ELM327 wrote: » Agree, with one point of correction, the US has a "stay in your lane" type of law on the motorway/highway. So the expected behavior is exactly what happens, as there's no notion of an overta=king lane.
galway_lad wrote: » I remember the bad old days before the motorway. Bus would take 4+ hours. Bus driver would pull over a few times for a fag and for people to have a piss. If it were up to the likes of you, it'd still be like that! Think to the future.
rock22 wrote: » The Dublin to Galway road is not really to motorway standards. It was opened and upgrades promised - they never came
Ubbquittious wrote: » Feck it I can't stand this self loathing about the Irish and praising the Germans. It's this line of thought that set the stage for bailing out the banks and being stuck paying for the damned thing the next 100 years.
beggars_bush wrote: » apart from Athlone bypass and the stretch going into Galway city, it is motorway standard
o1s1n wrote: » Youtube autobahn crashes to see how 'disciplined' Germans are.
ShatterAlan wrote: » It's neither self-loathing of the Irish nor praise for the Germans. The German penchant for conformity is something I despise at time as it show them to be automatons. Take for example crossing the road at a pedestrian crossing. You could be there at 4am and not a car in sight and the signal is red and they will stand there like robots until it turns green I just cross when I see that it's safe to do so. I don't need a machine to tell me when I can cross a fcuking road. In Germany they have machines where you can get a newspaper. You put in the money and take one out.....all the newspapers are there and the Germans just take the one. If that system was available in Ireland people would take all the newspapers out for the price of one and try to sell them. It's just a fact. And our bailout of the banks wasn't necessarily the fault of the Irish despicable as it was.. IT was done under threat from Timothy Geithner. Granted we could have grown a pair and told him to FOAD like the Icelanders did but we didn't unfortunately.
Blondini wrote: » Galway is a kip. Who'd be in a hurry to get there?
pgj2015 wrote: » My first night in Germany a few years ago, all of us Irish, We all went out to the smoking area leaving all our drinks in another room. when we came back all our drinks were still there untouched, we hadnt even started to drink some of the drinks. we were amazed no one had taken our drinks, this was a student bar. we laughed about it the next day and agreed in a half joking way that Irish people are knackers as all the drinks would have been taken in Ireland.
ShatterAlan wrote: » Take their system of marking your beer mat in pencil with the number of beers you've had. Try that in Ireland. Guy has 10 pints, then gets a new beer mat, takes out his pencil, marks one or two on it and pays and staggers out the door.
pgj2015 wrote: » I said it to someone before about the lack of stealing drinks in Germany, the guy said that the staff will be watching and if they see someone steal a drink, they will be kicked out. Irish bar staff wouldn't care if they saw a drink being stolen.
CrabRevolution wrote: » Maybe you just hang out in rougher pubs but I've never heard of people having drink stolen from their table in a pub. More likely the bar staff thought they were gone and just cleared the table. Maybe at a party or event (wedding etc.) where people are moving around a lot or going from table to table, but I've no idea where you get this notion that people go to pubs to steal unattended pints on a huge scale.
Atlantic Dawn wrote: » Will they ever upgrade this part?
glasso wrote: » Good book actually.
Deleted User wrote: » Brandenburg Airport?
smellyoldboot wrote: » Lads I'm on the road legally only a week now and most of the driving has been only around town. From what I've seen over that week, we will never and should never an autobahn or anything like it. Some absolutely appalling drivers out there. I'd say most of them think they are brilliant too.