Victor wrote: » Solicitor and Garda.
Victor wrote: » Solicitor
3DataModem wrote: » First things first, get your roof sorted. You have to mitigate your own risk, failure to do so makes any insurance claim you make for leak damage likely to fail. You can't expect (or trust) the cowboys to fix it. Tell the guys fixing it to document and photograph the damage left by the last guys. Then solicitor and garda, but don't expect much of an outcome.
coylemj wrote: » Realistically, the only person the OP can sue is his neighbour, for employing a bunch of incompetents. Because those 'roofers' are probably operating out a van so they have no assets and almost certainly have no professional liability insurance. So there is nothing or nobody worth suiing on their side. Based on the previous post, the OP appears to recognise this. I wouldn't go near the Gardai, they can probably do nothing. There are some countries (Australia is one) where people can be charged for taking on paid work for which they have little or no competence but I don't believe it's illegal to do so in Ireland. You can talk about obtaining money under false pretences but outside of regulated professions like phsiotherapy, who decides who is and is not competent to fix a roof?
Deeec wrote: » If I understand correctly your neighbour is renting the property. Why did she arrange someone to fix the roof and not ask the landlord to get it fixed. I imagine the landlord may not be pleased with a dodgy job done on their roof.
ED E wrote: » Blood from a stone.
coylemj wrote: » I wouldn't go near the Gardai, they can probably do nothing.
Deeec wrote: » If I understand correctly your neighbour is renting the property. Why did she arrange someone to fix the roof and not ask the landlord to get it fixed. I imagine the landlord may not be pleased with a dodgy job done on their roof. Also did she pay them or did the landlord pay them?
Casati wrote: » Agree completely. The contractor in question is not yours, you do not have any contract with them and so I can’t see how you could make any claim off them.
eastie17 wrote: » This is probably a stupid question, but I presume this is a terraced or adjoined house?
Victor wrote: » The roofers - Criminal Damage Act. The neighbour & the landlord - Land And Conveyancing Law Reform Act 2009. I strongly suspect the landlord is being exploited, whether the tenant is in on the act or not.
FriendlySpider wrote: » The elderly woman is the owner and she is renting it to Indian woman and her child (I'm only mentioning her nationality as I believe she wouldn't be wise to these lads). The woman renting found them online but the landlady/owner went ahead with after speaking on the phone and she paid them.
Casati wrote: » Agree completely. The contractor in question is not yours, you do not have any contract with them and so I can’t see how you could make any claim off them. I would get out a reputable company to review the work and make good anything that is needed - you may be lucky and all is well. The cost of this remedial work should be handed to the landlord of the neighbouring house.
Victor wrote: » The roofers - Criminal Damage Act. The neighbour & the landlord - Land And Conveyancing Law Reform Act 2009. I strongly suspect the landlord is being exploited, whether the tenant is in on the act or not. Criminal damage, negligence, trespass.
cruizer101 wrote: » Incompetence would be if they damaged they paying customers roof as they have permission to work on it. However damaging the neighbours roof which they no permission to interfere with at all I would think is criminal damage.
Casati wrote: » Can’t see DPP prosecuting for criminal damage in this case, and even if they did what benefit would that be to the OP? . The OP neighbour is responsible here imo.
handlemaster wrote: » Dare we say who these people were
FriendlySpider wrote: » He got the elderly woman come back at the end to sign a hefty cheque for them and fecked off.