loftypheasant wrote: » Hello lads. I've been tuning in for years but haven't posted yet so be gentle with me! Just wondering if anyone who got a centrefire pistol licensed after the infamous cut-off date managed to retain their licence and firearm. Any legal challenges or successes/failures? I'm one of the poor eejits who got caught out. When my renewal was refused I continued shooting with club guns for a couple of years and then lost heart and packed it in. Money was tight at the time so legal recourse wasn't an option. I often get the hankering to go back target pistol shooting. I'm a game and vermin shooter with donkey's years but I've been a bit of a fair weather fudd regarding the other shooting sports so apologies for that in advance. There is great credit due to the fellas on here for fighting the good fight and keeping shooting sports alive in the face of adversity.
Munsterlad102 wrote: » If you held a license for one and know where that specific firearm is you might have a case. Then again, you're almost definitely going to have to go to court which adds costs you might never recoup even after winning. Grizzly45 is the man to talk to if you're thinking about taking that path.
tudderone wrote: » Really ? I thought the rules were changed that if you won, the costs came out of that districts garda budget. If there is no risk of loss to the gardai, then they could refuse everything and there would be no comeback ?
Munsterlad102 wrote: » In theory yeah, but Grizz was saying it took him a long time to get his costs awarded back to him. Now that precedent has been set, I’d say you’d get your legal fees if you won.
kellbag91 wrote: » So is that to say there are lads taking this matter to court at the moment. Is there any centeralised movement to start the ball rolling on getting centerfires back.
kellbag91 wrote: » So is that to say there are lads taking this matter to court at the moment. Is there any centralised movement to start the ball rolling on getting centerfires back.
Munsterlad102 wrote: » Unfortunately not. Centrefire pistols were merely a scapegoat of the government at the time and there was no legitimate reasons why they should have been banned, so there's no point in trying to talk sense to the Minister of Justice. She's more concerned with implementing diversity quotas and hate speech legislation, both are illegal.
tudderone wrote: » [/B] Go woke, go broke ! She needs to have a look around the world, people are getting tired of all that silliness.
Munsterlad102 wrote: » Something tells me that won't stop her. Also isn't she on maternity leave now, so there's a new minister. Maybe we could fire off a few letters and emails to see if she'll budge on anything firearms related.
bmmb88 wrote: » Re court costs. I am one of the cases that went to the HC, cant remember how many were in the group ( it was like a class action). We won the right to have the refusals looked at again. It has always peed me off that the costs were never awarded against AGS.especially after the carryon of some AGS members. It cost me x (k) amount to get my licence back so its good to know that any district court costs will be awarded to the gun owner if they win their case and the cost comes out of the AGS district budget. A least there are now some repercussions for the AGS when they lose. Obviously not everybody who had been refused a renewal for a pistol that they had held for 4 years could afford to go to court and many gave up their pistols which I think is a disgrace. I would love to see people track down their pistols and reapply for their licence. It would be interesting to see what happens. Does anyone think they would win.
Grizzly 45 wrote: » Not with her in charge...Gotta choose your opponents as well as your battleground. She's a modern empowered urbanite,human rights type and you can be assured with an MSM/Hollywoo firearms knowledge base,who will go with what "progressive " mentality tells her about firearms.
tudderone wrote: » What i don't understand is the gardai's continued suspicion of us as a group. How many legally held firearms are used to commit crimes every year ? Someone will get nally'ed occasionally but thats it.
smmember20 wrote: » So the gun was licensed to you prior to November 2008? If that is the case regardless of the refusal to renew you are entitled to seek to have the gun licensed right now: Simple as!
Grizzly 45 wrote: » Nope!!! Because if you "sold" or otherwise disposed of the gun to a dealer or otherwise let it go,and somehow recover your previously licensed gun.Its consider a new license application,as you are "buying" it back out of the dealers stock .
loftypheasant wrote: » No. The licence was granted after the date.
QUOTE=Cass;117249494]Not sure what law you think exists that differentiates whether the gun was sold or just stored in an RFD (only dealing with the gun staying in the 26), but no such distinction exists.
The law says unless you were licensed on the gun before Nov. 2008 you may not apply for it, but if you were, you can. I know, i have done it.
loftypheasant wrote: » No. The licence was granted after the date. I had the pistol bought before Ahern stood up to make his speech to save Ireland from 'gun culture'.
Grizzly 45 wrote: » Nope!!! Because if you "sold" or otherwise disposed of the gun to a dealer or otherwise let it go,and somehow recover your previously licensed gun.Its consider a new license application,as you are "buying" it back out of the dealers stock or re-importing it into Ireland. IF however, you left it in to a dealers for safekeeping before you were refused and you wanted to see how things were going to work out over the years, you would have a better argument to get the license reissued, possibly, maybe, but I wouldn't bet the farm on it either.
smmember20 wrote: » So it has been shown on many occasions now that it is possible to substitute a CF pistol having had the license prior to the cut off date: Dare I open another argument and state that this shows the license is the key and not the particular gun: Did you sell it export it or have it destroyed, you still were the person who held the certificate prior to 2008, you can only apply for a certificate for the particular firearm so do so: If you handed into a dealer then the course of the firearm is the same dealer even if he does not have it! Once granted then apply for a substitution on a like for like basis, why because your original gun is sold!!!!! Now are you passionate enough about the sport of CF shooting and one of the individuals who lost out and sold on or disposed of, it was you who were licensed not the gun!!!!! So rather than a big heaving debate if you were effected then make the application, if you were not effected or have no interest in taking the course of action above then I have no interest in your opinion as to the rights wrongs legalities or other