Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
blanch152 wrote: » Seriously, dude? What sort of stuff are you reading?
ineedeuro wrote: » I think it is called www.sinnfein.ie
Shebean wrote: » It's not a conspiracy theory. It's not happening, currently. It could easily. It's happened in the past. Just occurred to me if it became subject to redevelopment they'd be at each others throats trying to snag it. It's their nature, based on past events.
ooter wrote: » https://twitter.com/paddycosgrave/status/1408386432499073031?s=19
Shebean wrote: » If the Rotunda hospital relocated. There would be development land in the heart of the city. FF and FG would kill each other trying to make off it. FF and FG love making money for their associates. It would be a sight to behold.
blanch152 wrote: » Be serious lads. Half-baked conspiracy theories about Ministers profiting off the move of the Rotunda is comical stuff.
Floppybits wrote: » They would get repetitive strain injuries in their eyes and necks from the nodding and winking and not forgetting the paper cuts from the opening the auld brown envelopes.
Shebean wrote: » Ministers are historically reluctant to make us aware of such dealings. Based on their party reputations.
AlmightyCushion wrote: » Such nonsense. There is already tonnes of development land in the city centre. Why aren't they doing it over that land already?
ineedeuro wrote: » ?? What are you talking about?
Shebean wrote: » Imagine if they did move, FF and FG tripping each other up and throwing digs to be in charge of any new development on the Rotunda grounds.
FullyComp wrote: » https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-20339995.html Mr Varadkar said the original proposal to relocate the hospitals did not come from himself or Ms Burton — it came from the board of the Rotunda and the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, their academic partners.
ineedeuro wrote: » Ask the Rotunda and see what the answer is to that. They have plans of their own and it ain't moving from current location so it doesn't matter what Leo wants
FullyComp wrote: » I think there is a plan to move the rotunda to blanch eventually and the Coombe to James
Floppybits wrote: » You would have to follow the money. I think most of us are baffled by that.
Cluedo Monopoly wrote: » Rome is very good at negotiations.https://twitter.com/SocDems/status/1407638150449709066 FFG is clearly afraid of religious orders.
Calhoun wrote: » I am surprised they are not making more hay with this, the should look to legislate and break the hold the church has over these institutions. As floppybits says follow they money, there is allot of redress owed from the Catholic church and nows the time to start going in for the kill.
ineedeuro wrote: » I still am baffled by the decision to move all of these services to Vincents instead of into Blanchardstown and onto land the government already owned.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Can anyone explain why the former Taoiseach and current Tanaiste and the entire government only became 'concerned' about the ownership of the site of the National Maternity Hospital THIS WEEK? Something obscenely incompetent in that to me anyhow.
ineedeuro wrote: » Election is what 4 or 5 years away? Not sure if an opinion poll now is really relevant I don’t “support” the government. It’s what we have at the moment. The original point was that housing is a huge critical issue that will make it break the next election. I don’t think it will be. The next point was we should just build loads of houses, personally I think this is an idiotic approach as we should be building apartments and not houses. Plus we should be moving to a full rental model in cities like Dublin. If you want to buy a house move out to the countryside It’s a discussion, do I expect the government to implement? No I don’t. They will follow the popular short term build more houses
titan18 wrote: » https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thelocal.de/20140519/elderly-germans-stay-on-in-jobs/%3famp I mean Germany as it was used as an example have lots of their elderly continuing to work. I know from having visited there, you tend to see elderly working in supermarkets or collecting bottles in the street to get the money from returning them. That's not exactly something we should be aspiring too.
ineedeuro wrote: » People all over the World rent their entire life, are you saying people in other European countries are thrown out at 65 because they can't afford rent? Yes rent is crazy now, but instead of concentrating on building houses to "fix" the problem. We should be fixing the long term rental issue and not building houses to buy at all.
Calhoun wrote: » Exactly and we are talking about the current governments approach to future elections based on opinion polls and potential issues that will hamper them and why. Are they though? they have made quite a few political faux pas the past year or so, not to mention the performance from Darragh with his most reason housing bill. Honestly i am not sure what your trying to say, its like your being as equally as supportive of the government as you are critical of them. The simplest answer is more houses do need to be built, there are no silver bullets here. A more nuanced answer is to stop relying solely on private investors to build our housing infrastructure, combined with tax measures on vacant homes ect. However any opposition looking at it as long as they are not FF/FG will be given a pass for a while until they have a hang on it the existing two parties though will be treated harsher because they have been at it for so long.