Hamachi wrote: » Couple of points from my perspective on this one. Reading your post, I’m presuming you’re Portuguese. Your country has a colonial history in Africa. Your forebears migrated there, subjugated the local population, oftentimes through force, and plundered resources for the advantage of the motherland. Your country, Portugal, had and continues to have a responsibility to migrants from Angola, Cabo Verde, and Mozambique. If they were forced into shanty towns and driven into criminality from the ‘70s through the ‘90s, that’s on your government. If there was minimal assimilation / integration during this time, again that’s on your administration and the broader Portuguese population. Your ancestors created that mess through colonialism; it’s now the responsibility of your homeland to fix it. Let’s compare with Ireland. Zero history of colonization. In fact, we ourselves were subjugated for centuries by the global ‘superpower’ of that era. Negligible historical links with Africa, apart from the relatively benign catholic missionaries whose agenda was primarily to deliver education. The African-origin population in Ireland was virtually null until the late 1990s. The primary reason for the African community that exists today, is the almost ruthless exploitation of the jus soli citizenship loophole between 1998 and 2004, predominantly by Nigerians. Yet, you have the audacity to wonder why Irish people feel aggrieved by the behavior of some Africans in this country? We’ve tolerated the arrival of thousands of people with no historical connection to this country, who subverted our immigration laws, and who have abnormally low labor force participation rates. In your view, we also now need to turn a blind eye to the social problems that are magnified by the presence of this community? With respect, you are a guest in the country. A guest from a place with a colonial history. You have no business or right to lecture the Irish people on who we admit to this country and our future demographic composition. Please leave decisions of this nature to us, the Irish people, whose roots are deep on this island.
Vieira82 wrote: » No it doesn't because I'm talking about thousands upon thousands of people both african and of european descent leaving massive countries like Mozambique and Angola en mass to a tiny country like Portugal all in the space of two years to escape the civil wars. The influx of people was massive and all of them into shanty towns that took the govs decades to remove and relocate those populations. Thankfully there is much more integration now and less crime but growing up in the 80s and 90s in some parts of Lisbon, Porto and Faro you'd be lucky not to find blatant crimes being practice like broad daylight heavy drug use, drug trafficking, prostitution and gang fights. Things are much better and if you think what you see in Ireland from these comunities is bad you honestly have no clue.
Kivaro wrote: » The leaders of our country must be aware of what happened over the previous decades in other parts of Europe with similar situations of unskilled/uneducated migrants, but yet they are repeating the very same mistakes that have drastically reduced the quality of life/quality of existence for the native populations of these areas. So our leaders in Ireland by implementing an already-proven flawed migration process must be either intellectually deficient or highly blinkered. I am guessing the latter.
Deleted User wrote: » The problem isn't with individuals. The problem is when numbers increase substantially, and enclaves invariably form, as has been seen throughout Europe, and just about any country that has allowed in any 'decent' amounts of immigration. In some cases, this isn't so much of a problem since they're skillfully employed and making enough money to live to a good standard. The problem is more when we have a growing underclass of unskilled labor who do not have the skills/education to compete effectively with the local workforce, but more importantly, engage the social mobility that is so available within Ireland. Which will lead to bitterness and a sense of entitlement, and later, disorder. Again, this is what we've seen in many countries in Europe, ahead of us on the curve.
grassylawn wrote: » In an abstract sense I think multiculturalism is a good thing in Ireland. I have a few reasons for that. The easiest one to articulate is that it might mitigate the dominance of the Catholic church here, which I view as a negative force and has undue influence on certain areas of society in particular education. Even outside of that I don't have a super-high opinion of Irish culture. (I am Irish.)
In a tangible sense, my experience with new cultural groups in Ireland has been positive. I've worked with a good few Polish, Turkish and Indian people. I've also taught a lot of Indian people at third level. I have good opinions of all of these groups. I've worked with smaller numbers of various other cultural groups and have generally liked them too. I lived in an area that was predominantly Polish and it was nice. Then the main employer of the people there pulled its operations and the area went to sh!t, after undesirable types of Irish people replaced them. I'm not really into facilitating fake refugees with an appalling sense of entitlement, of whom I have dealt with a few. Taking a fair share of genuine refugees is the only decent thing to do though.
TomTomTim wrote: » You're working of the false theory that we think that there's no Irish criminals. It's been said many times that there is, and that we acknowledge their existence.
TomTomTim wrote: » It should be obvious what the difference is though, but it seems I'll have to point it out. We can't do much but prosecute Irish criminals. We can though not take in mass amounts of people from devolving countries, with no skills, who are more likely to get involved in crime than skilled people. I'm sure you'll claim the last sentence is racist, but it's simply the truth, so I don't care.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Where are you pulling that assumption out of? Anything solid to base that on? Nope? Didn't think so. :rolleyes:
AlekSmart wrote: » It was a serious incident,but as far as I know,very little has appeared in the media about any follow on result ?
All the men linked to the attacks are believed to be Nigerian.
V8 Interceptor wrote: » Yet you don't mind increasing Irish emissions by the importation of Africans. You probably want the national herd cut at the same time.
bubblypop wrote: » There's not one of ye give a crap about those gardai or anything that happened to them afterwards. Only interested in scoring points about who the attackers were. I can tell you, it doesn't matter a bit to those members what the colour of their skin was.
weldoninhio wrote: » I was the first one to reply to your nonsense. I provided links. You seem to have missed my post.
Marcos wrote: » This could easily have gone into the Covid threads.Cork man in court over alleged fraudulent PUP claims. It seems to be relating to this investigation of €165,000 in (allegedly) fraudulent PUP claims which Gardai believe will not be recovered. Yay diversity. Oh and before anybody starts with all the but the Irish scangers and criminals are worse, much worse*. They may be, but you won't find anyone on here defending them. This is an example of a negative side of multiculturalism, one that it's defenders and adherents don't wish to acknowledge. But the fact is that this money is money we're going to have to pay back either in higher taxes, cutbacks and less services all the while more people are coming in and demanding access to those services, so pushing others to the back of the queue. *Or any of the other usual deflections we see whenever something is raised that certain parties don't want to acknowledge so bring up things like but the IRA / The Irish travelled all over the world so we owe it to the world to let everyone immigrate here / The Irish are so racist / The Irish are inbred and need some foreign blood etc. I think I have them all, but I'm sure if I've missed some people will tell me.
Vieira82 wrote: » No it doesn't because I'm talking about thousands upon thousands of people both african and of european descent leaving massive countries like Mozambique and Angola en mass to a tiny country like Portugal all in the space of two years to escape the civil wars. The influx of people was massive and all of them into shanty towns that took the govs decades to remove and relocate those populations. Thankfully there is much more integration now and less crime but growing up in the 80s and 90s in some parts of Lisbon, Porto and Faro you'd be lucky not to find blatant crimes being practice like broad daylight heavy drug use, drug trafficking, prostitution and gang fights. Things are much better and if you think what you see in Ireland from these comunities is bad you honestly have no clue.Also it was said here these "groups" of Africans in certain parts of Dublin. Please do show proof these Africans are comitting crimes. Though you'd be surprise how easy it is to find on youtube videos of people being abused by fair skinned irish teenagers. Please also adress how the increased drug problem in Ireland has a connection with these minorities as it seems that everytime you hear it on the news is all Irish gangs and Irish lads being killed in it... Or are you implying there's an African kingpin behind the gangland crimes of the last few years?
Vieira82 wrote: » Funny that you didn't mention poor Mary O’Callaghan, aged 52 in court for the exact same thing:https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/courtandcrime/arid-40149317.html
V8 Interceptor wrote: » That sullies your entire post tbh. African gangs are all over north and west Dublin and also in places like Limerick and Cork. They've been running amok for a few years now but its never reported in the media. Just this Summer there have been many videos online of African gangs attacking lone Irish youths and beating the lard out of them. One video was in Cork where an Irish teen was lying in a pool of blood while the Africans repeatedly stabbed him. I'm amazed he survived. I suggest you go and speak to the residents of Tyrellstown, Mulhuddart, Balbriggan etc to widen your knowledge Sir.
Ted_YNWA wrote: » Nobody has stated this, this is you own perception of what was written. Stop twisting their words.
ELM327 wrote: » That;s a great description actually. If you look to England as an example, they had inward migration for decades before us. There are now the exact segments in the exact socio economic stratuses that you mention.
ELM327 wrote: » I work in that area (pre covid) and the amount of ghettoization (inventing that word) is shocking. There's a real problem - and I cant beleive mr Vieira does not see that as a problem.
Wibbs wrote: » Sadly so. There isn't a single example of any multicultural nation in Europe, nay the West where the same stratification along racial lines isn't in play. And that stratification roughly goes from the top Local White natives, East Asians and Indians(actually they often do better than the locals), Middle Easterners, Africans. Does this mean there aren't successful Africans that aren't a boon to the country? Of course not. I know a couple myself. Does this mean Irish natives are all great contributors? Of course not, I also know enough wasters. But the fact remains this stratification will continue and lead to less social cohesiveness in Irish society, just like it has everywhere else and no amount of hopes and platitudes will change that. You do realise that those some massive corporations are extremely keen on multiculturalism?
weldoninhio wrote: » Well if you don't see them, they obviously don't exist.
Vieira82 wrote: » For a nation to go forward it's important to recognize it's problems.