Padre_Pio wrote: » At least our lads know they're on extremely thin ice.
igCorcaigh wrote: » Yet it's the opposite of it. It seems that the government in London cares not a jot for the regions.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » Nonetheless, taking the UK as a whole, that's democracy. Of course what renders it even more farcical is that none of the main GB parties run candidates in NI.
Nqp15hhu wrote: » They say “U.K. parliament voted for this”, yes they did. But what use is an MP from Hemel Hempstead to me, they don’t understand NI, and they don’t care about the impacts of this Protocol.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » Does unionism really represent your best interests?
NeuralNetwork wrote: » It was ignored, just like anything else because Brexit is a parlour game between a bunch of overgrown public school boys and girls.
BluePlanet wrote: » Private school boys, not public.
Nqp15hhu wrote: » Eugh people outside NI don’t look at this the way we do. They don’t think about the real world impact of the protocol, the loss of jobs, the loss of choice, the tariffs, the constant forms, the checks etc. They see it as a competition between Unionism and Nationalism and the U.K. and Europe. Real people on the ground are affected by this protocol. Continual blame and forcing the entire population of NI to suffer is wrong, and not the right approach. If you want to punish us, what does that say about you? That you HATE Unionism and want to cripple Northern Ireland. I’m sick of hearing about the DUP did this, the DUP did that. Enough about them. And work to help the people in NI
Nqp15hhu wrote: » Have some empathy. We’re ALL suffering from trade barriers. It’s not one community.
The NI Protocol was thrown on us. Nobody here voted for it or asked for it, no matter what you say.
Nqp15hhu wrote: » I guess you all think NI should burn to the ground.
Nqp15hhu wrote: » I agree. But many outside NI see the NI Protocol that way, they think we should all suffer. They say “U.K. parliament voted for this”, yes they did. But what use is an MP from Hemel Hempstead to me, they don’t understand NI, and they don’t care about the impacts of this Protocol. This protocol is unsustainable in its current form. It’s just too rigid and uncompromising.
briany wrote: » In the context of NI history, this whole thing rates as a pretty big fat 'meh'. I'm not trying to be facetious about criminal actions, but it's not a big deal in comparison to what's happened in the past, or even skirmishes during peacetime over basically nothing at all. Scobies are going to scobe, I suppose. If the worst of the vitriol is this type of stupidity and some lad in a Linfield jersey, with bad tats and a ratty moustache, being interviewed for a Guardian YT piece in an anonymous-looking housing estate outside Belfast, going "This whole thing's doon mah fockin' head in. This sea border's only the start'f it. Ten more years of this and we'll be livin' under the trickolour. Yoo mark mai wurrds.", then what is that but business as usual in the North?
igCorcaigh wrote: » I think the point to take note of is that the kids in the street are being directed by more senior figures. The message being sent is that they are willing to use violence and street disturbances to block the implementation of the NI protocol.
briany wrote: » But none of this really new is the point I'm making, and is highly unlikely to change the situation. Paramilitary figures directing clueless youngsters to engage in criminal actions isn't a new thing in Northern Ireland. Clashes with police when something goes against Loyalists' wishes is nothing new, be it the 2013 flag protests, not being allowed to march through Ardoyne and now the NI protocol. They're always threatening to kick off in response to anything even a bit against their wishes. The problem that these Loyalist groups face is that I don't think there's really that much of a mandate for what they're doing. The people of NI, of either community haven't really the appetite for anything like a large-scale return to violence, so the net result is little pockets of knackers doing criminal damage under a political banner, as opposed to their usual banner of being bored and tanked up on Buckfast. And to the rest of the world, it's all just part of the white noise out of that wee country.
Feisar wrote: » Did ye see the fúckin egit that set himself alight? Spewed tea laughing at the clown.