Mister Vain wrote: » A bit like the episode of Only Fools And Horses where Del and Rodney went to the wrong funeral.
Louis Friend wrote: » In my experience, alpha males don’t go around telling people that they’re alpha males... Someone who feels the need to claim that they’re an alpha male is actually a flaccid cuck.
c.p.w.g.w wrote: » Was that a Limerick wedding, involving a couple of lads from 1 GAA club, by any chance
Motivator wrote: » I was a plus one at a very country, very boring and very cheap wedding a few years ago. I didn’t know anyone at it apart from my girlfriend but lots of people were there that she worked with. Nobody was really drinking and as I was warned to be on my very best behaviour as she didn’t want me to make a scene. The girlfriend was up and down chatting to work colleagues and left me sitting there, I noticed a bit of tension between a couple of people at my table and once I noticed it it was all I could focus on. There were two women and and a man in their 50s, it turns out the women were sisters and were the brides aunts and the man was a husband of one of them. All night there was very little being said and all of a sudden it kicked off after the meal. It turns out one of the sisters was from up the country and travelled down to stay with her sister and the husband the night before. They had a few drinks and the married sister went to bed early. Yes you guessed it, the husband ended up shagging there sister downstairs as the wife slept but obviously she copped something happened. It all kicked off after the meal, the husband and wife went at it at the bar and it spilled back to the table and the sister then got involved. At this stage the commotion got that bad that the band stopped and the top table were dispatched to the middle in the middle of the floor to make the peace. I was say at the table when things really kicked off and everyone’s attention was now drawn to my table so I couldn’t get up and leave, nor could I sit their staring. It was very awkward but unbelievably entertaining. The took it outside to another room beside the function room and the band started up again but I made some great friends that night as people were getting the story from me. It didn’t end well though and I think there was a big split in the family after it all. It was a terrible wedding but very entertaining post meal.
cj maxx wrote: » I did that myself. It was a far better wedding than the right one !
freshpopcorn wrote: » That's not him. I knew a priest and he could go missing, fall asleep at any event or sleep in and the family/alter servers would have to go to his house to wake the priest up for a wedding, funeral, etc.
freshpopcorn wrote: » I don’t know he was a nice man but he probably had some issues and could have being a bit lazy as well. You could meet hit at 12 at night at Tesco buying ice cream.
Cilldara_2000 wrote: » Obviously there's different strokes for different folks, but IMO, having had more than my fair share of loss, having loads of people sympathising and a big funeral or wake or both is helpful. Having said that, there's no excuse for these gob****es ignoring the sign on the door etc in this case.
HildaOgdenx wrote: » Was this him?
Sunny Disposition wrote: » Drink an awful curse sometimes and a huge factor in most ruined weddings.
lab man wrote: » ...the two lads were loaded and took out their tools in the middle of the dance floor jaysus twas cat
lab man wrote: » I was at a friends wedding a few yrs ago down in cork the brides family very quiet and humble lovely people there was 2 lads from grooms side of the wedding drinking with a fella I know that drinks brandy with a bottle of bud all day together hed drink like a suck calf the 2 lads thought they'd bury yer man anyway but by 7 or 8 he was drinking no bother an the two lads were loaded and took out their tools in the middle of the dance floor jaysus twas cat their parents hardly spoke to them for 3 mts after twas a great wedding in fairness
Necro wrote: » Mod: Can we not drag this excellent thread off topic discussing or criticizing other people's posts? I've removed some posts doing this. Thanks.
Deleted User wrote: » I was at the afters of a wedding 15 years ago where two of the bridesmaids were knocking lumps out of each other over a man. The stud in question was sleep facedown on a table until one of the bridesmaids kicked him off his chair into the floor. I didnt know the bride & groom as I was a plus one, but it sure was entertaining