Wibbs wrote: » There are still some small holdovers of the landed upper class here. They're quiet and in the background for the most part and for obvious historical reasons and mostly an older generation, but they're out there. I've known a few. They inhabit a weird middle zone. You can often hear that in their accents. To the average Irish person they sound "English" but to the average British person of the same class they sound "Irish".
WoollyRedHat wrote: » Your house has a name, ancient Greek or Roman. Your child buggy is operated as an SUV with a 1k insurance value. You have a room for your coats Pantry in the house Airpods. Tall hats Cheese Member of the sailing club even though you don't know how to swim. You have a gate.
Your Face wrote: » You're upper class when an apprentice plumber calls you a West Brit.
WoollyRedHat wrote: » Your house has a name, ancient Greek or Roman. ... You have a gate.
Vita nova wrote: » Although in this case it's usually more landed gentry than normal upper class. Btw, they are usually very down to earth people with little very little pretension about them. .
McGinniesta wrote: » You're upper class when you can masturbate in public and people call you "eccentric".
Mrsmum wrote: » You have nothing from IKEA in your home.
bertiebomber wrote: » You wear a fur coat belonging to your grandmother ( recycled ) and her pearls ( old & valuable) and you rarely buy new designer clothes and feel more at home in tweeds or a barbour and wellies than Gucci or Prada. Still have real Hermes silk scarves in your wardrobe, ancient but more valuable then the new ones. You use a bar of soap and not the plastic bottles with pumps. You dont have leather sofas in your drawing room & sometimes dont have a TV but prefer to read books. You take great joy in 'finding ' something amazing at a flea market or charity shop. Real class dont flash the cash at all they are frugal.
NickNickleby wrote: » a "friend" was it? :pac::pac::pac:
Stovepipe wrote: » All of your shoes are hand made in Lobbs. When you ask a man if he shoots, it's not about holding up a shop with a sawn-off, rather it's about one's Purdeys. Your tweeds are ancient and smell of wet dog. You own proper dogs, not rug ornaments. You served in a Guards Regiment in the British Army and then went to work in a firm in the City, despite not actually needing an income. You only drive Range Rovers. You have a "small place" in Scotland (a castle on 500 acres,with shooting rights and salmon fishing). Your wife is a delightful snob from Surrey,who has never worked a day in her life, and both of you are happily cheating on each other,she with a stable hand and you with an au pair. You live in a slightly run down cottage in Ireland (only the twelve rooms,ye know)and refer to the UK as "the mainland". Your cottage has a boot room, a scullery and a pantry....you know the type.
JayZeus wrote: » Upper class? Must have stumbled onto some parody site. No, wait, it’s still boards.ie You’re only upper class when society around you decide that a bollix with means is somehow better than every other bollix without. I’ll take ‘classy’ over upper class any day. Good character, strong principles and a work ethic to drive you through tough times would leave many a man standing head and shoulders above the toss-pots the unthinking rabble would recognise as the ‘upper class’.