FrancieBrady wrote: » Gerry is not a judge or the police. Adams and McGuinness had whole communities to keep on board as well as an organisation with disparate views. I can see why he would say what he did. It's not as if it interfered in the justice process, he was careful to criticise Murphy for the crime he was convicted of.
jh79 wrote: » Maybe if Gerry clarified what makes Slab a "Good Republican" there wouldn't be any need to speculate.
jh79 wrote: » But how far are SF willing to go to placate their "former comrades"? Look at McCartney, the man was disemboweled in front of numerous SF members and they got away with it.
FrancieBrady wrote: » He criticised him for breaking the law. I believe and have said before that we are living in a post conflict/war society here and these things are going to tragically happen. Plenty of the same savagery across society if you have your eyes opened in an unblinkered way. SF are certainly not without blame for making mistakes and I have certainly criticised them when they did. I was not able to vote for them until the last GE as a result. I think of all the participants/players in the conflict/war that they have made the move to democratic politics best and I believe they are committed to that path.
jh79 wrote: » They have to draw a line in sand at some stage. Don't want this to be a generational thing where the future generations of "Good Republicans" have the protection of SF.
FrancieBrady wrote: » What line did FF draw about cronyism and protection, they never disarmed after independence too BTW...or FG for that matter...they went looking for Lowry's support just recently...'good FGer'? For me SF have been moving in the right direction for a long time...sufficient for me to give them a vote and more and more of my fella citizens.
jh79 wrote: » No society has removed corruption from politics but It's different when murders are involved.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Nowt like a bit of exceptionalism when the spotlight comes on you I suppose.
a very cool kid wrote: » During your "transition" people in the six counties will be paid differently to people in the 26 - that's discrimination. I also noticed you mentioned merging positions, do you mean public sector redundancies by that?
tran·si·tion /tranˈziSH(ə)n,tranˈsiSH(ə)n/ Learn to pronouncenoun the process or a period of changing from one state or condition to another. "students in transition from one program to another"
blanch152 wrote: » People will be discriminated against for the length of the transition period as you have just admitted. Complete nonsense and spoofology on this subject from the SF acolytes on here. Go back to the scenario I put forward for child benefit and tell me which of the three options you will take. There are no other ones.
statesaver wrote: » Fear and division ? Hahahahahahahttps://twitter.com/WalkerMarcus/status/1346947578043240448
jh79 wrote: » You're right , not the gardai but the justice system. So was his tax evasion "for the cause" or just to line his own pockets?
Bowie wrote: » He should be fined or whatever. Fine Gael dodged a tax for 9 years until caught. Not fair on the rest of us but it seems tax dodgers gonna dodge tax.
jh79 wrote: » It's not the tax evaders I'm worried about, as you say tax dodgers gonna dodge tax. It happens in every society. Murders like that of McCartney are my concern. Only equivalent I can think of in the EU is Golden Dawn in Greece where criminal elements had political protection.
Brendan Bendar wrote: » Golden Dawn...... are they the tossers who had half the lefties in Ireland over supporting them? Was big Pearse over there....... and Murphy?
So was his tax evasion "for the cause" or just to line his own pockets?
Bowie wrote: » I was responding to: Depends on your politics and understanding of the world. Folk are aghast at myself and Enda Kenny likening the situation in the north of the country to post war Germany pre unification. Yet here you are making comparisons between a far right race hate based group and a murder to IMO imply SF are the Irish equivalent of Golden Dawn, which is a nonsense. The idea that a party with links to an illegal organisation which consisted of people who engaged in illegal activity, might have links to criminals is very shocking I know.
jh79 wrote: » No they are the far right party. They were involved in all sorts of criminality but had political protection due to their success at the election during the bail out fiasco.
jh79 wrote: » Name me any other parties in Europe apart from Golden Dawn and SF where members have links with criminal elements involved in murders? There was a SF piss up in the pub the night McCartney was murdered. There was even a bus load from Derry SF there.
jh79 wrote: » Name me any other parties in Europe apart from Golden Dawn and SF where members have links with criminal elements involved in murders? .
A SUGGESTION from the DUP’s Jeffrey Donaldson that Ireland should join the Commonwealth was met with applause at Fine Gael’s National Conference
jh79 wrote: » Sure what's a few murder when it's "for the cause"?
McMurphy wrote: » Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the (FG approved) Democratic Unionist Party.Fine Gael audience applauds as DUP's Donaldson says Ireland should join the Commonwealth But like Maira Cahill's links with Dissident republicans, the blueshirts have absolutely zero problems with criminal and terrorist organisations, so long as they share a mutual dislike if the Shinners. . Get up the yard and stop embarrassing yoursel j.
FreudianSlippers wrote: » This is probably slightly, if not entirely, off-topic but your post made this pop into my head. Firstly, let's not be ridiculous, Ireland will never be part of the Commonwealth. That being said, if Unionism is a major drive for many in the North, couldn't we negotiate a deal whereby there is a one-island nation but anyone who wants to be a Commonwealth Citizen can choose to be one? I know there are bi-lateral agreements with non-Commonwealth Nations who grant certain rights to Commonwealth Citizens... surely some tweaking of those rules for Ireland as a "special case" wouldn't be outside the realm of possibilities? I can't think of a good objection from a republican standpoint either. Did I just crack this lads? :pac:
McMurphy wrote: » Easily to confuse the two j, sure look at Leo - "if you're straight, white, male and middle class, the Shinners don't want you"
Also Leo in the next breath - "the Shinners are racist homophobic sexists"
RandomViewer wrote: » It was FG who pulled Ireland out of the Commonwealth originally, while the Brutons and Kneel would be all for it the corduroy grassroots wouldnt be
FreudianSlippers wrote: » This is probably slightly, if not entirely, off-topic but your post made this pop into my head. Firstly, let's not be ridiculous, Ireland will never be part of the Commonwealth. That being said, if Unionism is a major drive for many in the North, couldn't we negotiate a deal whereby there is a one-island nation but anyone who wants to be a Commonwealth Citizen can choose to be one? I know there are bi-lateral agreements with non-Commonwealth Nations who grant certain rights to Commonwealth Citizens... surely some tweaking of those rules for Ireland as a "special case" wouldn't be outside the realm of possibilities?I can't think of a good objection from a republican standpoint either. Did I just crack this lads? :pac:
Irish_republicanism Irish republicanism (Irish: poblachtánachas Éireannach) is the political movement for the unity and independence of Ireland under a Republic. Irish republicans view British rule in any part of Ireland as inherently illegitimate.
British Commonwealth Noun. 1. British Commonwealth - an association of nations consisting of the United Kingdom and several former British colonies that are now sovereign states but still pay allegiance to the British Crown.
Bowie wrote: » How about now?