Feisar wrote: » Well to be fair if we can agree that the War of Independence was legit, than any attacks on British forces on the island of Ireland must be seen as legitimate.
Bowie wrote: » People needed the IRA, people supported the IRA.
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » Is Stanley an English surname?
Hamsterchops wrote: » Possibly, and Adams is a Scottish name
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » Think Adams is a Scottish/English name. D horrible English ay.
Bowie wrote: » Silly to be using the English in such a manner. It harks back to the lack of insight some commentators have regarding the situation in the north. Kindergarten 'English bad' attitude inferred on people by others with an obvious lack of knowledge on the subject.
FrancieBrady wrote: » The SF activists here where I am from are far and away the most active in preserving the British heritage of the area. Including all the plantation artefacts and buildings. We were occupied by the British, they assimilated and bred with us. We married them and they us. Just like Irish people marry the new wave of immigrants. Other than that, I'm not sure what jingle and hamster are getting at. A wee bit uptight maybe, 'don't mx with other nationalities', one pure race stuff, who knows, maybe they'd explain themselves?
Brian Stanley@BrianStanleyTD Yippee 4 d tory. it's Leo. U can do what u like in bed but don't look 4 a pay rise the next morning. 6:44pm · 2 Jun 2017
doublejobbing 2 wrote: » Sinn Fein in 2020 are actively supporting schemes that are discriminatory in the priority allocation of social housing (Syrian refugee resettlement) and support a scheme to offer immediate subsidised housing to newly arrived asylum seekers (they support ending direct provision, seemingly by all means necessary as they didnt come out opposing the Catherine Day report). These two schemes intend to offer housing at monthly personal costs unimaginable to a majority of working class Irish renters / mortgage payers.
Regarding electoral corruption, although SF haven't nailed their colours to the mast as strongly as Labour and the PBP a betting man would guess they are very likely to row in behind the plot to overturn the decision of the citizenship referendum of 2004 without putting the question back to the public.
Is this sort of thing only bad when the Prods do it, or am I missing something here?
Again, SF are a banter party. It is staggering the childlike faith so many people have in them.
expectationlost wrote: » https://twitter.com/BrianStanleyTD/status/870697652630962180 did something happen at the start of june 2017
Montage of Feck wrote: » Leo infamous speech where he threatened to do something for "those who get out of bed in the morning " before backtracking and apologising?
Hamsterchops wrote: » Legit post independence, when carried out by whom? By the Irish army, or a Terrorist group?
A terrorist group cannot attack UK forces inside the UK and not expect universal condemnation.
Lord Mountbatten also died that day as did two children and their Nanny, no legitimacy about any of it, hence Stanley was made to delete and apologies for his disgusting tweet.
There is a big difference between legitimate force as used by one country against another, and Terrorist attacks which have no mandate for their actions. Irish people up and down this island were disgusted and ashamed of what the Provos did that day, same in Britain where so many decent Irish people had to explain that the Provos did not speak for the people of Ireland.
The legitimate Defence forces of this State were in a constant tussle with the illegitimate IRA during the Troubles.
expectationlost wrote: » https://twitter.com/BrianStanleyTD/status/870697652630962180 this is apparently his version of congratulating Varadlar on winning the leadership election, why bring up the bedroom?
Bowie wrote: » Likely a reference to people who like to get up early? I think denying student nurses money will take over from historic tweets.
blanch152 wrote: » It is another shocking tweet from a Sinn Fein public representative, a low-level dog-whistle homophobic tweet. In my opinion, the type of person who draws attention to Varadkar's or anyone's sexual orientation in such a way or to his or their ancestral origins is just a despicable human being. Stanley has shown his true colours.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Where in that tweet is 'attention drawn to Varadkar's sexual orientation'?.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Where in that tweet is 'attention drawn to Varadkar's sexual orientation'? WTF it was in response to Varadkar's 'people who get up early in the morning' gaff, that even Coveney criticised.
Hamsterchops wrote: » Holy cow, I've just seen it Twitter/Brian Stanley SF."Yippee 4 d tory. it's Leo. U can do what u like in bed but don't look 4 a pay rise the next morning." So Stanley is calling Leo a Tory, he then says "you can do what you like in bed", now honestly what kind of talk is that? and Sinn Fein so eager to tell everybody that their pro choice, pro sexual orientation, pro life (that's a joke) as he celebrates murder, and now he comes out with this! He seems like a really unpleasant person.
FrancieBrady wrote: » He came out with it in 2017, just after Leo made his much criticised gaff about 'people who get up early in the morning'. Let me walk you through the non homophobic version. 'you can do what you like in bed' - IE. 'You can stay in it r get out of it'. It's not the Shinners that have hang ups about sexuality, it's you guys. Jaysus H.
El Tarangu wrote: » It wouldn't be the first dog-whistle from a sitting SF representative about Varadkar's sexuality.
blanch152 wrote: » "u (sic) can do what u (sic) like in bed" This is the type of low-level insidious homophobia that is hard to eradicate, it is persistent and the type of thing that some refuse to see. It is the type of comment that wouldn't be made about a heterosexual man. It is similar to a comment about a woman starting off with "you look great with your make-up on but.....".
FrancieBrady wrote: » If you see homophobia because somebody mentioned 'bed' in reply to somebody talking about 'people who get up early in the morning' tis you guys need help tbh.
blanch152 wrote: » Just read the replies to his tweets, have a bit of cop-on, and keep the head down for the rest of the day. Stanley won't last long if this hits the mainstream media.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Just read the 'replies' that like Hamster think he has just published the tweet? The replies that are ignorant of the context...those replies?