I told ya wrote: » I'll bow to your superior knowledge of the hitman trade:). Could be a woman warning her off her husband/partner and got out of hand. All joking aside, I don't know. I would suspect that a lot of people's view would be coloured by what they see on TV/films, read in books, etc. In a lot of cases the facts of what happened are not spectacular.Shocking that the Gardai are never held to account.
jimwallace197 wrote: » I think a hitmans main concerns are getting in and out cleanly & silently. No witnesses and and no dna/fingerprints etc. How the crime scene will look to garda siochana would be low down on the list of priorities I'd say. I'd imagine a silencer being used to put a bullet in her head would be the preferred method & in a location more isolated than where she was was. I really dont think the crime scene would have ended up like it was if it was a hitman and if he was staging it or covering it up, why didnt he move her body back to the house where it would have been another few days before she was found. Buying himself a lot more time. The manner of the death and the location of the body leads me to believe it was definitely a crime in the heat of the moment by someone possibly rejected who is most likely local but definitely Irish. Someone not used to killing and who was probably high on drink or drugs at the time.
monkeybutter wrote: » Don't even need a map, but there were maps back then I believe Just simple directions will get you there 1. Take the road west out of schull 2. turn right at Kealfadda bridge, before the OSKA store 3. second left road easy peasy it was harder to find stuff in a city than out in the country
odyssey06 wrote: » Well, the last thing I'd expect a hitman hired in this case to do is make it look like a clinical mafia style hit because then it would point towards the husband hiring someone in such an obvious way even to the Gardai here. No, they would make it look more like a robbery \ assault that went out of control scenario. It would have to have some element of 'messiness'. But this seems too far to the other extreme.
jimwallace197 wrote: » You're expecting a lot from a hitman there. His main concern is not getting caught himself, not trying to protect some director from how it would look like to the police. He's paid to a job, kill, not stage a crime scene in such a way that it looks like a crime of passion. You must have met some very skilled hitman. Also, it still begs the question, why on earth didnt he move the body back to the house. Would have bought him days to get out of the country or otherwise. Little did he know the garda investigation would have been so incompetent as to buy him so much time.
jimwallace197 wrote: » You're expecting a lot from a hitman there. His main concern is not getting caught himself, not trying to protect some director from how it would look like to the police. He's paid to a job, kill, not stage a crime scene in such a way that it looks like a crime of passion. You must have met some very skilled hitman.Also, it still begs the question, why on earth didnt he move the body back to the house. Would have bought him days to get out of the country or otherwise. Little did he know the garda investigation would have been so incompetent as to buy him so much time.
Mackinac wrote: » Re the Garda investigation, corruption disguised as incompetence maybe?
Addle wrote: » I find it so odd that her son has kept the house. I can’t imagine feeling at ease there.
JimmyVik wrote: » Youve obviously never tried to carry a blood dripping dead body that far have you
jimwallace197 wrote: » Well, after reading, listening & watching a lot of content on the case, my conclusion would be that it was most likely a senior garda who has now since passed away from the area. It would explain the gross incompetence & cover ups that went on. No one is unlikely to ever find out the truth though.
chooseusername wrote: » [/B] Or the pathologist for not attending for nearly a day and a half.
monkeybutter wrote: » if you were a member of the force, would you try to protect another member who had murdered someone? I mean there were a fair few people involved in this
jimwallace197 wrote: » Well, after reading, listening & watching a lot of content on the case, my conclusion would be that it was most likely a senior garda who has now since passed away from the area. It would explain the gross incompetence & cover ups that went on. No one is likely to ever find out the truth though.
jimwallace197 wrote: » No obviously:) but if you were to argue that point. Why not even throw her someone more discreet, rather than leaving her on the side of the road for anyone to see.
Gussie Scrotch wrote: » The most shocking aspect of this affair is the amount of forensic evidence that was lost, not preserved or destroyed. At the very least, it may have eliminated IB ( or incriminated him) and at best, maybe identified the attacker. Blood and fingerprints on the gate, blood on the door, fingerprints on the wineglass, fingerprints on the winebottle, hair in Sophies hand ( said to be her own, but afaik no proper dna analysis done. I think that any one of the above would have provided a lead. But no, all lost or destroyed. Why?
jimwallace197 wrote: » Mightn't necessarily be trying to protect him but concerned about your own self if you did come forward. We all know what happened to whistle blowers in recent times in the force, can you imagine what it must have been like back then. Also, only a few may have known and they may have lead the case where they wanted it to go. Lower down officers would have followed the orders of the more senior ones, clean that, get rid of that, speak to that person etc. etc. probably not knowing what they were doing. Also this senior gard may have had dirt on other gards that they didnt want that coming out and were intimidated into helping the cover up. Maybe he said Sophie attacked him & he was acting in self defence initially. Its hard to know obviously but I just think the behavior of the gards is too suspect in this case to be put down to sheer incompetence.
chooseusername wrote: » Having said that it appears the Pathology dept. was as much a shambles as Schull Gardai.https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-20251448.html
Deleted User wrote: » Bashing someone over the head 50 times with a cement block would take serious hate/rage. Not sure heat of the moment or someone just snapping would have gone that far.
monkeybutter wrote: » its a fairly unlikely scenario though right as unlikely as the hitman scenario, ask Catherine Nevin about hitmen
Addle wrote: » 50 times though…
monkeybutter wrote: » lads this had gotten way too hollywood and not the County Down one neither
machiavellianme wrote: » So the Wicklow one?