Sadb wrote: » You’d be surprised! But there was definitely at least another one. Why didn’t they go to her house?
Castlekeeper wrote: » The randy garda, now deceased, is the only local theory that ever made sense to me, IB seems to gain some satisfaction from being the a red herring all these years.
Cona44 wrote: » How do u know Bailey knew the one other french person. He later said he was aware Alfie Lyons had a french neighbour so he went there first. Jules went to take photos as she was a photographer. Personally I see nothing wrong with this. He was the local journalist and there was a murder on his doorstep. Seems normal to me that he would be all over it.
Sadb wrote: » Why exactly would guards need a statement from people that were at a party months before that Bailey also attended? He strikes me as a person that attended the opening of an envelope so nothing strange or particular about that party.
Cona44 wrote: » If you read the DPPs report, it becomes clear they that office is certain that the guards were trying to stitch Bailey up on every turn possible.
upupup wrote: » Here is the 2001 dpp filehttps://www.documentcloud.org/documents/540818-83548065-sophie-toscan-du-plantier-dpp-file-2001.html
monkeybutter wrote: » That's 5 years after the event and what have an garda done in the meantime? SFA The amount of stuff they must have messed up and covered up over the years
awec wrote: » What can they do? The case was messed up on day 1 by the original investigative team, they have very little to build on. Barring a remarkable stroke of fortune no new evidence will come to light in this case, all that will be gathered is more differing versions of events. I think that the only way we'll ever find out who killed her is if the killer suddenly confesses, and that's assuming they are still alive themselves.
monkeybutter wrote: » go back, re-interview everyone, check up on others in the vicinity that they would have ignored due to being too busy trying to frame someone else for it, its not like they investigated it at all the first time The writing was on a wall way before 2001 on this, yet instead sure lets do nothing do an independent inquiry into who made the evidence disappear and then follow up on this, id assume tampering with evidence is a crime and so is destroying it, yet nothing
AdrianG08 wrote: » Exactly. Who made a big blood stained gate go missing for starters. Events around that shouldn't be too hard to determine. And why it went missing may raise some questions. Reading Gemma O'Dohertys piece (and no doubt its laced with unsubstantiated claims about Gardai against whom she has her own gripes) but if even half of it was truthful its quite astonishing.
yourdeadwright wrote: » Can't re-interview people now its nearly 30 years ago , There been so much media attention , Podcast , documentaries and everything , Peoples memory's of events would be a mix of everything they have heard in the last 30 years & what they witnessed After that length of time you memory is literally a memory of a memory & can be very wrong
Bannasidhe wrote: » I agree. I wrote down what I remembered soon after the events and possibly still have that shoved away somewhere, but now all I remember are things like not being able to find Alfie's, how damn slow he always was getting food out but usually worth it when it finally turned up - this time he burnt the food and had the absolute sh*te taken out of him for the rest of the day, a very stoned big bloke with a black beard waffling on and on about himself, and a very brief exchange about the owner of the house along the boreen. I'd be hard pressed now to tell you exactly who was there - it would be 'that woman who owned that restaurant in Schull dunno the name of it ...and her son'.
Cona44 wrote: » Is there anyway to corroborate the DNA that was identified? The gate, the bushes, Sophie’s nails etc, I find it hard to believe that they never found any other DNA other than Sophie’s. I don’t know the chain of command and how it works but was it possible that the DNA report was covered up? Sounds implausible but I guess anything was possible.
monkeybutter wrote: » where was the gate, way too large to just lose, stored and who the feck took it
SoulWriter wrote: » surely there must be a limited number of places you would store a gate.It must have been taken on a truck or tractor trailer, maybe some contractor who does work for the garda. They must know if they had something big like that today what they would do with it
Biker79 wrote: » Might also explain how she went from being a competent award winning investigative journalist, to being cancelled as an outcast. It was a remarkable transition.
sydthebeat wrote: » cancelled as an outcast?? shes a vile evil racist homophobe, who did vile evil racist homophobic things. no one to blame but herself