JeffKenna wrote: » Kerry were only a match for Dublin when Dublin were down to 14 players. They got destroyed in the replay 15 v 15.
The Golden Miller wrote: » No they didn't. They ran out of steam, because they simply don't have the same strength and conditioning, nowhere near to the professional level of coaching that Dublin do anyway. In effect, they are relying purely on talent to counteract all Dublin's advantages. You would assume, on a level playing field and with the same advantages, they'd be ahead of Dublin, like they generally always were
JeffKenna wrote: » I agree with all of that, what I don't agree with was your statement that Kerry were a match for Dublin last year. They weren't, they were only a match for them when Dublin went down to 14 players.
The Golden Miller wrote: » Wasn't there 3 points in it before the red. And second game went into half time level? With Dublin slowly crawling ahead in second game as Kerry wore out? Maybe my memory is hazy. What your picking me up is really an aside to the point. I'll rephrase, Kerry are operating on a level close enough to Dublin, despite disadvantages. That speaks volumes for the talent that comes out of the county. In the long run, Kerry will be an outlier, as the only team that will able to put up some sort of a challenge, purely because of the talent they produce with a limited population. But will ultimately come up short. The rest can't produce players to Kerry's level, so the gap will widen between Dublin and 30 counties.
thesultan wrote: » Do the Dubs here not agree that the Dubs are operating at a professional level since they always blow teams away in thd last ten minutes of games..
Panrich wrote: » I think that Kerry will give the Dubs a run in future but there is still hope for the other 30 counties as well. Kerry don’t have a monopoly on talent. You say the rest can’t produce players to Kerry’s level but Mayo have been the biggest challengers this decade. Look at the young players that Cork and Galway are producing as well. There’s got to be hope in these counties that they can come on to the level that Mayo were operating at and that would be enough to give us hope that we’ll see competition going forward.
ooter wrote: » https://www.gaa.ie/hurling/gaa-hurling-all-ireland-senior-championship/dublin-cork/1739645/ The hurling lads must've missed the S&C sessions. Sure tis grand when the Kerry senior footballers break the rules and get kit deals and sponsorship deals in the 80s and win all Irelands to bate the band but as soon as the dublin senior footballers start winning a few things the sky is falling down. This Dublin football team haven't broken any rules, the GOAT.
The Golden Miller wrote: » Kerry got huge government funding to restructure a failing game in the county?
ooter wrote: » No but they broke the rules, they cheated. The dublin senior footballers never broke the rules. The Dublin 2011 team with cluxton and jmc on board beats the 2020 team all day long.
mitchelsontour wrote: » What actually happened was fund raising for a team trip, not vast funding for professional coaching.https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/living-on-the-edge-of-old-rules-about-commercialism-26327565.html
ooter wrote: » Probably only the tip of the iceberg, Shure they don't call them cute hoors for nattin.
ooter wrote: » Your own link is proof that they broke the rules.
major interest wrote: » https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2020/1223/1186166-is-splitting-dublin-the-answer-to-leinsters-woes/ Piece on rte about the Leinster question and discussing the arguments for splits/amalgamations of counties. He argues the case for amalgamations of counties but seems to dismiss the idea of splits. Ultimately, I think both would be on the cards if the GAA goes down that route.
ooter wrote: » The system is clearly broken because Kerry have won 15 Munsters this century and Dublin have won 16 leinsters, but Kerry win 11 out of 12 Munsters in the 70/80s and there's nothing to see here.
JeffKenna wrote: » Munster is a hurling province bar Kerry and West Cork.
The Lost Sheep wrote: » which isnt really true when you look at plenty of areas in South Tipp, West Limerick. Clonmel and around it is very football orientated and considering Clonmel by considerable distance is biggest town in tipp it says a lot.
JeffKenna wrote: » So Tipp is a football county your saying?
ArielAtom wrote: » I’d say tipp are a dual county, as are Cork, Clare might also be considered dual. It’s what the GAA is about, but some counties choose one over the other.
JeffKenna wrote: » Poor enough article really, his rational for not splitting Dublin is identity yet he has no issue amalgating counties because their identity is linked to "Dubs versus the rest".
major interest wrote: » Yeah he contradicts himself there. If the identity issue can be overcome for amalgamating counties then surely the same applies for splitting a county.