Gamb!t wrote: » There should be an investigation into the Guards mishandling of this case along with all of the above.
MoonUnit75 wrote: » I think GSOC did investigate the case as well as the civil action Bailey took against them for wrongful arrest, which he lost.
MoonUnit75 wrote: » Maybe it developed that way, but her original disclosures were the most crucial and she gave these anonymously, the gardai only managed to track her down when she made the mistake of ringing from her home phone instead of the payphones she had been using.
RurtBeynolds wrote: » Haven't read the thread, how are people rating this?
Polly701 wrote: » Sophie and her housekeeper (Josie?) suspected someone may have been using the house when she was away. Was this ever explored? Perhaps this person turned up and there was an alteration? I don't believe it was IB. The Guards in this case were really out of their depth.
chooseusername wrote: » Chances are there were a few calls , some would be anonymous, some would point to Bailey, changing her name and getting called on crimewatch had her hooked. (I can't remember her reason for doing that) She was now important and got swept up in the media frenzy . Then the gardai found her and realised she could be manipulated and so it started..
monkeybutter wrote: » https://magill.ie/archive/falsely-fingering-sophies-killer Interesting timeline on what she actually said and when Sounds less mental than the coverage after would make it out
Xander10 wrote: » Key bits: He said, "I know it was you who saw me at Kealfadda bridge but I did not murder her ....." "There is just one thing I need you to do for me, if you do this I will never ask you to do anything else. Just go on tape and say the detectives made you make a false statement about me". She replied, according to Marie Farrell's statement, "Ian would you **** off".
Xander10 wrote: » Key bits: He said, "I know it was you who saw me at Kealfadda bridge but I did not murder her ....."
nc6000 wrote: » So she did see him out there but also saw some other guy across from her shop when Sophie was in there?
afkasurfjunkie wrote: » I’d still have my doubts that it was IB and the sky doc hasn’t lessened them. I’m thinking JS may not be the best on camera for a documentary however he knows what he is doing behind the camera and I think some parts of it show us some glimpses of the real IB. Especially in the last episode. For example there’s a clip where the chickens get into his shed while the camera is focused on Jules gardening. IB is shouting for her to come and get them. She literally drops all and rushes to him. I found it quite unsettling. It was like she didn’t want him to get any angrier. He had quite the temper on him. Can you imagine what he was like when he put her in hospital? Also, I noticed lots of shots where she would be pottering away in what looked like their kitchen. It looked bright, warm and cozy. She looked at ease there. It contrasted well with the garage where IB gave a lot of his interviews and sound bytes and stored his boxes of files. The garage looked messy, cluttered, dark and chaotic. I think it showed the growing discord between them as a couple which came across clearly in other scenes like where they were watching tv together. Also what was the pliers scene about? That was freaky. The man is unhinged. Were we seeing this dark, twisted side to him that he tries to laugh off as his sense of humour? JS says at one stage that IB is like an actor paying a part at times. I think he is a guilty man playing the part of an innocent man. It’s clearly taken it’s toll over the years.
fryup wrote: » i wouldn't be surprised to wake some morning to the news that's he's topped himself, he looks like he's at the end of his tether
[Deleted User] wrote: » If he hasn't done it the past 20 years no reason he will do it now. Having said that he has lost his home but through the new documentaries has also gained worldwide fame. Men on death row attract a certain type of women so mister Bailey might be allright. Although from the interviews I've heard from him lately he does not seem interested in playing the game any more. I wish him well, I don't believe he killed that poor woman.
Xander10 wrote: » It wasn't his home. Where does he live now btw?