L1011 wrote: » If money is actually being "lent" to children rather than gifted, there are potential tax implications for non-repayment and also likely people lying to their mortgage provider.
cnocbui wrote: » There's the activities of REITS and the tax breaks offered to them and the revenue greed of the government and councils and their on-costs, but you see the problem as people who currently own homes?
DataDude wrote: » It’s definitely a mix of both. I’d say it’s more common on the smaller ‘gifts’ to lie on the mortgage application saying it’s a gift when in fact it will be repaid. I’m sure the banks are well aware of this and doubt they really care (once the ‘gifter’ has no claim to the property). Didn’t Leo previously make some reference to this himself sure? The larger ‘gifts’, where banks can be kept out altogether, and the son/daughter is just given a €1m+ house. These are typically structured as 0% interest loans. The ‘gift’ is therefore just the interest portion which falls below the annual gift exemption at current deposit rates. There is never any intention of repaying the capital in reality, but by calling it a loan you can defer the CAT liability until death. These structures are fairly common in SCD.
Idbatterim wrote: » A proper lpt would encourage people to downsize for a start.
Mic 1972 wrote: » that's not even allowed from a legal standpoint you have to be resident in the country you work from, at least 6 months + 1 day per year
schmittel wrote: » Fair play to the parents for giving the kids a leg up, but where is the money coming from? If it is profits from their businesses good luck to them.
DataDude wrote: » To play devils advocate on this one.. I read a lot of people on this forum and the buying forum in the €200k-€500k range getting repeatedly outbid on properties and being very frustrated by this. Much of the angst is being focused on Cuckoo Funds but also AHBs and LAs likely being the outbidders and therefore someone who didn’t ‘earn’ the house getting it ahead of them. Very frustrating. I completely understand that, I’d be frustrated too. And I can completely understand the feeling of ‘we both have good jobs, we’re borrowing the max 3.5x. We’re not looking for a mansion. How can we keep being outbid. This ain’t fair’ However, statistically it is far far far more likely (if 70% of FTBers have gifts) that you’ve just been outbid by someone with a chunkier gift than you. But that doesn’t seem to bother people? Is it better to ‘lose out your dream home to someone who didn’t earn it’ when that person has rich parents (gifted) vs when that person doesn’t have wealthy parents (AHB/LA). If I was in that boat, I’d see it as the same. But the emotional response is far far stronger against the ‘undeserving owners’….without wealthy parents.
DataDude wrote: » To play devils advocate on this one..
schmittel wrote: » Exactly it is a vicious circle. As rents rise further more and more people need housing assistance. | V As more people need housing assistance, govt enters into more leases, pays out more HAP, buys more units on private market etc. | V As govt enters into more leases, pays out more HAP, buys more units on private market etc rents rise further | V As rents rise further more and more people need housing assistance. And so on and so on....
Idbatterim wrote: » A proper lpt would encourage people to downsize for a start. You are right about the disgraceful lack of tax paid by reits. Thats a government decision...
schmittel wrote: » Hard for me to comment on FTB frustration, as I'm not in that market mayhem. But, hey, that's never stopped me yet... I wouldn't have a problem with kids of wealth families outbidding me. That's life, there is always going to be somebody richer than you. My frustration with Cuckoo Funds/AHBs/LAs would be twofold - 1) The tax position is such an unfair advantage. I read some rough calculations that between lower taxes and interest rates the same property will ultimately cost an average FTB almost double. It's one thing to be outbid by somebody wealthier than me, but when they're essentially doing it with my money it's a real kick in teeth. 2) Re my previous vicious circle post, it almost feels like they are bidding higher, happy to push prices up, in some ridiculous Ponzi scheme, and again they're doing it with my money. When you have AHBs using council funding to get into a bidding war with cuckoo funds to secure properties that the cuckoo funds will rent back to the same council, it is f8cking madness!! Any concerns I might have about the well heeled folks giving their kids a leg up pales into significance compared to the above!
Deleted User wrote: » I think its more likely that the people getting substantially bigger gifts aren't really statistically that much better off (two people in a wealthy area, looking at a pricey house, are likely to have similar backgrounds and thus, similar "gifts").
Deleted User wrote: » Also, it'd be much more difficult to stop this than to tackle the investor/local authority issue.
cnocbui wrote: » But I don't want to downsize. I'm very comfortable where I am, thanks. Why should REITs not pay tax on profits or CGT, but I should be unfairly taxed in order to suit your agenda? Describe how this improper LPT stick would work.
cnocbui wrote: » But I don't want to downsize. I'm very comfortable where I am, thanks. Why should REITs not pay tax on profits or CGT, but I should be unfairly taxed in order to suit your agenda?
Revolution 1917 wrote: » What the problem ? If you been outbid at 500K property in Dublin Buy 230K property in County Louth and 2 Scoda Kodiaq saving another 190K for new furniture You will spend same time on motorway as in trafic to your property in Dublin. Ach,sorry,property in County Louth does not sound great in Dublin.Then we heading another problem there. I have serious problem at the moment.I want buy Ferrari for 2000 euros and I cant find it.Something wrong with supply ! Government has seriously work on it !
Idbatterim wrote: » If you were in the usa, Germany, uk, anywhere properly run and taxed, you would be paying way higher rates of lpt. You also wouldn't be thieved at outrageous rates of marginal tax. At current rates here, I'd scrap it, scrap it or implement proper rates, worth collecting...
DataDude wrote: » That said, if I was a median income FTB couple, and I could stop one thing to try give me a fair shot at buying a house in Dublin right now...I think it'd be the gifts. I reckon they have an absolutely unbelievable inflationary impact on prices. Probably more so than LA/AHBs given they push up the highest value houses as where as LA/AHBs are somewhat capped in what they can do (although the upper limit seems to be growing)
DataDude wrote: » Don't agree with your comment "there's always somebody richer than you" as it doesn't equate to "there's always somebody with richer parents than your parents" which is what in means in this context. One is in your control, the other isn't. I don't think people should be given the benefit on their parents success..because I don't think it's fair to punish people for their parents failures. Can't have one without the other.
[Deleted User] wrote: » People in Germany all live spending in rented property And finish them days in nursing home Nothing wrong with that Or you pay mortgage or rent and finish same way as in Ireland I dont see anything wrong Please dont tell me about in Ireland you will have your own house when you pay mortgage There is matter of time when those who has difficulties to pay mortgage in Ireland will be thrown trough the door on street and will finish them days in nursing home. At same time when tens of thousands of those who cant pay has problem already
cnocbui wrote: » So most people don't apply for a motgage to buy a house until their parents die? I somehow doubt that. Ireland already has amongst the highest inheritance taxes in the world, if not the highest. I have never seen any suggestion inheritances are distorting the housing markets in Australia or NZ, and neither of them have any inheritance taxes. I was on my third house when my parents died. Parents allowing their children to stay in the family home and save a large deposit for a mortgage is also 'unfair' assistance. We need a tax to target that heinous and unfair distortion and tax it out of existence.
DataDude wrote: » But I don't want to pay over €100k in income taxes every year. I'm very comfortable taking my full gross salary. Why should I pay income tax when Amazon doesn't pay Corporation Tax. Classic whataboutery. Because societies work on a collective decision on what's best for everyone, not the individual. I absolutely HATE the level of income taxes we pay here, I complain about them all the time and wish they were lower...but when property taxes are mentioned people go on as if it's a personal assault on their entire existence as people...nope, it's just another way of distributing wealth, we have tonnes of them and relative to peers we lag way behind on property taxes and are far ahead of income taxes. And the best thing about property tax, the only way you can avoid them is by selling up (grand) - whereas income taxes remove the incentive to work (bad).
Deleted User wrote: » In countries where renting is the traditional "normal" thing to do, what exactly does happen at retirement? Like, do people of working age pay a tad more in rent to subsidise a lower rent for those retired? Otherwise I'm assuming we'd be seen massive numbers of homeless pensioners around the world where renting is the norm?
Dav010 wrote: » The issue with renting for life is that at the time when earnings decrease, retirement, rent will likely continue to increase. With increased life expectancy, that leaves a considerable amount of time that rent has to be paid out of savings. On the other hand, most mortgages do not exceed retirement age, so at retirement, mortgages are repaid, therefore decreased cost of living coincides with retirement if you own your own home.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Same as paying mortgage Once ECB bring rate up what will lift ammount of mortgage which you have a pay when your wage stay unchanged or value of wage falling down due with inflation.
schmittel wrote: » Fair point, but I think maybe you're looking at this again through the what's best for DataDude lens, rather than what's going on the wider market. I'm sure that family wealth has a far bigger impact in your segment of the market than LAs and AHBs! If I was in your shoes it would not be the gifts that would bother me, it would be the arrears. There are 1000s of people living in houses that you would dearly love to buy and could comfortably afford yet they're not paying for them. You and I are through increased taxes and increased interest rates.
schmittel wrote: » I understand your points, but fundamentally disagree with this. It's an evolutionary realism that people reap the rewards of their parents success and vice versa. We are have arrived at the privileged position of debating whether parents should help their kids buy houses in SCD, precisely because the kids of the best hunter gatherers reaped the rewards of their parents success!