TrampFighter wrote: » At my wifes cousins wedding. noticed about 8.30pm the Reception room looked really empty, the wife then informed me the grooms whole family and most of his friends had left. their marriage lasted 10 weeks. the groom arrived home one day and just said i don't love you anymore and left.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Feel like we're only getting half the story... more investigation please
Deleted User wrote: » Feel like we're only getting half the story... more investigation please
TrampFighter wrote: » was years ago, still no idea why. he left her and she went home to mammys leaving him with the house, car and everything else. been plenty of speculation to what actually happened but nothing definite.
dotsman wrote: » While I've never attended a wedding where there has been any controversy (unfortunately ), I know of a case where the marriage ended while on honeymoon. Basically, while the couple were on their honeymoon, another girl contacted the parents of the groom worried about her boyfriend as she had been unable to contact him for the past 2 weeks. She had never met the parents before, but did have their contact details in case of emergency. Turns out the groom had been seeing this girl on the side for over a year, and neither the fiancé or girlfriend knew about each other. Quite what the groom had been thinking or how he thought he could get away with it indefinitely is beyond me!
2lazytogetup wrote: » i had planned to propose to my girlfriend at her best mates wedding. we lived in separate countries so this was a good a chance as any. she was the maid of honour. my mate saw me holding the ring box and asked me how thick i was.
Sandz066 wrote: » Fair play to your mate for stopping that happening. Not wedding ruined story but.. My best friend and I had a joint 30th birthday planned at a local bar one Saturday night. Her fella proposed to her that day. Birthday party completely overshadowed by engagement talk, I may aswell not even have been there! Her mother apparently said to him after that wasn't the best day to proposed considering..
dotsman wrote: » Basically, while the couple were on their honeymoon, another girl contacted the parents of the groom worried about her boyfriend as she had been unable to contact him for the past 2 weeks. She had never met the parents before, but did have their contact details in case of emergency.
Wabbit Ears wrote: » Things were looking good, too good in hindsight!!
Purple Mountain wrote: » ... Late in the night, a few gate crashers came into the wedding, probably because the bar in the hotel was closing. ... The bride ended up on the door doing "bouncer" and I can still see her draping herself across the door telling the crashers this was a private party. It was very upsetting to see.
ontour2 wrote: » Wedding in the west of Ireland. Neither the bride or groom were from the parish, they had just found the perfect church which was close to the hotel they had always wanted to have their reception in. Priest for the wedding ceremony was a family friend who was not from the area and coming down on the day of the wedding. Dream location, perfect venue and planned to perfection. We arrived early to the church as we had been given a couple of jobs with flowers and mass booklets and to meet the priest. As we pulled in to the church, the road outside was full of cars which greatly confused us. We thought we had got the time wrong and were late. The reason for all the cars became apparent when we saw the hearse parked in front of the church. 90 minutes before the wedding and the funeral was still going. A couple of lads who had snuck out from the funeral for a smoke said that the eulogy had been going for over half an hour. It kept going and we got more and more stressed about what we should do. Another 40 minutes later the funeral finished and people started to leave the church. We reckoned there was just enough time to have them gone before most wedding guests arrived. Bullet dodged and we had a chat with the undertakers to explain the predicament and they said they would get everyone out of there in 'no time'. One relevant fact that they failed to mention was that the burial was in the graveyard attached to the church. 20 minutes before the wedding the hearse is still outside and all the mourners are in the graveyard or the pub across the road. Got the undertakers to put the hearse behind the pub and delayed the wedding car driver. When the wedding car turned up, he parked about one metre away from the church door. We grabbed a load of umbrellas and stuck them up and told the bride that it was starting to rain so she duly obliged and got in to the church before seeing the lads about 80 metres away filling in the grave. Still get stressed when I think about it!
ontour2 wrote: » Wedding in the west of Ireland. Neither the bride or groom were from the parish, they had just found the perfect church which was close to the hotel they had always wanted to have their reception in. Priest for the wedding ceremony was a family friend who was not from the area and coming down on the day of the wedding. Dream location, perfect venue and planned to perfection.
odyssey06 wrote: » This must get mention in the book \ ending of a romcom movie!
Well you've never seen such a sour faced man with a frilly basket of vodka go about his job.
Wabbit Ears wrote: » My own wedding! (sorry for the essay) Got married in Poland. First the back story: Went to a wedding in Poland about 15 years ago. Boy do i remember the bottles of vodka on the tables and the help yourself beer taps ! The funniest thing was sitting at table eating and then suddenly music starts, shot of vodka and dance, food, shot of vodka dance, rinse repeat And then do it all again the next day
TrampFighter wrote: » been plenty of speculation to what actually happened but nothing definite.
ontour2 wrote: » sequel to Wild Mountain Thyme.... Pat Short lined up to play the undertaker..
Neyite wrote: » This absolutely cracked me up.
ToxicPaddy wrote: » That's some serious thinking on your feet there. Major kudos for that. Probably saved the girl from having miserable memories about her wedding, I hope she realises how lucky she was to have you guys around
HBC08 wrote: » I was at a massive rural wedding about 10 years ago.The speeches went on for 2 and a half hours and about 90 mins of that was the groom gushing and repeatedly getting emotional about his new wife.During the wedding somebody told the bride that the groom had been riding a work colleague all along and was still at it,the bride didnt believe it and thats when more people chimed in to tell her it was true. The poor girl still went on the honeymoon, she must have been in shock or something.When they got back they left the airport in separate cars and that was the end of that. It was shocking to me that so many people knew about what was going on but still let the whole charade go ahead.