Shelga wrote: » I wondered this too. When watching Pierre Louis I thought- has he ever, for a moment, allowed himself to sit with the possibility that it wasn’t Ian Bailey who killed his mother? It doesn’t seem like he has, despite extremely flimsy evidence. It’s like they just need something to work towards, something to focus on, rather than the agony of being back to square one with no suspects, no evidence, no leads. I don’t know how any of us would feel until we are in a similar situation (god forbid).
nc6000 wrote: » Hopefully it does cause them problems and at the very least they should have to explain how they made such a balls of this investigation.
StupidLikeAFox wrote: » Ian Bailey said the case is being reviewed on twitter yesterday:https://twitter.com/IanKennethBail1/status/1408320009504542722?s=19
TomOnBoard wrote: » Yeah, WoW! Truly believable Twitter account! Anyone wonder why THE Ian Bailey would suddenly start tweeting malarkey in June 2021??? Anyone? Yeah, Ian! About as credible as all the other oul' ****e!
StupidLikeAFox wrote: » Maybe he set up a twitter account to capitalise on the new found interest in his case? You know, due to the documentary we are all talking about?
Yurt! wrote: » Where were you on the night of the 23rd of December 1996? I have it that a local spotted you in the vicinity of the cottage wearing a long black coat. She's even willing to give a statement to the Guards to that effect and I've tipped off the Cork Examiner to your presence near the scene. I'd advise you to check tomorrow's edition. You see how this works? *I'm not seriously accusing you of anything btw, merely illustrating how one's 'innocence' can be stripped away when we play fast and loose with these things.
Deleted User wrote: » Was thinking about this earlier too, the gap between the Irish version and the French version, and where did that cultural differences come from? I believe it's not a French/Irish issue at all, it's a class issue! These people are the French elite. They are the ruling class, Jacquie Chirac, multi millionaire, film producers but name a film they made. As any son I have ultimate sympathy for the grieving elderly parents. But the blinkered establishment view is them versus us. They want Bailey's head on a plate. Even though, be in no doubt, they understand he most likely is innocent.
bugsyb4 wrote: » My opinion from watching it is that he didn't have anything to do with the murder and at the time was an eccentric who loved the attention and probably thought let them have me as a suspect until they actually arrest the real killer and it will all blow over in a few weeks/months, how wrong he was!!
fryup wrote: » yep, thats the way i see it too, i'm the no1 suspect so i might as well play the part of the eccentric englishman the town character...sarcastically go around town proclaiming "i smashed her brains in" "talk to my lawyers" ...play it up till they catch the real culprit, but little did he know that all these years later he'll still be the no1 suspect
Deleted User wrote: » the only scenarios left are a bit outlandish. Affairs..angry tradesmen.
fryup wrote: » yep, thats the way i see it too, i'm the no1 suspect so i might as well play the part of the eccentric englishman the town character...sarcastically go around town proclaiming "i smashed her brains in" "talk to my lawyers" ...play it up till the catch the real culprit, but little did he know
chooseusername wrote: » If he is innocent then it backfired badly on him.
chooseusername wrote: » I remember the case in Bristol where the press honed in on Christopher Jefferies for the murder of a young woman in Bristol. He was labelled the "nutty professor ", "professor strange" etc. He did look strange ;long scraggy hair, sometimes tinted blue. A 65 year old bachelor, retired lecturer who gave the press some great headlines. He was the exact opposite of Ian Bailey, introverted, loner who kept himself to himself. The press had charged him, tried him and found him guilty simply on his appearance and behaviour. He was arrested on suspicion but was cleared . Unlike the Bailey fiasco, the police had not fixated on Jefferies and eventually the killer was found and Jailed. There was a 2 part BBC tv program made about the treatment of Jefferies at the time . Here's a Guardian article on the story.https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2014/dec/07/-sp-peter-morgan-christopher-jefferies-tv-drama-joanna-yeates
[Deleted User] wrote: » If you write off Bailey as a potential killer, as I have after looking at the availabile evidence.....
fryup wrote: » and if he's guilty then he must have a backbone made from titanium, cause there's no way anyone could go through the amount of scrutiny and focus he has without cracking
tdf7187 wrote: » The amount of nonsense being talked on this thread. Commonsense suggests a crime of passion, my take is it was either Bailey or another bloke she'd turned down, it wasn't some randomer or a tradesman or a mysterious well-connected senior garda (not that AGS aren't involved in corruption, some of them clearly are). Simple as. Most likely Bailey but there isn't enough evidence against him, fair enough.
FrankN1 wrote: » Maybe the reason she was down near the gate was to let a car in or out? It was open the next morning... Also did they not DNA test the two glasses of wine?
irishgeo wrote: » Never mind that they found male DNA on her body and blood on a boot and seemingly never done anything with it.https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/ian-bailey-pleads-new-garda-24157056
Xander10 wrote: » because you find him unlikeable does not amount to evidence that he carried out a murder.
CoBo55 wrote: » Unless you're a French judge.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » If I recall from the West Cork podcast technology was not good enough to do anything with DNA off the boot at the time, but when they retested it years later the best they could get was that it was an unidentified male.
Champagne Sally wrote: » Is it established that the murder was committed by a male? Could it have been a female?