smurgen wrote: » Imagine the we all knew point holds no water. The extent of the abuse was not widely know. There's been cover up after cover up. If society knew what was happening the gritty details then tell me this. How come even now in Bessborough we don't know where the bodies are?
smurgen wrote: » It's like right now do we see rte inside the direct provision centers videoing condition. Sure we know it's bad but are the gritty details spread on six o clock news? If they were the calls to close it would get louder.
Bowie wrote: » What part of 'specifically mention the Garda and politicians' do you not comprehend? We all share a blame. Do you think the institutions should apologise or not? How do you feel about the whole thing? You've not commented other than to try shut others down IMO.
The Labour leader Alan Kelly said the Dáil should introduce legislation to secure assets from religious institutions if they do not contribute to the State's scheme for survivors of Mother and Baby Homes. He told the Dáil that he would draft the bill himself. Deputy Kelly repeated that it should take weeks rather than months to introduce legislation to assist survivors. He said the Government's end-of-year deadline should revised, adding that opposition parties would facilitate such a move. He said he supported a call from the Irish Council for Civil Liberties for a separate investigation to examine the "system of secret adoption and family separation to add to our knowledge about this shameful history". He described Catherine Corless as "a hero of this nation".
blanch152 wrote: » How am I shutting others down? I don't go around reporting posts trying to shut people up. I don't deny you your right to an opinion. I do parse, analyse, criticise and debunk your opinion, but I won't deny you the right to hold the opinion.
blanch152 wrote: » Martin apologised for the Mother and Baby House wrongs. Still waiting on Gerry, Mary-Lou and Michelle to apologise for all the wrongs committed by the PIRA.
Cluedo Monopoly wrote: » Alan Kelly response Why does it take so long for FFG to compile important legislation? If the banks needed a bailout, it would be done in a day. They have made a bags of it. They really have. The optics are terrible. The Green party know they took a bullet here too.
SmokyMo wrote: » Are people really trying to compare body tallies between IRA and this? We are talking about babies, children and infants in A THOUSANDS over decades. Lukewarm level range IQ.
Fann Linn wrote: » Just the blueshirts. Was to be expected anyway.
Fann Linn wrote: » Did MM apologise on behalf of FF considering they were in power for most of 20th century?
Bowie wrote: » No, he apologised for you on your behalf. It really is the 'we all partied', 'all went mad' attitude.
Bowie wrote: » Have I a chip on my shoulder over this? ****ing right I do. I'm quoting a survivor asking why the Garda specifically were not mentioned. She was taken from her home 8 months pregnant by a Garda, a Priest and a Doctor. She specifically statedy that the local FF/FG politicians were well aware and she's asking why MM said state and 'we' but not the Garda and politicians. Will you explain your chip or need to hand wave that away?
Triangle wrote: » FFs the gardai are part of the state. Specifically the law part of the state. He can't mention every fecking arm of the state. By saying the state, it emcompasses the entirety. But I've only ever seen you complain and find fault. What he said was fairly encompassing on every aspect of life back then.
McMurphy wrote: » The Provos apologized for all the non combatants that were killed by them during the troubles. Why would anyone else apologise on their behalf after that? Did you miss the report from a few weeks ago that stated they (Sinn Fein and the army council) were completely separate from one another, neither one controlled the other? But, are you trying to deflect here, after whinging about the likes of this happening? Surely not blanch, surely not.
Triangle wrote: » Off topic on this thread, but they still haven't identified where some of the murdered people were buried. Not a great apology imo.
Triangle wrote: » FFs the gardai are part of the state. Specifically the law part of the state. He can't mention every fecking arm of the state. By saying the state, it emcompasses the entirety. But I've only ever seen you complain and find fault. What he said was fairly encompassing on every aspect of life back then. Edit: if he did break it down to particular sections of the state, you'd probably be on complaining he forgot one
FrancieBrady wrote: » Donnelly trying to bully the Leas CC and coming off second best. Hard to dispel the arrogant cloud around him.https://twitter.com/PapaFilippoG/status/1349447574042914816
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » Did Eamon Ryan actually fall asleep again today or is it fake news?
smurgen wrote: An important fact check as the government spin picks up pace.Did the government actually follow NPHET's advice heading into December? Nope.
Wanderer78 wrote: » The needs of the economy were far more important, the poor petal it is
smurgen wrote: What needs of the economy are being met now?