dundalkfc10 wrote: » A pretend funeral haha the funeral Mass was staged? Someone better tell the priest there was nobody in the coffin in the church. You know there's no pics of the black and tan celebration as the public fairly let the Govt know what they thought about it so they made a u turn It was headline news for a while in case you missed ithttps://www.irishtimes.com/culture/heritage/commemoration-controversy-who-were-the-ric-dmp-black-and-tans-and-auxiliaries-1.4134977
dundalkfc10 wrote: » We know, we had the GFA since then and thankfully the North's a better place for it.
Truthvader wrote: » So why are "we" celebrating the life and times of this vile person with a "graveside oration"
Truthvader wrote: » So as I thought a proposal involving the RIC has been reinterpreted by lying Sinn Fein as a "Tan" commemoration. Well done lads caught out again
What has all of this got to do with the Black and Tans and the Auxiliaries? The Black and Tans were special constables recruited in Britain at the end of 1919 and 1920 to bolster the RIC and DMP, who were struggling with a boycott of the police and with mounting attacks by the IRA. The Black and Tans and the Auxiliaries were mostly drawn from the ranks of ex-servicemen who had fought in the first World War. They began to arrive in Ireland in March 1920. They were called Black and Tans because their uniforms initially were half-black (RIC) and half-khaki (British army), symbolising that they were half in the RIC and half out.
dundalkfc10 wrote: » Where is Leo anyway, been a few days since he tried to have a go at Sinn Féin. Did something happen over last few days? Last I heard was him defending himself Weds over his meltdown Monday
Sweet.Science wrote: » So know they are in the pocket on the world's biggest drug cartel Another day
Bambi wrote: » The Tans were the RIC, the problem Charlie ran into was historys refusal to rewrite itself for him Very inconvenient
smurgen wrote: » Looks like another one blew up in his face. Yet it's SF who don't have a clue lol.https://twitter.com/PearseDoherty/status/1315320889081319425?s=19
Truthvader wrote: » Nope sorry this wont do. Another Sinn Fein smudge and smear campaign. The RIC and the Met were the "Guards" of the day made up of Irish men recruited locally who provided a police service from about 1830 onwards The Black and Tans were English World War 1 vets recruited in London and sent to Ireland to quell the rebellion as the RIC were unable and in some cases unwilling to do so. Not the same thing, though given the Sinn Fein /IRA record on murdering Guards hardly surprising that they would take the opportunity to smear their predecessors Interestingly the usual "we have the GFA let everyone honour their dead and we will all move on" Sinn Fein lying fudge only applies to the likes of Bobby Storey but does not apply to policemen from 100 years ago
Bambi wrote: » Are you now disputing that the Tans were RIC constables? Gas stuff
4. Preserving tax sovereignty As outlined in our response to Question 2, Ireland has engaged in the redesign of the global tax framework and has fully committed to introducing a range of tax reforms. While it is important that we continue to engage constructively on such matters, we must remain cognisant of the impact of any proposals on Ireland’s tax sovereignty. The European Commission has always stated clearly that the power to levy taxes is central to the sovereignty of EU Member States. Some recent proposals emerging from the Commission could represent an erosion of tax sovereignty, in particular the Common Consolidated Corporate Tax Base (“CCCTB”). Countries need the flexibility to set their tax base to suit their economic policies, whether this is to stimulate growth in certain industries, alter their tax revenue mix, or fund capital investment. This is particularly important for small open economies like Ireland.
Truthvader wrote: » Q. Who were the Black and Tans? By late 1919 the RIC were intimidated and boycotted causing many officers to resign and few recruits to join. The London government would not openly acknowledge a “war” in Ireland. In January 1920 they began recruiting an auxiliary police force in Britain made up of ex-soldiers to support policing in Ireland. Officially called the “RIC Reserve,” their black tunics and kakhi trousers earned them their name after a pack of foxhounds in Co Limerick. They often operated independently of the RIC with whom they often had a very uneasy relationship. They became a byword for terror and atrocities enflaming public opinion. Everybody happy?
Faced with the need for more, better-prepared men wearing police uniforms, the government augmented RIC numbers and capabilities by recruiting Great War veterans from throughout the UK.
The new recruits stood out in RIC ranks anyway, but an initial shortage of complete bottle-green constabulary uniforms resulted in the temporary issue of military khaki and the name that stuck: the ‘Black-and-Tans’. The Black-and-Tans were sworn as constables to reinforce county stations and their experience with weapons and tactics gave the RIC a tougher edge.
The Black and Tans (Irish: Dúchrónaigh)[1] were constables recruited into the Royal Irish Constabulary (RIC) as reinforcements during the Irish War of Independence.[2] Recruitment began in Great Britain in January 1920 and about 10,000 men enlisted during the conflict. The vast majority were unemployed former soldiers from Great Britain who fought in the First World War, although some were from Ireland.[3][4]
JohnnyFlash wrote: » What is John Finnegan doing representing Daniel Kinahan? This is not the only link between SF and this drug lord, but you can’t choose your family I suppose.
grayzer75 wrote: » I'd take a wild guess and say because he's a solicitor who is good at his job. Aren't the same firm representing Carl Frampton against the McGuigans.
Sweet.Science wrote: » Ha yes . And Daniel Kinahan is Carl framptons boss
McMurphy wrote: » Big Jim O'Callaghan represented Gerry Adams, he's obviously a shinner now too John? Joseph's Madigan represented Maria Bailey, is she now an insurance scammer? You see where this is going?
grayzer75 wrote: » He's not.