Hubertj wrote: » I do not understand a €5m price differential here.https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/grianblah-26-palmerston-park-rathmines-dublin-6/4460604https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/ananda-st-georges-avenue-killiney-co-dublin/4483719
schmittel wrote: » I saw the Killiney one in the paper and surprised myself by thinking it is pretty awesome - definitely not normally something I'd like, but if you're going to go all out and build a Bond villain type of lair I reckoned the owner had made pretty good go of it! The Rathmines one is bit pastiche I think. No doubt very expensively built, finest finishes etc, but it does not really have a wow factor. It's definitely not unique in the way the Killiney one is. IMO. Re pricing I'd say the Killiney one is asking 10m on the strength of the fact Conor McGregor is looking at 10m houses in the area. Presumably that would be right up his street!
awec wrote: » I agree. The Rathmines one is just another of many very large houses in Dublin with decent land around them, with very little imagination gone into it's design. If I had 10 million to buy a house I'd buy that Killiney one tomorrow.
schmittel wrote: » Yep, I think I would too. Pricing might be optimistic/opportunistic but it is totally unique. It's not like you could pass on this confident that something similiar/better would come on the market.
Cyrus wrote: » Is McGregor still looking? Thought that rumour died a year ago but maybe it’s back again. Some of The kinahans were supposed to be moving in to a new estate a few years back too a rival developer lost the run of himself making up stories apparently .
schmittel wrote: » I know for certain McGregor was more than a rumour. No idea if he is still looking though.
Cyrus wrote: » If this hasn’t sold in a couple of years at under 9 I can’t see that getting 10. But maybe I’ll be proven wrong, you’d hardly get a Range Rover up glenalua road
jill_valentine wrote: » Indeed. For the record I'm aware of an actual estate agent office where the whole staff were on wage supports, which did become a concern to staffmembers' own mortgage applications. It's not all baristas.
MacronvFrugals wrote: » I get the impression if SF get anywhere near government and cant increase supply quickly they will have no problem 'kneecapping landlords' whether that be small time or institutional, i agree with you if the polls are going one way a large amount of supply will enter the market.
Galwayhurl wrote: » Financially kneecapping institutional landlords is precisely what we need. The amount of vacant properties they hold is criminal. All in the name of being able to state to their investors that the average market rent is much higher than it would be if they rented the vacant lots out. There needs to be a flat rate of 30% tax on rental income country wide. Whether you're a PAYE worker or a REIT. 50% on a PAYE landlord while a REIT pays 5% or 10% is just unfair and bad for the market. I'm not even a property owner and I recognise this. I'm saving for my first home.
PropQueries wrote: » Don’t fall for it. Landlords pay the exact same tax on their income as you do. If you pay 20%, so does the landlord if that’s all the income they receive. They also get subsidised by the state by HAP etc. Many of the government initiatives over the past ten years, from CGT tax reliefs to HAP have been introduced to benefit small Irish landlords. The only reason they’re upset now is that they’re forced to register their rental property and must now pay income tax like most of the rest of us.
awec wrote: » REITs are tax exempt for both corpo tax and CGT as far as I remember.
PropQueries wrote: » I was referring to his post where he believed small landlords were getting a bad deal. But I’ll go back and change the original post from “landlord” to “small landlord” for you to avoid further ambiguities
PropQueries wrote: » Don’t fall for it. Small Landlords pay the exact same tax on their income as you do. If you pay 20%, so does the landlord if that’s all the income they receive. They also get heavily subsidised by the state through HAP etc. Many of the government initiatives over the past ten years, from CGT tax reliefs to HAP have been introduced to benefit small Irish landlords. The only reason they’re upset now is that they’re forced to register their rental property and must now pay income tax like most of the rest of us.
awec wrote: » Sorry, I misinterpreted. I actually agree with you on this. When it comes to paying tax on income for landlords, I have no sympathy for any suggestion they're over-burdened.
Galwayhurl wrote: » I thought that if a small landlord is paying PAYE tax at the higher rate that the rental income they receive is at the higher rate of tax as well, no? E.G. if a Garda/teacher/nurse owns a second property that they let out, and they are in the higher tax band, they pay 40% tax plus USC on their rental income? Anyway, my point is that landlords, be they small or institutional, should pay the same tax on all rental income.
Timing belt wrote: » If you throw enough sh1tt some of it will always stick lol
Villa05 wrote: » Some podcasts that may interest many hereAffordable Housing Bill Debate Claire ByrneHow to fix the housing Market David McWilliams podcast following on from article discussed earlierThe Finacialization of the global economy David McWilliams Helps to understand whats happening with investment funds
woejus wrote: » Marino Avenue was being hawked across all the EAs international affiliates, was in the FT weekend property pages for years, it was an acquired taste, old-school decor etc Before thepropertypin went full retard there was a great write up by Observer35 (iirc) on the high end gaffs in the area. A few years back I was there when BMW did a launch for a 7 or 8 series up there... it's a big series of boxes and not really a €10m kind of place for reasons you mentioned; narrow road (George's Ave/Glenalua), it's not private in that Kenah Hill is on the same plot. For that kind of cash, I don't want to see any neighbours! That and the frankly poxy fencing job between the plot and the knacker drinkers paradise that is Mullins Hill. If anything they should have fixed that at the very least!
Amazon is currently setting up camp just off the N7 in Dublin and when its same or next-day delivery services begin in Ireland, it is likely to lay waste to parts of the domestic retail sector. That part of the economy was already in enough trouble as it was. We’ve all become used to shopping at home in our boxer shorts at our laptops. That is a structural change in consumer behaviour and its effects will become fully apparent only after the pandemic recedes.
But it could be several years before foreign tourists return, and as they do, the staycationers that are currently the sector’s only nourishment will be forming orderly queues at the exit gates of Irish airports. Which of the tourism businesses among the totality that are currently on State life support will survive all the tumult to come? We’ll never know until they go. And that’s before we figure out what will happen to the corporate meetings market after the pandemic.
Billythekid19 wrote: » McWilliams made a great point in that podcast. Along with covid, part of the reason people aren't selling their houses in 2021 is because prices are rising. Why sell my 500k house now when I can sell it for 525k in 12 months if the rising market continues. It says more about our greed than anything else really. We see houses as investments as opposed to other countries who treat them as basic necessities.