AndrewJRenko wrote: » I'm guessing character testimonials are acceptable for some other sentencing? If so, it's questionable that there should be a difference here. Is there any foundation for your guess?
I'm guessing character testimonials are acceptable for some other sentencing? If so, it's questionable that there should be a difference here.
iptba wrote: » I clearly wrote a question saying I wasn't definite. However, if it was the case, it would mean that character testimonials were only possible before the sentencing of sexual crimes .... ..
M’lud, I have here a glowing account of my client’s character from his employer. Judge: don’t waste the court’s time! But M’lud, my client is a convicted rapist. Judge: Oh, I do apologise. I thought this was a robbery case. Well, of course we must hear anything good that can be said of your rapist client!
Despite the importance of free speech, Justice Julia Lonergan said she would issue an injunction because the woman's claims were untrue.
It was a consensual, passionate relationship that left the woman feeling disempowered when it ended.
Caquas wrote: » Two years with one suspended for “coercion”. He was accused of asking an 11 year old girl to go for a walk in the woods. No threats, no bribes, no abusive language, no touching. Just an invitation. No criminal record and the victim’s family did not want a custodial sentence. He wants to go home to Sweden. But now he will spend a year in the tender, loving care of our prison service, emerging no doubt as a fine, upright citizen free from the crippling social difficulties which led him to a solitary existence.https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/courtandcrime/arid-40311713.html He would have got much the same sentence if he had stabbed her a few times (non-fatally).https://www.corkbeo.ie/news/local-news/cork-man-who-stabbed-son-20566261
Quantum Erasure wrote: » Every time this thread pops up on the front page, I'm amused by the way the title is worded....
Caquas wrote: » Two years with one suspended for “coercion”. He was accused of asking an 11 year old girl to go for a walk in the woods. No threats, no bribes, no abusive language, no touching. Just an invitation. No criminal record and the victim’s family did not want a custodial sentence. He wants to go home to Sweden. But now he will spend a year in the tender, loving care of our prison service, emerging no doubt as a fine, upright citizen free from the crippling social difficulties which led him to a solitary existence.https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/courtandcrime/arid-40311713.html [/URL]
bubblypop wrote: » What exactly are you looking for here? A bigger sentence or a lesser one? I'm unsure from reading your post
Caquas wrote: » I’m pointing out the extraordinary inconsistency between the two sentences by the same judge. In one case, a man with a long history of crime stabs his own son eight times and gets 2.5 years Now we have a man with no criminal record who is given 2 years with one suspended for “coercion” which is a new concept in our law but which, it seems, covers inviting a young girl to go for a walk in the woods. I’m not trying to justify or minimise his behaviour and I assume there is more to this than we read in the media but, even on the bare facts, there is a serious problem of inconsistency in our criminal courts. There is also a serious issue about this new crime. When it was introduced, we were told it was to protect people from controlling and abusive partners but the defendant practically a stranger to this girl. Surely this man needs help but he will not get it in our prisons.
Caquas wrote: » There is also a serious issue about this new crime. When it was introduced, we were told it was to protect people from controlling and abusive partners but the defendant in this case was practically a stranger to the girl.
iptba wrote: » I'm confused by that also.
One eyed Jack wrote: » The confusion arises from the fact that Caquas is confusing the offence of Coercion under the Non-fatal Offences Against the Person Act 1997, with the offence of Coercive Control under the Domestic Violence Act 2018.
9.—(1) A person who, with a view to compel another to abstain from doing or to do any act which that other has a lawful right to do or to abstain from doing, wrongfully and without lawful authority— (a) uses violence to or intimidates that other person or a mem- ber of the family of the other, or (b) injures or damages the property of that other, or (c) persistently follows that other about from place to place, or (d) watches or besets the premises or other place where that other resides, works or carries on business, or happens to be, or the approach to such premises or place, or (e) follows that other with one or more other persons in a dis- orderly manner in or through any public place,
Caquas wrote: » You’re right. Mea culpa but that charge seems bizarre. I’ve never heard of a case like this being treated as Coercion under under the 1997 Act and I can’t see how it fits this case. What compulsion was involved? Which of the sub paragraphs (a) to (e) apply here? There was no suggestion of threat or pressure or inducements. He did visit a public park on a few occasions when she was playing. He did not “follow her about from place to place”. Surely he is not deemed to be “watching and besetting”? That would be big news to our trade unions! Perhaps the media reports omitted a vital aspect of the evidence but we can only discuss what we know about the case.
Caquas wrote: » You’re right. Mea culpa but that charge seems bizarre. I’ve never heard of a case like this being treated as Coercion under under the 1997 Act and I can’t see how it fits this case.
One eyed Jack wrote: » bubblypop to her credit has far more patience than I do, but if you’d even read your own article, you would have seen that he was charged with committing the offence of coercion under the NFOAP Act, and why -Det. Garda Murphy described the charge as one of coercion, brought under the Non-fatal Offences Against the Person Act, the particulars stating that the defendant acted on July 27, 2020, with a view to compelling the complainant to abstain from doing an act which she had a legal right to do, without lawful authority.
Caquas wrote: » Obviously the prosecuting Garda always say the defendant did [fill in the brackets with the definition of the offence] on the [alleged dates] to [name of the victim]. That is just begging my question (in the proper meaning of that much abused phrase). In a nutshell, what act was the girl compelled to abstain from doing? And it’s nice that Bubblypop has such confidence in the Gardai, the DPP and the courts even if the media reports give rise to obvious questions. This contrasts with the intense criticism of the Gardai, DPP and our courts over the years when dealing with sexual offences but I guess this case does not arouse any interest even if no one can explain how the reported facts justify the sentence. And yes I referenced another different case but both were heard by the same judge under the Offences Against the Person legislation. Would that judge have given this man a similar sentence if he had stabbed that child repeatedly instead of asking her to go to the woods?
jimwallace197 wrote: » Interesting how Bubblypop and One Eyed jack have gone so quiet now,
jimwallace197 wrote: » Interesting how Bubblypop and One Eyed jack have gone so quiet now. Not surprising Bubblypop is on this thread frequently defending the actions of the gards as she is one herself. Likes to antagonize and question but rarely answers any questions herself. For someone that is meant to protect, be impartial and protect all citizens, its scary how out of touch and biased she is. Says alot about our current AGS
bubblypop wrote: » Was the sentence given to the man who brought the teenager into the woods harsh?
iptba wrote: » The man didn't bring a teenager into the woods.
bubblypop wrote: » Apologies, is the sentence harsh on the man who tried to get a teenager to walk with him into the woods? I'm not sure what the complaint is? Too harsh for this particular crime or not harsh enough for a completely different crime?.
Caquas wrote: » Strange how people keep asking this question without offering any views themselves. My view is that Irish courts have become extremely lenient sentencing in most cases so that vicious assaults which inflict serious injuries often receive sentences of about two years. That’s not just my view. It is the view of the President of the Court of Appeal who recently said five years was an appropriate starting point for sentencing.https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/court-of-appeal-increases-sentences-for-high-end-assault-cases-1.4180069
Caquas wrote: » Now we have this case which also received a two year sentence even though there was no violence or threat. And the defendant had an unblemished record. Yes, he sounds like a weirdo and anti-social so maybe he is considered fair game.
Caquas wrote: » And he pleaded guilty. But why? (If you’re thinking “because he’s guilty!” you have failed to understand the nature of our criminal justice system). Did his lawyers tell him to plead guilty although he was being charged with an offence that is rarely prosecuted, that was not designed for these facts and has never, as far as I can tell, been used to charge a stranger to the complainant. Very odd but maybe someone can explain it. I only hope they didn’t promise him a lighter sentence.
Caquas wrote: » I feel sure of one thing. This man will come out of our prisons with new “friends” and “experiences” that will make it even less likely that he will find a place in society.So what do you think? Fair and consistent sentencing or arbitrary and harsh?
One eyed Jack wrote: » Feck it, I’ll give this a go Caquas because I’m not starting work yet and I have a bit of time, and I’m hoping it’s a bit clearer to you after explaining, because I’ll be quiet after this (if that’s acceptable to jim).
You’re misrepresenting the Justices opinion there.
Irish courts have become extremely lenient sentencing in most cases so that vicious assaults which inflict serious injuries often receive sentences of about two years. That’s not just my view. It is the view of the President of the Court of Appeal who recently said five years was an appropriate starting point for sentencing.
courts should not shy away from starting at five years’ imprisonment when it comes to sentencing individuals for “high-end” cases of assault causing harm, according to the Court of Appeal. Mr Justice George Birmingham, president of the Court of Appeal, made the observation after three people jailed for three separate assaults in Waterford were found to have been given “unduly lenient” sentences.
Contrary to your belief, the charge of coercion is designed specifically for circumstances in which an individual is charged with coercion.
One of the elements of the criminal offence of coercion is intimidation, and according to the defendants legal representation, he knows that he presented beside the child and caused her to be afraid (quoting directly from the article you posted). Even though you say there was no threat, there is evidence that the victim did feel there was an imminent threat and felt intimidated by the defendant
“He knows he presented beside this child and caused her to be afraid,” Ms Behan said.
Caquas wrote: » Again I ask, what was she coerced to do? It’s not enough to prove one element of an offence. His barrister did say Even with a guilty plea, that is an extraordinary example of defence Counsel doing the work of the Prosecution. But does that get him two years in jail?
One eyed Jack wrote: » The criminal offence of coercion involves acting with a view to compel someone to do something with no lawful authority to compel them to do so....
acting with a view to compel someone to do something...
wrongfully and without lawful authority
His legal representation did a hell of a job considering the circumstances