PhoneMain wrote: » Sure it was the same with Ciaran Mc, some people absolutely loathed him........sure apparently he was sleeping with half the county at 1 point!!!
PressRun wrote: » Haha, I remember this nonsense. Especially laughable given how utterly quiet and reserved he actually was off the pitch.
km79 wrote: »
PARlance wrote: » When you add that he's fond of keeping up to date with the latest fashion trends, he's on a hiding to nothing with some people. Extremely nice lad, keeps the head down despite media/public always (always) wanting a piece of him, very giving of his time and no airs or graces about him. We've been lucky to have a great crop of players over the last decade, on and off the pitch.
Mayo_fan wrote: » Especially if you can’t spell one of the two words you wrote. That episode summed up Conor Mortimer, too interested in making headlines and wasted the bit of talent he had and looked a right clown as usual, he probably spent a week planning that instead of focusing on the important things. He was always known as toxic in the dressing room, every managers worst nightmare.His Twitter account is a joke trying to be mates with anyone half famous, I used to get retweets but had to block him. I hear he is a self appointed doctor at the moment giving his 2c to everything and anything Covid related. Trevor on the other hand couldn’t be a more different footballer and character. 110% committed to mayo and liked to do his talking on the pitch
Conor.mortimer (Face with medical mask)Soccer ball@Conmort · 1h Get it to the most vulnerable and health care workers immediately.
Mayo_fan wrote: » Especially if you can’t spell one of the two words you wrote. That episode summed up Conor Mortimer, too interested in making headlines and wasted the bit of talent he had and looked a right clown as usual, he probably spent a week planning that instead of focusing on the important things. He was always known as toxic in the dressing room, every managers worst nightmare. His Twitter account is a joke trying to be mates with anyone half famous, I used to get retweets but had to block him. I hear he is a self appointed doctor at the moment giving his 2c to everything and anything Covid related. Trevor on the other hand couldn’t be a more different footballer and character. 110% committed to mayo and liked to do his talking on the pitch
km79 wrote: » I see the AoS bashing has started again. He is not and never will be a regular scorer . Especially when played midfield . Our kickouts were excellent yesterday. We also completely disrupted theirs . I suppose he had absolutely nothing to do with that . Simple question Who would ye play instead of him ? Who would ye bring on instead of him ? We will miss him when he is gone Like Liam McHale he will be appreciated more when he stops playing . Like Ciaran McDonald too.......he is everyone’s favorite now . I stood in many crowds when abuse was being hurled at him from mayo “supporters “ because of his “yellow hair and boots “ . He was nothing but a “fancy dan “. We are a weird bunch at times .If some supporters were listened to then Clarke , Keegan , Coen , O shea , Diarmuid and Cillian YES CILLIAN would not have started for us this year. We must have a serious B squad somewhere because our bench made no impact as usual . I’m annoyed now
Audioslaven wrote: » That's not entirely the case in my opinion. I think he probably does not like this attention that this brings, as it offers nothing to the team. Imagine if a player lifted their top and Horan in charge with RIP to somebody. He would go mental and rightly so. Those days are long gone and leave them in the past.
Audioslaven wrote: » Imagine if a player lifted their top and Horan in charge with RIP to somebody. He would go mental and rightly so. Those days are long gone and leave them in the past.
PressRun wrote: » I suspect the fact that he's a good looking lad probably plays a part in it too. It's the knee-jerk reaction of a lot of people that such individuals must love themselves so much.And Mortimer was dismissed by James Horan and it has been speculated that Mortimer's profile and general attention-seeking attitude played a part in that falling out. I don't think Horan really stands for it tbh. And as others have suggested, Horan has a very "my way or the highway" sort of mindset.
Audioslaven wrote: » I get what you are saying and I do think Horan is very stubborn but not to a degree where he would not take things on board. I think Buckley would have gone if it was just Horan's way or no way.
km79 wrote: » I agree re Rochford and authority I said it when he is charge that he is a terrible speaker. Horan has the charisma/personality Rochford has the tactical brain What I was suggesting was Horan manager and Rochford coach working with him . But it probably wouldn’t work as Horan would need to be willing to take a lot of different ideas on board .
Audioslaven wrote: » I thinks lots of people have rose tinted glasses with Rochford. He was very good at his match up but if we go back to his corofin days, lots would say he underachieved there. He should have won more. He has moved to Donegal and there is no real improvement there. I think he had his issues when he took the job as well. He just does not command the same authority as Horan does. This is a very important attribute to have, you can put different words on it but Horan really commands respect and authority from the players. If they were to bring in someone, Buckley would be the man. We know he is one of the best around and Kerry let a decent coach go because he was most likely pushing boundaries and they fell out.
PhoneMain wrote: » Sure it was the same with Ciaran Mc, some people absolutely loathed him........sure apparently he was sleeping with half the county at 1 point!!! I never met him myself but my dads friend met him and he was a gentleman.Thats what has me disgusted over the Brolly article. It's a hit job. He's using his own personal reasons for doing a character assassination on the Mayo lads over 2015. Its a disgusting piece. Boyler has no airs or graces about him, I went on the beer with Ger Cafferkey 1 night when we were in college and he was sound as they come, Higgins is lovely everytime you meet him in his job, I bumped into Kevin Mc on a night out a few years ago and he was sound as they come.
km79 wrote: » His single mindedness is one of his greatest strengths and his weakness ! But getting back to the original point It’s why Rochford and himself would not be the dream ticket we all want
RedDevil55 wrote: » I think it's that Aidan has a confident look about him and always speaks well when he's interviewed. It's an Irish thing to knock anyone who looks confident.
seligehgit wrote: » Jealousy another common held Irish trait.
jay1988 wrote: » That's fair enough I probably don't see enough of him to make a fair judgement tbh. He strikes me as very similar to Mícheal Darragh McAuley with Dublin, great fielding and good for bursting through lines with ball but his decision making and shooting could definitely improve, would the opinion in Mayo be that he would be better equipped in midfield rather than FF, given his lack of scoring threat?
PressRun wrote: » I suspect the fact that he's a good looking lad probably plays a part in it too. It's the knee-jerk reaction of a lot of people that such individuals must love themselves so much. And Mortimer was dismissed by James Horan and it has been speculated that Mortimer's profile and general attention-seeking attitude played a part in that falling out. I don't think Horan really stands for it tbh. And as others have suggested, Horan has a very "my way or the highway" sort of mindset.
RedDevil55 wrote: » The mayo chairman had several pops at Rochford in the papers after the Kildare defeat in 2018. It was the county board who didn't want Rochford to continue. Aidan is not a prolific scorer and never has been. Although he was fouled twice yesterday when about to score. He wasn't brilliant yesterday but I don't see why he gets branded as some celebrity loser by Brolly? He does very little media work compared to other intercounty players. I mean peter keane and David Clifford had a huge media campaign with super valu at the start of the championship.