tdf7187 wrote: » These guidelines/requirements introduced by the new chief commissioner are entirely correct, it is corruption. It might be regarded as a comparatively trivial of corruption by some, but that is the nature of corruption, it always starts with small things. The Garda unions will probably throw a little hissy fit. They (the unions) should be ignored. In fact, though I am generally pro-union, at least in so far as anyone in the workplace should have the right to join one, there is a strong case for making Garda unions illegal. They are, if you pardon the pun, a law onto themselves and certainly too powerful in this little country.
bubblypop wrote: » Gardai don't have unions.
tdf7187 wrote: » They are, if you pardon the pun, a law onto themselves and certainly too powerful in this little country.
tdf7187 wrote: » They do indeed.
Get Real wrote: » Gardaí are the pawns of the criminal justice system. People seem to see police as some kind of international, homogenised brand. This isn't a documentary about NYPD officers in the 70s, seizing coke and then selling it. I'd wager its quite low, and in fact for minor things, you see guards arresting and prosecuting guards (drink driving, personal cocaine possession etc) which you can read news articles about. Surely if they were such a law unto themselves, this wouldn't be the case? I presume you have no issue with nurses or fire Brigade getting 50% off Domino's? I don't particularly care whether the guards do or not. People didn't pop out of the womb a guard. Many, especially the young ones, have been anything from accountants to archaeologists before joining. They'd have the same world view as the general population in Ireland do, specific to their age group . Corruption exists like it does in any walk of life. Where it does exist, its not epic levels you'd see in a Hollywood blockbuster most of the time. I took home ketchup sachets from a pub I worked in for a few months. That's a form of corruption. Doubt they'd make a film about it.
GarIT wrote: » I do know a Garda who sized fireworks and gave them to his son or set them off himself.
bubblypop wrote: » No they dont. They have representative associations, they are only allowed to join one named rep body, it is illegal for them to start another one, or try to join another.
Big Gerry wrote: » Is getting a happy ending also corruption ?
Get Real wrote: » I took home ketchup sachets from a pub I worked in for a few months. That's a form of corruption. Doubt they'd make a film about it.
highgiant1985 wrote: » How do you sleep at night!
dxhound2005 wrote: » Happens in New Zealand.https://www.newstalkzb.co.nz/news/national/gifts-to-new-zealand-police-revealed/ The most popular gifts were alcohol, 38, followed by vouchers, 29. Event tickets, restaurant meals and food also featured highly. Along with golf towels, desk clocks and paperweights, there were some more unusual items across the country. These included two bags of horse feed from the Lake Hayes A&P Show committee, five massage vouchers for stressed-out police staff in Wellington, 20 free tickets from Weber Bros Circus, a Chinese New Year kit and a "bag of biscuits" from an Auckland individual.
Edgware wrote: » So should the Residents Association give the Community Garda a box of biscuits at Christmas as a gesture of appreciation or is that corruption?
Strumms wrote: » Gardai get paid by the citizens of this country, to work for them. That should be enough... If you want to be a Garda, but you don’t think the pay is enough, go find an alternative career. You shouldn’t be taking gratuities, it’s not ethical it’s not fair.
Pauliedragon wrote: » I used to run a pub in Sydney with a heap of regular cops and we used to ply them with free booze then try and extract info out of them.