McMurphy wrote: » I wish her and her family a speedy recovery. One wonders if the same lads bemoaning MLMD for isolating for having "a head cold" and "disappearing" will be screaming the same things about Helen, now the shoes on the other foot?
FrancieBrady wrote: » Looking at the immediate (dare I say unprecedented) ****storm on Twitter over the Leaving Cert, I predict another u-turn...what are they thinking/doing. Chaotic government again.
Deleted User wrote: » They’re damned if they do and damned if they don’t. Cop on, folks. Stay home. Stay safe.
FrancieBrady wrote: » How do teachers and the families of a Leaving Cert student 'stay safe'?
Deleted User wrote: » You know, Smurgen, some of us can actually think for ourselves. We don’t need the government to tell us how bad things are and that we’re safest staying home and avoiding people, including our children, siblings, etc as the alternative could lead to us never seeing them ever again.
blanch152 wrote: » Ah here, this is hysterical nonsense taken to the ultimate. How do families of Tesco workers stay safe? Families of nursing home workers? Families of gardai? Schools have been shown to be among the safest workplace in the pandemic (any teacher who disagrees should be given a week in a meat factory). Weekly school throughput will be reduced by 90% if Leaving Cert students are there three times a week. A brave but good decision by the government.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Think they said they will start doing that at the daily briefings shortly. Probably sent Paschal to PC World to get a computer capable of doing it.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Jaysus...they aren't even considering advice now.https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1346896852604608515
Bowie wrote: » Ah the earlier attack on teachers/unions makes sense for they were not consulted either. Who do these clowns think they are? They don't want to accept responsibility yet give out these restrictions without consultation and expect them to be followed. Joke. They'll flip on the 3 days right course of action within 48 hours....and of course that will be doing the right thing too :rolleyes:
Fann Linn wrote: » Just now on TV3 news, reporting that Norma refused on many media interviews this evening whether to confirm or deny whether they consulted with Nphet on this issue.
Fann Linn wrote: » Just now on TV3 news, reporting that Norma refused on many media interviews this evening whether to confirm or deny whether they cShe onsulted with Nphet on this issue.
FrancieBrady wrote: » It's utterly bizarre carry on.
Cluedo Monopoly wrote: » My thoughts exactly. Bizarre. I think many are confused by the 3 day LC idea. I can see the government backtracking on that one fairly soon. Foley was a very poor choice for minister for education but then again, FFG hasn't got a great pool to pick from.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Minister will take the fall for it, but these guys sat around at cabinet for most of the day discussing this.
Cluedo Monopoly wrote: » I think the government are trying to make a point here and also trying to make sure that some of their past comments don't look stupid (like Madigan's just yesterday ). But they clearly don't have the unions/teachers on board so it will be an A in Chaos. I also doubt the Dept of Education have provided the adequate support to teachers since March so the level of service to students will be patchy at best in this term. No learnings, no planning, no foresight, no contingency plans, no leadership, no accountability.......just reactive chaos.
McMurphy wrote: » The LC students on a 3 day week is the most ridiculous thing I've heard during the whole pandemic. Either chose the feckin schools or keep them open, this 3 day a week thing is absolutely pish, and they should reverse it now before they look like bigger plonkers doing it in a few weeks.
McMurphy wrote: » The LC students on a 3 day week is the most ridiculous thing I've heard during the whole pandemic. Either close the feckin schools or keep them open, this 3 day a week thing is absolutely pish, The virus is spreadable and infectious regardless of how many days they're in or not. They should reverse it now before they look like bigger plonkers doing it in a few weeks.