formerlyET wrote: » That's right. I was at that game in Cork. The first day was called off because of the rain. They were just back from a camp in Spain. And everything went to hand and over the bar. None of that camp craic at this covid moment anyway...
johnb25 wrote: » Fixture madness. Kickhams vs Cappawhite 2020 West IH Final Saturday 12th 6pm Kickhams vs Cappawhite 2021 Co League IH Sunday 13th 12noon.
Ompala wrote: » Yeah, I recall in the first half against Cork Forde sending possibly the only low pass of the half over to John McGrath and the ball bounced into his hand, turned and scored a point. That was the one aspect of the Westmeath game I thought was encouraging, did have lads moving into space for passes and opening things up. Need to vary long and shot deliveries to keep opposition guessing. It's funny as back in 2019 in the league we were the same, then playing against Cork one day in Pair Ui Rinn it all just clicked and we ran riot. We have the players for it.
formerlyET wrote: » That's a very good point. It's probably a mix of both. But I have found some of the ball going in, throughout the league, frustrating. Some of the best ball going in has come from Jason Forde and he should be inside. It's criminal at times. Booming sky high deliveries or huge point attempts over their heads, going wide.
Mantis Toboggan wrote: » Disputes happen all the time in clubs and players transfers to other clubs its just that these lads are high profile and moving to a club nearby which makes the most sense as they have family from there and its the most convenient. It's nothing to do with the parish rule. Cashel voted to take them in, if they didn't transfer to them they could easily transfer to clubs up and down the country or pack in the hurling altogether. I'm just happy to see them still playing the game within the county. I'd fancy Cashel to go deep into the championship this year. Its a bad situation all round and not one you'd want to see often but the board looked at the appeal and were happy enough to grant the move.
Mantis Toboggan wrote: » common sense has prevailed and the lads can get on with their hurling
Billy Ocean wrote: » how is it getting bananas? there hasn't been anything new on the topic in about 10 days or 2 weeks and how was the it 'very pointed' he was just speculating like you, me or anyone else does here.
formerlyET wrote: » I think Landers point was very pointed. Considering himself and Daly seem to be close - it brought another layer of politics to the situation. It's getting bananas. And Brian Lohan brought it to the national media - is it not a topic for posting about? But you brought it up this time. Not me. Us, good folk, will keep on trucking, best we can.
Billy Ocean wrote: » I don't think the opinions of Mark Landers on a podcast would be considered new developments so yes definitely rehashing. I'm not privee to in the in's and outs of the transfer matter I'll leave that to your good folk.
formerlyET wrote: » Might seem like I'm rehashing? Or are there constant new developments? I've discussed the transfers just as much - but it's gone through? I was against it. What do you want me to do? It's a dead duck. There's been a result and everything was out in the open. Can you say the same for the other issues? Hilarious? Laugh it up, kid.
Ompala wrote: » The query I'd have - what type of ball was sent in, retention is going to be much lower in say a high dropping ball which favours a defender vs a low hopping ball in front of the forward. What I'm getting at is is it really the forwards or the type of ball going in to them from out the field. Without being at the games this is really hard to judge as you can't see what running is being done off the ball and what options are available. I did think vs Westmeath we started to work the ball through the lines much better as the game went on.
Billy Ocean wrote: » Hilarious seeing you saying 'Let that issue go to bed' given your constant attempts to re-hash the Clare/Wexford/Davy covid matter on other threads....
formerlyET wrote: » Sheedy said that Tipp only managed to retain 6 out of the first 17 balls put into the forwards during the first half against Westmeath. That's chronic. Sheedy said that's not acceptable. The forwards who didn't play probably saw their stock rise - Niall O'Meara, Bubbles, Jake Morris, and Kehoe. Are we running head long into the serious issue that's only going to get worse? We might need Dan and Noel in midfield. For their delivery.
formerlyET wrote: » What's done is done. Let that issue go to bed. Let them hurl away now.
Rasputin11 wrote: » A Stevie O Donnell, seemingly he's a journalist.
portlaoisepal wrote: » Journalist? my hloe
Lost Ormond wrote: » who's claiming that???
Rasputin11 wrote: » Some fella on Twitter is saying the Knockavilla boys got the transfer.
formerlyET wrote: » I'd like to see Dan and Brendan in the middle. I think that gives us readers of the game, tactical nous, creativity, defensive cover, and score taking ability in the center of the field. Kennedy at center. Ronan and one of B McGrath/Byrne on the wings (because O'Mara is out although the word is he is healing well). I think a good scenario is one of those young men can do a job at wing back. And John McG can put in a regular shift on the half line like he did in the final in 2019 (a la hooking the likes of Walter Walsh through on goal) and contributing up front.
Joe_ Public wrote: » Well, i wouldn't be of the opinion that will be our starting championship midfield but time will tell i guess.
portlaoisepal wrote: » Flynn and Cadell would be eaten alive mid field
Joe_ Public wrote: » I see Barrett as a no.2 as well, sure could play elsewhere if needed but that's where i want him, pick pocketing corner forwards and setting us off on the attack. Be great to see the swashbuckling 2016 version again, though I'd happily settle for 75-80% of that if we got it. I get the notion about being fluid in our backline but i dont know how much of that you want exactly when so much of our recent success has been built around the defensive wall between 5 and 7. Paidi at full back does have a certain amount of logic behind it, the days of the traditional edge of the square stopper are probably done for good now.