Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
RandomName2 wrote: » Sinn Fein did the smart thing last week. They let the corruption, murder charge, database stuff and all that lie. Meanwhile they readied an arsenal on what the government is weakest on. While construction stalls are outside of the government's hands (due to Covid), the issue in relation to vulture funds and large corporations buying up property which the government should be the proprietors of is a pressing concern. The ball is firmly in the government's court on this. If they feck this up they will suffer, and rightly so. Once we come out of Covid we should be full steam ahead in terms of residential construction. The rewards from that shouldn't be threatened in advance due to legislative ineptitude.
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » Councils are hoovering up new estates to house "the homeless" and people on the housing list who couldn't be arsed working, not all. All ahead of people working and breaking their balls trying to get a mortgage and a house. This is worst in my view.
Fann Linn wrote: » I really hope FG use your excuse of blaming the homeless and those on SW in relation to this. I really do.
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » In relation to what?
Fann Linn wrote: » The current crisis within your party and their coalition buddies re housing.
Cluedo Monopoly wrote: » Labour say they are going to introduce the Minister's 2019 bill "word for word" if he does not do so himself before the end of the week. I wonder what Dail tricks they will use to avoid that one. I am already looking forward to the weekend radio.
Shebean wrote: » None of this is accurate.
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » Are you saying councils aren't outbidding first time buyers in new housing estates?https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/business/construction/local-councils-can-build-social-housing-at-half-the-cost-of-private-developers-1.4411980%3fmode=amp
AlmightyCushion wrote: » What happened to the bill when he introduced it in 2019?
The specific goal of the Bill is to prevent the bulk buying of entire developments by investment funds or the State which freezes out first-time buyers.
Cluedo Monopoly wrote: » Not sure but the debate is here...https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/debate/dail/2019-11-27/33/ FF brought forward the bill. SF and Labour supported it. I imagine the FG government shot it down.
FrancieBrady wrote: » On it's own, reason enough to end the power swap for once and for all.https://www.thejournal.ie/readme/ireland-investment-housing-5428746-May2021/?utm_source=twitter_short
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » I see the author is an advocate for the right to housing to be brought in. Happy days are here again lads.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Bob The Builder could have written that article JJ and it would still have nailed the issues.
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » His whole idea comes down to this. Everyone should have a right to a house supplied to them by the state. Now are you honestly telling me this is workable, sustainable and actually an idea that could happen? Be honest.
FrancieBrady wrote: » It is his outlining of what FF and FG have done...how we have got here, is what is exercising people.
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » But his solution is a house for everyone supplied by the state. It's bonkers. But easy for him to say as he knows it won't happen as its near impossible. Still though he comes out looking like the hero we don't deserve.
FrancieBrady wrote: » He IS NOT trending because of his solution though. He is trending because he has succinctly and savagely outlined how we have got here. I don't think I have ever seen an article like this retweeted so many times.https://twitter.com/search?q=%22Dr%20Rory%20Hearne%22&src=trend_click&vertical=trends
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » That's great and all. But what about solutions? Or are you just happy to stick it to FG/FF again.
Marine Layer wrote: » 600 likes is defined as trending Jaysis Thats not even 2 tenths of 1 per cent of the population I agree with most of his idealism though He ran for the senate once