Sardonicat wrote: » I usually enjoy it when older people chat to me on public transport. I've heard the most incredibly personal life stories on buses and trains from some amazing people. You might learn something, OP.
Everlong1 wrote: » They have books for that. Which I can choose to read or not, unlike being accosted by some old biddy on the bus where my choice is between a) ignoring her and being rude or b) forcing myself to trot out banalities until my stop arrives. Just to clarify by the way, I'm not sexist. There's plenty of oul fellas who indulge in this carry on as well. Oh, and another thing: I'm 56, so I'm not far off being a coffin dodger myself. Thankfully I'm not deluded enough to think that everyone on the bus wants to hear my opinion on the burning issues of the day. Or what I had for breakfast.
dxhound2005 wrote: » When you're explaining you're losing.
Everlong1 wrote: » my Xmas shopping
Everlong1 wrote: » Yeah I definitely should become another idiot who's happy to spend 5 hours a day stuck in traffic and who's so wedded to their car that the thought of a 10 minute walk to the shops sends them into a panic.
Everlong1 wrote: » Oh, and another thing: I'm 56, so I'm not far off being a coffin dodger myself.
Everlong1 wrote: » Who forced you to read it ?
Everlong1 wrote: » One of the silver linings of the Covid crisis for me is the restrictions on public transport. It's great to get on a bus and have the seat to yourself
Deleted User wrote: » had to double check but I knew without even reading your name in the OP you were the author of it. Your post is an arsehole.
CtevenSrowder wrote: » Ranting and raving forum is that way --->>>
Everlong1 wrote: » Considering how rarely I post you must REALLY like my work if you can recognise my style. The second line there doesn't even make sense. Or is that you want to call me an arsehole but are too chicken to say it directly in case you get banned for being abusive?
Deleted User wrote: » Not too chicken, too smart.
biko wrote: » It's a tricky thing having someone talking to you when you don't want it. If they are old I usually will chat to them. For you it can be 15/20 mins of discomfort, for them it could be 15/20 mins of the only human interaction they have all day.
Everlong1 wrote: » And yet not smart enough to recognise when someone posts something clearly not intended to be taken seriously.
Deleted User wrote: » Oh yes of course yes. Never heard that one before anyway. Classic cycle of: Make bad post Receive backlash Pull out the “guys it was a joke lol” card. Gway out of that.
Everlong1 wrote: » Going off now to flog myself and say a decade of the Rosary. Happy Xmas everyone.
Daragh1980 wrote: » CHRISTMAS NOT XMAS
Everlong1 wrote: » Oh God you've seen right through me. Yes I admit it, I'm totally gutted by the criticism my post generated from the crack Boards SJW squad. I'll NEVER post anything on social media again EVER. Going off now to flog myself and say a decade of the Rosary. Happy Xmas everyone.
Everlong1 wrote: » One of the silver linings of the Covid crisis for me is the restrictions on public transport. It's great to get on a bus and have the seat to yourself and know that some random mentaller isn't going to sit down beside you and start trying to talk to you. This I think is an affliction particular to Ireland where pensioners in particular can't seem to resist the compulsion to talk to total strangers. I find it hard enough to talk to people I've known my whole life, never mind some coffin dodger who's plonked their musty old a*se down beside me on the bus and decided I'm the person who gets to hear their life story today. I'm just back from doing the last of my Xmas shopping in town. There was some daft old bat in the seat behind me the entire journey moaning and complaining the entire way. She was obviously hoping someone would take her seriously and start joining her in talking sh*te the whole way home. And before yiz all giving out to me about the poor old lonely dear who probably has no one at home etc., this old bat didn't sound particularly lonely or isolated. She was just a typical cranky opinionated haridan who thought her particular hobby horses were so important that she just HAD to tell the first unfortunate person she saw. Thankfully, with seats being restricted to one occupant only she just had to be content with raving away to herself.
petes wrote: » Earphones...problem solved.