patsy_mccabe wrote: » Heard this story second hand - guy goes into knackers yard and there's yer man sitting on a dead cow drinking tea and eating a sandwich. He stands up and leaves his half eaten sandwich on the cows belly.
Thepillowman wrote: » My late father knew a guy who worked in a knackery back in the 60s. reckoned any thing that came in fairly fresh yer man would take a few prime cuts to bring home for the dinner. Same fella lived into his 90s.
whelan2 wrote: » See that's the thing, it didnt do them any harm. The way people carry on now with everything having to be spotless cant be good either. There is a medium I think
K.G. wrote: » God ,this thread .i dont know whos worse the subjects or the people talking about them.
_Brian wrote: » Neighbor is a bachelor, now in late 70’s. Every few years he goes on a spending spree. About 15years ago he bought a tractor and a rubber wheeled digger, maybe a Ford I don’t remember. The digger was scrap, it spent more time being fixed than digging, we can all get stuck with a Turkey sometimes. The digger finished its life in the river. He got down into the river where he was driving along and scooping up the bed behind him onto the bank with the back actor, summer and the water was low. It gave up anyway and he couldn’t get it going, had someone look at it but it seemed serious. She was there with jacks down and everything. Four years it sat in the river until it was sold for scrap. Dragged out with an ex120 I think.
Kevhog1988 wrote: » Why didnt he dig off the bank
blue5000 wrote: » I reckon contracting in the early days must have been rough. One lad I know when he was finished a smallish silage pit was surprised that instead of buying a sheet of plastic, the woman of the house had made a sheet out of empty plastic bags and 'welded' them together with the iron.
Danzy wrote: » Anyone else using this thread for ideaa and plans?
_Brian wrote: » That was quite the job. The electricity would have paid for a cover.
whisky_galore wrote: » They're still being knocked to this day. People generally in this country don't like old and esp small and old houses.
whelan2 wrote: » Aye am going to save the fertiliser bags for the pit. Pit is 120ft by 60
patsy_mccabe wrote: » The lads at silage years ago were mad. A guy drawing here one time told me he was nosing out the gate of a field one day and this woman came flying around the corner. She took the front axle and wheels completely off. He was roaring laughing telling me.
barneygumble99 wrote: » I Would be common enough also to be give an alcoholic beverage with your dinner in some farmhouse.
Jb1989 wrote: » Could been a hot iron from the fireside.
Deleted User wrote: » I know of a place it took 4 combines,nearly 3 weeks to cut 9 acres of barley....this was less than 5 years ago The ould lads about,made out a threshing machine would have been quicker!!
PoorFarmer wrote: » It was a bad house that wouldnt give you one. One particular old man used to have the water trough near the pit packed with pint bottles of Guinness and Harp for us.
Dickie10 wrote: » what was going on?