riclad wrote: » People complained about rock and roll, violent movies, videogames. TV, influencing teens to behave badly, now its social media. The 90s were the last time rents were low,after 2000 house price went up rapidly, rents went up, now we have a housing crisis homeless people living in tents People come here to work in shops hotels cafes Immigration is part of a successful economy People did not know it but the 90s were an optimistic time before a decade of rapid change before Ireland became a modern economy with Google Facebook opening offices here
Merlin44 wrote: » Mid 90s was the time start of mobile phones, ecstasy house music , everyone friendly, going out with a set amount of money and been happy with that.
riclad wrote: » P homeless people living in tents People come here to work in shops hotels cafes Immigration is part of a successful economy
Harry Palmr wrote: » Ah the good old days. White and Catholic. No fecking one world government. Fewer foreigners. Is that the vibe I'm picking up?
Andrewf20 wrote: » I think alot of women wanted to work as well, but then it became a case of women needing to work due to insane acceleration of housing costs. My take on it is that this was what fueled house prices rising.
fryup wrote: » take off your green tinted glasses OP, Ireland of 80's & 90's was a hole of a place, dismal kip
DerekC16 wrote: » Lots of women would love to be able to stay at home and raise their kids but families simply cannot afford it now. It isn't a good thing. We need people to be having more kids.
RandomViewer wrote: » You had to be a named driver on a policy to get a quote and then the price would be unreal, heard of people asked 2k for insurance when wages were around 150quid a week
hot buttered scones wrote: » Your experience of the period may not reflect the experience of others
Flinty997 wrote: » In fairness it's wasn't the multicultural coffee shop modern culture of today. There was a big difference between the 80s and 90s in Dublin though.
Flinty997 wrote: » I had a renewal one year of 3k on a Honda. I stopped buying sporty cars at that point and switched to the cheapest thing I could run.
Harry Palmr wrote: » Who do you reckon is paying for your future pensions in part?
Belparkgarden wrote: » An Australian friend of mine remembers visiting Ireland during the late 80s early 90s. I brought him to Glendalough two years ago when he came to visit. He could not get over how much cleaner it was. When he visited in the late 80s early 90s the place was awash with plastic bags and most scenic spots and towns were filthy. In some respects we are much better today than years ago. We just complain more today.
Giblet wrote: » Is that the Ireland we all remember? Is it dead and buried, with Haughey.. in the grave.
ineedeuro wrote: » The problem with ireland was as soon as internet etc came into our lives we decided we wanted to be American. Not the good parts of American culture but the sh*t parts You have a load of lads going around now trying to recreate what they see in the films over drugs. All copying what is on tv Gangs who are trying to replicate again what they see in the US, People just acting like d**is because it’s their right, freedom of speech blah blah blah Clowns who think it’s cool to insult the Garda.... or as they call them the “ppoooollliicceee” For a nation we really have a huge IQ problem across the board
Purple is a Fruit wrote: » Yes, thinking things seemed better in the past - that's standard stuff. But there hasn't been anything like social media since... I dunno, the Industrial Revolution? And much as I love aspects of social media, the toxicity is a bloody difficult one. That said though, there are also things I prefer now to back then.
Das Reich wrote: » Before arriving in Ireland 15 years ago I used to think my country was very americanized. Ireland was long gone and unfortunately many other countries are becoming similar losing their language and culture.
Danno wrote: » If you think ten lads from wherever packed into a 3-bed semi-d are paying enough taxes to fund our pensions then you're truly deluded. The vast majority of these are on min-wage jobs and are slogging it out here to save up enough to buy a €24k semi-d on the outskirts of some city abroad you've probably never heard of.
Strumms wrote: » The only thing I preferred about Ireland then was that we had a better football team and better music shops.