HeidiHeidi wrote: » Something about those pics doesn't add up..... The outside shot shows a perfectly normal-looking shed/shomera/cabin type building - did they buy one without end walls or something? And only half a ceiling that they had to prop up with badly-joined beams? And the bedroom and bathroom have pitched roofs, yet in the outside picture it's a flat-roof construction.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » i don't think "exceptionally badly" quite covers it. that blockwork would be unacceptable on a garden wall.
Kintarō Hattori wrote: » https://www.elliman.com/newyork/sales/detail/612-l-610-16_3237144/95-lake-road-plandome-manor-manhasset-ny-11030 Nothing crazy with the above, it's reasonably tasteful for an American house. Though I would say it's a little more social club looking than homely. I thought it was kinda nice though, bit of potential if you 'warmed' it up a bit.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » They don't do property tax by halves in the States, do they! Would be a right shocker for many here. Also if you don't pay they just seize the property and auction it.
ILikeBoats wrote: » Isn't that why Florida is so popular with retirees? No property tax?
some random drunk wrote: » https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/terraced-house-66-mountain-view-park-rathfarnham-dublin-14/3234678 I see the local murder house has come on the market today, wonder will there be many interested parties? At 365k it seems a fairly steep price to live with a constant reminder of a gruesome murder scene, especially since there are houses in better condition for not much more in the same estate. Background info on the murder here:https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/irish-granny-patricia-oconnor-chopped-10624149
Muahahaha wrote: » As josip said they are hoping the purchaser doesnt have a clue that a grandmother was killed in that house. I followed that case at the time and really couldnt believe the stupidity of the two eejits trying to dispose of the body. In preparation for it they went on a shopping trip together and literally walked into B&Q in Tallaght under the full glare of CCTV to stock up on what they needed. Every item they bought was associated with the disposing of a body- large black bags, a hacksaw,an axe, two pairs of wellies and a shovel. The Gardai couldnt believe their luck when they saw the CCTV of the pair of them on their shopping trip and they even paid for it with a debit card just to ensure full traceability . Then you had the grand daughter who knew her grand mother was already dead and in the cover up to put Gardai off the scent she dressed up as her grandmother using a wig and her grandmothers clothes and then purposely walked past the next door neighbours CCTV while wheelling a suitcase behind her. In the Garda interviews all family members claimed the grandmother had stormed out of the house after an argument with a suitcase behind her, that was their story. The cover up in the aftermath was a complete house of cards that came tumbling down very quickly in court and four of the five family members involved are now in prison.
Gregor Samsa wrote: »
Leg End Reject wrote: » Jesus, I remember that now that you've given that detail. The poor woman. While it sounds callous, life goes on and someone might nab a bargain with that house.
humberklog wrote: » I don't know the prices of houses there but I'd say you'd be looking at pouring a lot of money into it to make it right. Re-wiring, windows, doors, roof, kitchen, bathroom, landscaping. It'd be the guts of €100k+ depending on the finish you want.
Leg End Reject wrote: » The listed price is definitely aspirational, probably testing the water in the current market. Always sad to see a house left to go into disrepair.
Deleted User wrote: » Surely that can't be right. The description from the sales agent says the house is 'Presented in good condition.' Is that estate agent for 'roof still attached'?
humberklog wrote: » Well it depends on what the buyer wants. For me I couldn't live with the exposed block work in the gardens and the general presentation and one could easily sink €15k in bringing front and back gardens into spaces that you like. Along the skirting boards downstairs are extra electric wires running along the length of the rooms so that either for extra sockets (like the exposed one in the bedroom) or there's something wrong with the existing wiring, either way I'd want that sorted. Most of the white rooms have been recently painted, a quick slapdash, I think they must've ran out of paint or interest in the pink room. Either way you can see damp showing through. Ah, the more I look the worse it gets tbh. Estate agent must've thrown the paint on himself and is happy with his half days work. Gaff needs gutting.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » Nobody mentioned the half a shower tray in the murder house?!?
dasdog wrote: » Aside from the fact Rathfarnham is Dublin 16, it really is 50/50 in that estate area wise with what's up for sale.
Dublin 14 includes Churchtown, Clonskeagh, most of Dundrum, Goatstown, lower Rathfarnham and Windy Arbour. Dublin 16 includes Ballinteer, Ballyboden, parts of Dundrum, Kilmashogue, Knocklyon, upper Rathfarnham and Rockbrook.
Muahahaha wrote: » A pretty cute one bedroomed thatched cottage just off the N4 near Moate for 85k. This one is definitely a trip down memory lane They even show the new owner how they are going to spend their two weeks annual summer holidays every year when they cant find a thatcher And its got an open plan kitchen dining room, these fellas were way ahead of their timehttps://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-seeogue-moate-co-westmeath/2954410