jb88 wrote: » A bit of cop on from the Revenue commissioners might have sorted this out quickly and saved the state a lot of money. I guess this was one of those cases where we think the shooter gained, in a situation that never should have been let go to the stage where it needs to reach the high court.
Feisar wrote: » Firstly congrats to the OP on coming out on the right side. Not sure "win" is the correct expression here but congrats nonetheless. As to the quoted, who the hell in revenue decides to tootle down to the high court. Would they not of got advice on the point of law instead of the fuss caused? Is their no one held accountable for these things?
BattleCorp wrote: » Revenue didn't decide to go to the High Court. The shooter decided to go to the High Court because he thought he wasn't getting fair play from Revenue. Turns out he was right. He wasn't getting fair play.
freddieot wrote: » Why bother to check your position or change your mind if someone else pays when you are wrong.....
Grizzly 45 wrote: » "Lessons were learned,none to blame,we must all move along" Std Irish govt and institutional reaponse.Be it turning a blind eye to church run labour camps, to a case like this...Vomit inducing.
Feisar wrote: » Sorry, point taken however should revenue not checked their position before going to court on it?
BattleCorp wrote: » Maybe Revenue absolutely believed their position? Maybe they got bad legal advice? Maybe they didn't want to lose face? Maybe they didn't care about the cost of a court case? Maybe they thought they could bully the OP into going away? I don't know why to be honest.
Grizzly 45 wrote: » Answer ...ALL of the above! The arrogance of authority that is never challenged.
Feisar wrote: » Wasn't asking you specifically more of a "jaysus you'd think they'd have their ducks in a row" sort of comment.
BattleCorp wrote: » Sorry. Misunderstood. Yeah you are right, they should have had their ducks in a row. But maybe Revenue thought they did. Court cases are very rarely 100% certanties and maybe Revenue thought they had a good chance of winning. I'm absolutely delighted that the OP won but I'm going to try and defend Revenue here just for the lark. The rules around what is an essential component and what is an accessory weren't 100% clear. My guess what happened, and this is only a guess, is the Gardai decided to use this as a test case to determine what exactly the law says and used Revenue as a shield (or vice versa). Things are now clearer as a result of this case so everyone now knows where they stand. Luckily for us, it went our way.
meathstevie wrote: » That’s quite possible but it sounds like a very elaborate and expensive way to find out if you’re right or wrong especially since nearly every arm and branch of government has a legal department or access to legal advice without running the risk of being billed for a rake of hours by barristers and solicitors, in this case from both sides of the case.
Zxthinger wrote: » So. under two parts of the act.. i.e. (i) a component- any gun part 'and.... (ii) without which it couldn't function as original intended.. etc..But the 'importer's licenced gun' was fully fictional and licensed as so, then they were not obtaining component parts.. at least not in regards to part (ii)...
Zxthinger wrote: » Looks like NV scopes are still off limits as are silencers. So in theory licenced holders are now allowed to import, without licence, parts that are not beemed as essential component parts?
BattleCorp wrote: » You don't need a firearms licence to have a NV scope. You don't need any permission whatsoever to have it in your possession. You only need authorisation if and when it's mounted on a firearm.
Mellor wrote: » I don’t think that logic holds up in general. Just because the current licensed firearm is functional thats doesn’t mean all new parts are non-component. As they could be replacement of component parts Eg A replacement barrel would likely be considered a component part, even though the existing gun could be functional without it.
Zxthinger wrote: » We let's say you are right. You don't need permission or authority to own one. However it's still caused as a firearm in the act and if your importing one you'll prob find your running the next test case.. unless you have authority to have one. I have applied for them on some of my licences. I never received written authority but I was granted the licences with no conditions..
With that said, there is hardly a dealer out there that silll sell you a second barrel without taking your old one and charging a massive fee to have it fitted too.