Cavan_King wrote: » The BBC in studio pundits were very good yesterday but I found the commentary team poor. Niblock is hard to listen to and I’m not sure why Marty Clarke was selected to co-commentate on a game involving his own county. It was quite clear from early on the pair of lads could rhyme off every Down player, their club and who their grandad played for but hadn’t a notion about Cavan. Surely someone with a partial knowledge of Cavan football should have been in the box with Niblock or even get Mackey in and have three. Great show on We Are Cavan last night with the interviews. Interesting to hear Faulkner state that the planned tactics were to slow Down’s players far up the pitch first half but the team just failed to do it. Also it really appears that all the talk of who is not there that we seem fixated on in Cavan us clearly in the player and management’s minds as both Mickey & Chris Conroy referenced it again. It is about time these dedicated lads got the credit they deserve and people stop bull**** talk of who should be in there etc. It’s not often we’ve seen determination & willpower like yesterday in a Cavan team.
willabur wrote: » The sunday game is transition year level of production, genuinely look like lads in their debs suits. Even with the bias of the lads on BBC at least you know they watched the whole game. Donaghy was on OTBAM this morning and it was chronically obvious he didn't watch 1 second of the game. He lauded the performance of Stephen Smith, Faulkner put in a great man marking display (based on a game he played 2 years ago), Conway kicked crucial scores (he didn't).. I lost count the number of things he plain made up about the game. Oh Martin Reilly is the spiritual leader of the team, that was a good one also
Cavan_King wrote: » The BBC in studio pundits were very good yesterday but I found the commentary team poor. Niblock is hard to listen to and I’m not sure why Marty Clarke was selected to co-commentate on a game involving his own county.
rrs wrote: » I'm fairness you mentioned it yourself, that Cavan were missing McVeety and Moynagh after the Antrim game. But those that are there fair play it's a big commitment.
dxhound2005 wrote: » None of them picked up on the issue for the penalty which RTE concentrated on in The Sunday Game. In fact all of them including Canavan, Harte and McConville said the ref got it right. I'm not blaming them, and it does go to show how difficult the job of a ref is.
Hammar wrote: » Peader Mohan and Ryan Mc Hugh will have to be man marked as they are the key runners whom break the defensive line. I assume,Clarke or Faulkner will pick up Murphy, There's a lot of lads that need attention, Brennan,Langan, Mc Brearty ( if he starts)We are going to struggle with matchups..They have a huge amount of fire power. I feel the younger lads, Pierson,Cormac o Reilly etc,while very talented, will struggle with the strength and power of the Donegal backs.
cavan4sam wrote: » Any word on who the ref is for Sunday? Mickey is getting cuter with the press with his big teams, big calls comment! And how teams need protecting from Murphy Am I the only one that actually thinks we are in a better position this year than last year to actually put it up to Donegal
Yevon wrote: » I can't see what Pierson or Smith have done to keep their places. Start Madden and Niall Murray (if he's fit for a half at least). Try and stay with Donegal and if we can live with them, hope for something special from some of our big guns to get us across the line. Being honest, I just can't see a way we can win this game. At best, we can match Donegal in a few areas of the field. They are far superior in most though. If we come out of this game having really competed with Donegal, in full flight, i'd be happy. But I can't see anything other than a 7+ point win for them. I hope the Cavan lads go out and do themselves justice and enjoy the occasion. They've given us a fantastic few weeks and done us proud as a county. We've seen them struggle but we've never seen them quit.
Yevon wrote: » Don't get me wrong i'm not questioning Pierson's effort, he always puts in a shift but it just hasn't been happening for him in the Championship. He doesn't provide a ball winning presence inside and he isn't blessed with pace, it's a tough ask for him to make an impact at this level. It's hard to know if we are better or worse than last year. I think last year we looked stronger personnel-wise with McVeety, Moynagh and the two Murrays available but there definitely seems to be a different dynamic about the team this year. They have matured a bit and you can now easily identify several lads providing leadership. That wasn't there previously and we were looking to Mackey to lead the charge when we were in a tight spot.
cavan4sam wrote: » Any team announcement for tomorrow?
ruwithme wrote: » Can't see them wanting to give us a drubbing ahead off a game against dublin & building of hype from it. 7 or 8 points tops Leave it all out there on the field anyway lads.
Gallant_JJ wrote: » I’m expecting to see Madden start. James and Conor Smith, two good returns to the panel. Can only wish them the very best of luck at this point. They have done us extremely proud to date and lifted a gloomy November, all we can ask for is a performance, after that we’ll see what happens.