km79 wrote: » If he decides to use an architect If not add 2/3k onto engineer approx And subtract the 15k I didn’t use an architect. Engineer did planning for approx 2.5 and will be doing construction drawing , signing off in stages etc for another 4.5 k Water connection for me is approx 2k Planning contribution approx 2k
ECO_Mental wrote: » PM sent...if these lads werent busy two weeks ago they must be by now...:P
kieran. wrote: » Approx 40k is typical ESB 2.5k Irish water 6k Water + effluent (12k for septic tank and perc area + GWS water connection) Solicitors 5k (Inc topo and site tests) Arch 15k Eng 5k Ber 1.5k (Inc Air test) Planning contributions 5k
P2C wrote: That’s mental I spent 2.5k on my arch 10 years ago and he signed off on the house.
thomas 123 wrote: » Hey All, Sanity check here, planning a build in rural east Galway. We currently have a budget(Mortgage pre-approval) of 250K less 25K for site(Secured). Of course, like everyone, we want the dream 2000SqFT home. I have sourced an engineer who I am quite happy with and his costs are reasonable inc plans (7-8K vat included) Do I have any hope of getting what I want do ye think? We have a plasterer in the family who will do all the plastering as well as any other jobs he is happy to do so I think this is a big saving. We are happy to get to whatever finish the bank is happy with, I am led to believe this is (Kitchen/Bathroom/Doors/skirting boards/Bedroom). We are also prepared to do any groundwork's needed - to clarify any drives or lawns etc, I will leave the foundations to the experts. We are also in a position to hold off and secure more funding from the bank down the line due to salary increases, but on the flip side I will be paying a larger mortgage in any case. Thoughts much appreciated.
km79 wrote: » We are also at the mortgage stage in rural south mayo Hoping to break ground in Spring We have bought the site already. Using it as the deposit on mortgage of 275k and have cash in the bank Same size house Being honest I worry if we will get it finished for that . Trying to build one for 225 k is very optimistic That’s just over 100 a square foot You are looking at 130-150 realistically from all the people I’ve been talking to who have built in the last few years . 2 of them in East galway as it happens !
893bet wrote: » If you haven’t planning already then I suggest shaving off 800-1000 square foot. If you don’t do this, some day you will regret it. Save yourself a fortune in building, heating and cleaning for the next 40 years. 2000sqft well designed wont feel that much smaller than the average 3000sqft house.
CorkRed93 wrote: » All personal preference and down to family size etc but agree. Have family members who have built 3000sqft + houses with rooms empty and unused for years. "but its good to have them just incase" dont subscribe to that logic myself but most of the older generation do
ECO_Mental wrote: » You will never really know unless you price off at least two builders (preferably more) that way you can compare. I would always recommend getting a QS do up a detailed BOQ and send out for tender. Best grand or two you will ever spend. You can chop and change afterwards from the BOQ. Less arguments with your builder afterwards about costs as its all laid out, sign a formal contract as well with them RIAI yellow or blue I think. But if you are just scoping out that €150 sounds reasonable.
DPower2020 wrote: » Hi Eco_Mental...I'd be very grateful of some info from you (like your architects details?) Our background is that we have just appointed an architect to design what we thought would be a 2500-3000sqft house in Cork. We had thought €500k would be plenty as build costs We have just got costs from QS/architects to "align our brief with the budget" and have been blown away by the prices. QS is saying €250-€300 per sqft. The 2900sqft house they sketched, are saying will cost €800-€900k to build The architect fees are 9% - so even for our budget €500k, they are looking for €45k When we shopped around before appointing them, a few others were in the same space cost-wise (about 10-12% of build cost). They are charging €12k to bring it to planning (which they call stages 1-4). Stages 5-8 are from tender to completion. So I am intrigued by your architect prices which are a fraction of ours. All the costs on here are WAY less than what we are experiencing. Clearly we are going wrong somewhere All advice appreciated. Thanks
Averi Few Keypunch wrote: » Would anyone have a comment on how realistic 125 euro a sq foot is with direct labour?
Averi Few Keypunch wrote: » Thanks for a very informative post. I might have a question or two as I process all the information but one that springs out is what does the following refer to - external wall, external wall completions and external wall finishes? They add up to a lot just on external walls so wondering what each of the three actually entail. I’m guessing block work, plastering and stone work but the costs surprise me if broken down like that. Thanks.
ml100 wrote: » Thanks for posting that info EcoMental, we were granted planning permission a few months ago, trying to decide it go to tender now or hold off until the spring, need to sort out which professional to go with 1st, ie. Stick with the architect + structural engineer or go with just structural engineer. I heard its difficult to get builders to quote right now with covid backlogs etc and I assume Brexit wont help matters as some material costs could change alot depending on what way that goes. When you were tendering did you specify window manufacturer, also what type of roof do you have, natural slate etc as there can be big differences in the costs there, if you didn't specify did the builders specify what manufacturer they will be using?
ECO_Mental wrote: » External walls is the block work basically External Wall Completions is Windows External Wall finishes is plastering and some zinc cladding I have
BryanF wrote: » Ml100, You typically have drawings and specification package when seeking tenders. It sounds like you haven’t started this process with arch/eng. if you start it now, you might have something ready for spring tendering.
ECO_Mental wrote: » I am a bit untypical for my build process because I got planning 10 years ago but for various reasons (global recession...) only building now. So I had to get a second architect to do up the detailing but he was too busy for the supervision, so I went with the structural engineer. And to be honest that worked out good because by the time you get to site its mostly construction/structural issues you will be dealing with and the engineer will sort all these. Regarding tendering all I can say is make it easy for them to tender for your job. Get a QS and do up a detailed BOQ, because if you don't the contractors will have to do it them selves and it will cost them money and time so they mightn't bother. One of the best decisions I have made is getting a QS, I have spent about €4k in fees to him but I can sleep easy at night knowing I have solid contract and I see where I am spending money and where I can save money. Any variations and changes are transparent, stage payments are a breeze and I know I ask my builder to do something its easy to figure out how its going to save me or cost me. Builders also like dealing with BOQ's (well legit good contractors) less agro and risk for them. No I didn't spec the window supplier or any of the other equipment just had a detailed spec in the tender. I spec'd my windows as triple glazed aluclad with a certain U-Value he is using Munster joinery for my windows though. Thats not saying that you cant, you can spec or nominted any supplier or anything you want. Also slates I didnt get natural slates just Tegral Thrutone it wast down to cost but I just wanted a clean sharpe slate, also I will be having PV panels on the roof so a lot of them are going to be covered anyway
ml100 wrote: » Hi, no I haven't started tendering for this house yet, I did tender for a different project 3 years ago that we didn't proceed with and I was surprised at how little detail on bigger items were included in the first draft of the tender I got from our architect technician, to try and get apples for apples comparison between returned tenders I got the architect to specify exact slates and window manufacturers etc. The reason why I asked the question is to try find out was it normal not to specify these details in the tender? There could easily be 20k price difference between different window manufacturers, so how can you tell which builder is the best value unless you know what materials he is using.
ECO_Mental wrote: » This is one of the best reasons for using a detailed BOQ as well, as you can compare apples with apples. My QS after we got back the 3 tenders easily compared the three tenders and could see where the differences were. You can use this then as a negotiation tool saying to them look you are very high here compared to the others is there a mistake or can you reduce etc etc.
Averi Few Keypunch wrote: » Just a brief update since we were discussing this. I have been invoiced yesterday by my arch for all work to date - from first meeting to planning submitted. Fully custom design with a number of iterations in it Construction drawings Percolation tests Preliminary site survey Completion and submission of planning application All fees for planning etc. 2200 incl VAT. This is much more inline with what I was expecting than some of the figures I’m seeing here which were worrying me but I’m happier now and would hope to be closer to 20k than 40k on the list quoted. Will keep updating my costs here for comparison for others.