wicklowstevo wrote: » surely your not claiming that Collins was a member of sf as it exists now ? . sure they were only started in the late 60s early 70s ?? even the most basic understanding of Irish history shows that
wicklowstevo wrote: » your trying to equate your terrorist organisation with the war of independence a flat out blatant lie that you've been busted for before if im not mistaken
Natterjack from Kerry wrote: » I'm not sure where he is going with that either.
James Brown wrote: » How is an opinion based on fact a lie? Collins was a murderer and a terrorist. Its historical fact. He's just one you happen to like. After a united Ireland we might see a portrait of Bobby Sands or Martin McGuinness hanging up
James Brown wrote: » Collins was a murderer and a terrorist. Its historical fact.
James Brown wrote: » After a united Ireland we might see a portrait of Bobby Sands or Martin McGuinness hanging up
wicklowstevo wrote: » Collins died in 1922https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Collins_(Irish_leader) sf was founded on 17/1/1970https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sinn_Féin you might as well claim brian boru voted for Gerry adams
Natterjack from Kerry wrote: » Absolutely. A vile man. While nonsense like pictures of Collins is gotten away with, the idea of Sands or McG being similarly displayed is the very reason a UI is unlikely to impossible. Only a change of attitude in condemning those terrorists can show a true interest in a UI.
James Brown wrote: » Like Collins they are heroes to some and after a UI when the dust settles they'll likely receive similar accolades and such. Collins killing for the cause was legitimised by time and a romanticised look back. The rising lads were far from popular at the time.
markodaly wrote: » The lower IQ types are the new core vote for SF.
Natterjack from Kerry wrote: » Thats a preposterous suggestion. There was no sizeable 'British' population former victims of Collins and Co in the Free State. A UI includes by definition a great number of people, the direct victims of provos. It would be insensitive in the extreme, and a surprising and counterproductive attitude from anyone interested in a UI.
Whatisthisnow wrote: » They tryed to get some blame at SF for this. Helen came onto radio this morning and lied. Garda Commissioner then has to come out and state what he said yesterday about the far left was bull**** More votes for Sinn Fein. Thanks lads
James Brown wrote: » Nice. Attack the public because they decide to vote in an election didn't go your way. How childish and insulting.
blanch152 wrote: » There isn't a hope in hell of either a picture or statue of Sands or McGuinness during my lifetime. There won't be a united Ireland either until an apology is made to the unionist community by Sinn Fein.
blanch152 wrote: » They had to nobble Holohan before he jumped on the bandwagon.
Whatisthisnow wrote: » Why not, if theres a vote on it from both sides and a united Ireland is agreed, not much the DUP & co can do The same way they could do nothing in stopping the GFA
James Brown wrote: » a democratic process that's thanks in no small part to people like the IRA.
walshb wrote: » Can someone clear up something for me. Are SF still linked to Paddy Holohan or have they officially given him the boot? And if they haven’t disassociated themselves with him, can we get first unanimous agreement on this thread, that they absolutely should disassociate from him?!
Natterjack from Kerry wrote: » Jaysus. The mind bend to actually write that, let along believe it. Is anyone aware of psychology studies on what happens to the minds to people really believing the SF/IRA dogma ? Is it the same as QAnon, scientology, or other delusional beliefs ? Would SF/IRA hardliners diagnose similar to cult members for example ?
Eric Cartman wrote: » publicly suspended but still internally associated. He has espoused anti lockdown views, hatred of women, racist views against Leo varadkar. so in essence he's right there with the SF core vote and will just be quietly welcomed back in when its all quiet again.
blanch152 wrote: » Eh, you missed his welcome back, it’s happened already, they nominated him for mayor of South Dublin.And there are a few on here who think he was right in everything he said.
blanch152 wrote: » What I mean is that in order to get a majority yes vote, that is one of the steps Sinn Fein will have to take - a genuine apology for the work of the PIRA. Without that, a vote has no chance. Posters here, living in the past, don’t get that reality.