Wailin wrote: Better be fresh in the morning
Cazale wrote: » The missus is away so I'm running amuck. Had the following this evening listed in order of preference. All good whiskeys but the Irishman was the star. Took notes but five whiskeys in doesn't lend to typing The Irishman Cask Strength 2020 Single Malt 55.2% Fercullen 8 year old blended 40% Bill Phil Batch 2 47.58% Tipperary Homegrown Barley 50% Red Earl Cask Strength 65.45%
BonnieSituation wrote: » Are you sure herself didn't get to the box after finding the Blue Spot as well?
Hogzy wrote: » She still hasnt found that :pac: I swear to god I have all the hallmarks of being an alcoholic, if she went down to the car and found a stashed bottle of bluespot there would probably be an intervention...and I havnt had over 4 consecutive drinks in a night since Christmas.
BonnieSituation wrote: » I have no problem intervening. Think of the big picture.
Hogzy wrote: » Only if you take the dreamcasks from me...I need it all gone! :P
Cazale wrote: » Took notes but five whiskeys in doesn't lend to typing The Irishman Cask Strength 2020 Single Malt 55.2% Fercullen 8 year old blended 40% Bill Phil Batch 2 47.58% Tipperary Homegrown Barley 50% Red Earl Cask Strength 65.45%
arodabomb wrote: » Whoop. Finally here, just need an excuse now. And no damage to the box, so that's good. Has anyone tasted it yet?
Effects wrote: How was the Tipp one? That's their barley but distilled elsewhere, then aged by them, right?
murphyebass wrote: » What was the Red Earl cask like? Was thinkin of grabbing a bottle. Edit.. no need to reply, have ordered a bottle out of curiosity. :-)
BonnieSituation wrote: » Hitting the road to Banbridge in a bit to drop off work equipment. Last time I was up in Newry they had RB12 for 43euro in Sainsbury's. So hopefully that's still on the go now and I'll grab another one. Anyone been stalking Sainsbury's or Asda etc of late see anything worth a gander?
BonnieSituation wrote: Anyone been stalking Sainsbury's or Asda etc of late see anything worth a gander?
odyssey06 wrote: At the risk of crossing threads, last time I was there Sainsbury's had some very nice own brand Armagnac and Calvados in 50cl bottles.
Cazale wrote: » That Armagnac is decent and I'm nearly finished it. Think it's 22 pound. I'm up North at the moment myself so was in Sainsbury's last night. Nothing too exciting to be honest. Highland Park 12 for 25 pound is good value. Talisker 10 at 30 and Johnnie Walker Black label at 20 not bad. They have a Glenfiddich tasting set of the 12/15/18 year olds for a tenner. There is a lot of mediocre to average Scottish bottles so be careful not to get stung!
BonnieSituation wrote: » Tesco in Banbridge had nowt anyway. For reference, RB12 is £41/€47. No danger of me getting stung with scotches though, as it takes a clear recommendation from one of ye to spend my cash on our brethren's drams.
killbillvol2 wrote: » Too late now but I'd be all over the Highland Park 12 for £25. Grab one next time you're up.
odyssey06 wrote: Jura tasting with L Mulligans as part of Fèis Ìle *
Cazale wrote: » Great review. I regret not getting it now! I've tried a few Jura but need to delve further.
odyssey06 wrote: » If you have any Jura at all, it'd be worth watching the tasting recording on Youtube for the craic. Most of the info was about Jura in general rather than specific to the particular expressions. Jura have a lot of different expressions. At the tasting they mentioned a reason to have 10 year old and 12 year old expressions is to push the 10 year old expressions for use in cocktails in bars. So you have the cachet of a single malt age statement at a slightly lower price as an input to the cocktail. When it comes to Jura I wouldn't put too much emphasis on the age statement, the NAS Seven Wood and Journey were at least as good at the 10 - 12 year old expressions.