countries to imagine they have powers that they don't in relation to photography.
RobbieMD wrote: » They can take photos of anything they can see alright, but they may well be committing an offence.
Snotty wrote: That would be private property. And obviously if taking pictures of the insides of garda cars would aid with some crime you could be charge with perverting the course of justice, but I'm not entirely sure why someone would photograph garda cars anyway
bobbyss wrote: » If a car park in a garda station is private property, who would be the owner?
cnocbui wrote: » Such as?
GM228 wrote: » As others have correctly stated it is not illegal (an offence) to take a photograph of someone (either in public or in private), however, the story does not end there. It is a very commonly held belief that anyone in public for example can be photographed, that it is fair game and often the freedom of expression/freedom of the press is used as a just excuse, that could not be further from the truth. You have a reasonable expectation of privacy (even when out in public) and there has been many cases where peoples rights have been breached, not just in a private setting, but also where photographs have been taken of them in public, you have a reasonable expectation of privacy and protection of your private life (this includes when in a public place and even if for example you are famous and in the public eye), in other words your right to privacy (even in public) will often trump any claimed freedom of expression or public interest, even when your well known.
RobbieMD wrote: » An under age child naked in public or private is still child pornography. That the photographer took it from a public place doesn’t change that it’s an offence.
GM228 wrote: » You have a reasonable expectation of privacy (even when out in public)
Snotty wrote: » it is not illegal for someone to take your picture in a public area if its not covert
bobbyss wrote: » If there are no signs saying eg authorised personnel only, can you go into the car park of a garda station and take photos of garda cars and photo what's inside?
cnocbui wrote: » Lol. If it was a public beach, I doubt it. I have some shocking family photos in that case, taken by some ridiculously upstanding citizens.
RobbieMD wrote: » So it would be ok for a 50yr old man in a van to take a photograph of a naked 15yr girl changing on a beach?
[Deleted User] wrote: » I do love the age and mode of transport being included. Trying to portray an image. :rolleyes: Why can't it be a 15 year old boy taking a selfie on his phone? It's the same situation either way..
The Supreme Court has quashed the conviction of a Nelson man who successfully argued taking photos of bikini-clad teenage girls on a beach was not indecent. Graham Thomas Rowe, 61,was originally convicted for doing an indecent act with intent to insult. But in quashing the conviction all five Supreme Court justices ruled in favour of Rowe's argument that taking snaps of young girls on Kaiteriteri beach, near Nelson, was not a crime. While agreeing with Nelson Judge Tony Zohrab's description of Rowe's behaviour as "creepy", Justice William Young said it hadn't constituted an offence.
cnocbui wrote: The state - which does not automatically make it public.
cnocbui wrote: » I'd say most people would find that behaviour creepy and offensive, but at the same time, as an amateur photographer, I'd say it was legal and should remain so.
magicbastarder wrote: » at what point does this sort of behaviour become upskirting though?
bobbyss wrote: » Can you expand on that? I thought a garda station was a public place where i am allowed to enter.
cnocbui wrote: » I'd say most people would find that behaviour creepy and offensive, but at the same time, as an amateur photographer, I'd say it was legal and should remain so. Here is how something less extreme played out in NZ:https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/104891606/supreme-court-rules-in-favour-of-kaiteriteri-bikinisnapper
RobbieMD wrote: » Your article is of “bikini clad” girls not naked girls. They are not equivalent examples to compare. I’m slightly disturbed that you would think it should be legal though.
bigdaddymac wrote: » Neighbour of mine told me that recently another man appeared to take photos of my neighbour and two of of his kids. Reasons unknown but apparently this picture esc taken in a public street So my neighbour is obviously not impressed but the question remains is the illegal or legal ?