JayRoc wrote: » It'e illegal to drink alchohol in public places in DLRCC.
JayRoc wrote: » It'e illegal to drink alchohol in public places in DLRCC. That included any of the new amenities like the increased public seating etc. However if a licensed premises has been given permission to, say, put extra tables outside their establishment where there has been more space deliberately allocated by the council for them to trade, it is considered a part of the licensed premises and perfectly legal for people to have a pint at one of their tables. TLDR- Pint at at table outside a pub: grand. Cans sitting on a bench on the street: not grand.
ted1 wrote: » its only byelaw.... also it not "licensed premises" it simply not a public place..
ted1 wrote: » its only byelaw.... .
Zaney wrote: » What powers to the council have to hand over roads/public spaces to select private businesses.
Zaney wrote: » In Blackrock it’s just public benches that are provided, not allocated street dining, so I assume the bye laws apply (even if not enforced)
Zaney wrote: » Thanks all, makes sense. But these are currently roads / public spaces. How can they be changed on the grounds of “temporary” measures with no planning permission? What powers to the council have to hand over roads/public spaces to select private businesses. In Blackrock it’s just public benches that are provided, not allocated street dining, so I assume the bye laws apply (even if not enforced)
josip wrote: » So why weren't take-away Covid pints being drunk across the roads from pubs being policed by the Gardai?
AndrewJRenko wrote: » Someone needs to tell all the middle-aged lads and lassies on the grass at Sandycove about this startling news.
Cyrus wrote: » or ban this take away pints nonsense.
Mav11 wrote: » Bah humbug
ted1 wrote: » Businesses (rate payers) lease the space, same as sports clubs renting pitches or families renting social housing.
Zaney wrote: » Would you say that if you were a resident on the street where it’s happening? Or a parent who when walking home with young kids has to navigate around groups of people drinking on the footpath. We are not the continent, we do not behave like the continent in terms of orderly outdoor dining - an outdoor pub is what we converge to and that is something very different.
Zaney wrote: » Didn’t know that so thanks. I assume pitches and houses need planning and it wouldn’t be a change of use to lease them - as in when they are built there is an expectation that they can be leased out. When planning is granted for parking there wouldn’t be the same expectation that it will be leased out for outdoor dining? I still can’t see how the council should be allowed to change a car parking space to outdoor dining without permission. The council have a vested interest in business as they rely heavily on rates. There should surely be some oversight from a more independent authority like An Board Pleanála? Maybe there isn’t, but it just seems wrong to me that the Council can do what they please with public assets in the interest of a select group from which they directly profit.
Larbre34 wrote: » I think the Govt and the Councils would be well advised to put a set of regulations in place to cover this stuff.
Larbre34 wrote: » Like it or not, people want to drive to these places to shop and enjoy leisure time. If they make it inaccessible or tie up the wider area with congestion, it will backfire.
JayRoc wrote: » That's my point though (and I totally understand what you're saying in terms of perception); there are the same amount of parking spaces in the area as far as I know, I am positive that there has not been a loss of a single handicapped parking space in all of the village, and the foot traffic is the best it could be given the pandemic. If someone has driven to Blackrock and wants to visit a shop or business they will simply have to walk from wherever they park their car and so far, it seems, that is working out fine.
AndrewJRenko wrote: » What places can people not drive to?
Larbre34 wrote: » Seems to cover it, so good enough. I do question the logic of fully pedestrianising Lower George's Street 24/7 and further restricting traffic in Monkstown when the coastal cycleway already limits the alternative routes for vehicular traffic. Like it or not, people want to drive to these places to shop and enjoy leisure time. If they make it inaccessible or tie up the wider area with congestion, it will backfire.
Larbre34 wrote: » They can not drive to places close to home. Dun Laoghaire is a day out on summer weekends. Someone living in Cabinteely or Ballinteer is going to pack the family into the car and walk the pier and have a Teddy's ice cream. Yes, some will cycle and hopefully Public Transport capacity will be closer to normal. But discouraging cars altogether is foolish and damaging.
Mav11 wrote: » Article in this morning's IThttps://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/d%C3%BAn-laoghaire-pedestrianisation-not-without-its-challenges-1.4571834 Seems like a great idea to me. Potential for anti social behaviour aside, it should tie in very well with the new Myrtle Sq.
GT89 wrote: » So I'm guessing bus routes will have to be diverted
Mav11 wrote: » Indeed, the article mentions the 46a and 75.
AndrewJRenko wrote: » They're not stopped from driving to walk the pier.